Posted

I'm all for footy trips but I find it a little perplexing that Jack Watts is made to go on the end of season footy trip just days before he is to sit his Prac exams. I find this a little unusual ? The line all year was school first , Footy second. Does anyone else think this is slightly irresponsible ?

Posted
I'm all for footy trips but I find it a little perplexing that Jack Watts is made to go on the end of season footy trip just days before he is to sit his Prac exams. I find this a little unusual ? The line all year was school first , Footy second. Does anyone else think this is slightly irresponsible ?

Who says he's being "forced to go"?

Posted

Maybe unusual, but I can assure you that Jack & his family wouldn't do it if it was going to hinder his school obligations in the slightest. They'd weigh up the pro's & con's of it like anybody else would.

And perhaps he'll be getting some tutoring from Stef Martin! Didn't Stef do spectacularly well in his VCE a few years back?

Posted
Maybe unusual, but I can assure you that Jack & his family wouldn't do it if it was going to hinder his school obligations in the slightest. They'd weigh up the pro's & con's of it like anybody else would.

And perhaps he'll be getting some tutoring from Stef Martin! Didn't Stef do spectacularly well in his VCE a few years back?

Maybe he's studying for VCE Indonesian?

Posted
Being in yr 12 now, and doing two prac exams today I know how little they matter. Good on him, take a quick break before launching into the real study.

Maybe one of his subjects is Birdwatching by prac work

Posted

Best of luck with your own- Bring back Barassi. Hope things work out well for you

Posted

Pfffts VCE exams!

Go on the trip, get on the [censored], and enjoy yourself, I say.

That's pretty much all I did in year 12 and it didn't harm my ENTER in the least.

His future clearly doesn't lie in a medicine or law or engineering degrees. He just needs to pass, because if heaven forbid footy doesn't work out, by the time he finds himself ready to start uni his VCE results would have expired.

Posted

Yes, as a student. I have just finished my practice exam's.

Now i am ready to kick back, relax and enjoy the holiday.

Some schools even get 3 weeks holiday

I see nothing wrong with Jack's vacation

Posted

Not sure if Brighton is 3 weeks or 2, but either way you can't spend the whole time studying. I remember it like yesterday with the teachers ranting on about how much work we should do but also saying taking a few days off is a great idea.

If he stays out of trouble, then returns home to get stuck into some hard work then he'll get just as good a score as he would have anyway.

Here's another way of looking at it described by a mate of mine- "I've always had a theory that the best footballers are the ones with no future to cloud there minds anyway! The true bogans like you're Careys, Abletts, Dane Swan etc. Not having something to fall back on will only increase Jack's desire to become a superstar of the comp!"

Posted
Not sure if Brighton is 3 weeks or 2, but either way you can't spend the whole time studying. I remember it like yesterday with the teachers ranting on about how much work we should do but also saying taking a few days off is a great idea.

If he stays out of trouble, then returns home to get stuck into some hard work then he'll get just as good a score as he would have anyway.

Here's another way of looking at it described by a mate of mine- "I've always had a theory that the best footballers are the ones with no future to cloud there minds anyway! The true bogans like you're Careys, Abletts, Dane Swan etc. Not having something to fall back on will only increase Jack's desire to become a superstar of the comp!"

Yeah, just like James Hird

Posted
Exactly my thoughts 3 years ago.....

Exactly what I thought 9 years ago.....

I was right though.

Posted
Exactly my thoughts 3 years ago.....

Yeah, stop scaring the children :lol:

Your scores are important to an extent, but there are ALWAYS ways to work around it and get into whatever uni course you want.

As a footballer, with money, Jack Watts will have no drama getting into a uni course part-time as long as he passes VCE, which he will, or else Brighton Grammar would have [censored] him off by now.

I wish somebody offered me a free trip to Bali when I was 18!

Edit: to anyone doing or about to go into year 12, the only piece of advice I can give you is, it's the best schooling year of your life, so make the most of it and enjoy it. Oh and don't think that once you leave school studying will get easier. It won't, so enjoy yourselves while you can.

Posted

Its just like footy - Give it your best shot & don't die wondering.

Fail to prepare then prepare to fail, etc. etc. ad nauseum.

But don't stress too much kids -- i didn't do a scrap of homework in my entire yr 12 and got just under 90, so its obviously not that hard.

Posted
But don't stress too much kids -- i didn't do a scrap of homework in my entire yr 12 and got just under 90, so its obviously not that hard.

Hahaha, what are you preaching about then?

I spent most of year 12 partying and drinking with friends and got just under 99. We both therefore prove the theory that you shouldn't let VCE consume your life, and that you can still balance your social life with your studies and not end up working at McDonalds for the rest of your days.

Jack Watts should enjoy himself in Bali, while the rest of us are working hard to secure our future. Bastard! :P

Posted

Yeah Year 12 was the best year of my life, So much [censored] got drank through out the year!!

i used to rock up to SACS without knowing what was going on, i used to get E's, and on a good day a D!!!

All i was worried about was what i was going to do on the weekend/when/where melbourne were playing,

But Hey it has worked out well for me!!!

So Kids really its not all about A'S,B'S, its all about having a good time!!!

DO ME PROUD JACKY AND HAVE A BENDER FOR YOUR #1 FAN!!!!

Posted
Yeah Year 12 was the best year of my life, So much [censored] got drank through out the year!!

i used to rock up to SACS without knowing what was going on, i used to get E's, and on a good day a D!!!

All i was worried about was what i was going to do on the weekend/when/where melbourne were playing,

hahaha good stuff mate, thats exactly how i am, though getting to the buisnees end now so ill give it a good crack i suppose.

Posted (edited)

Ahhh the disco biscuit, good times. Can't say I have ever rocked up to any of my SACS not knowing wat was going on but I can say I was very scatterd on some Monday mornings. Get your hands on Orange doves. Watts is a smart bloke anyway, im sure he could get an ENTER without even trying.

Edited by Mr Morton