Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 01 vs St. Kilda

1 hour ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

There was also a lasso paid to them off a kick that Lingers had touched on the members wing. I could hear the thud as it was touched from the second deck of the Olympic stand.

Was that the one that was “touched too hard”?

So you’ve gotta try to touch the ball, but not hit it too hard, because that would be deliberately hitting it out of bounds, and would be paid a free kick against for insufficient intent.

FFS

5 minutes ago, BoBo said:

Just had a peek at the Saints next 4 games:

Giants away

Lions at Marvel

Port away

Adelaide away

They could very well be 1-5 or even 0-6 if they don’t get the job done against Port. I’m already seeing quite a lot saints social media comments unhappy with Ross Lyon.

It's hard to tell after only two games. For most of the game the 2 sides were fairly evenly matched. They have lost both of their games by small margins after kicking reasonable high scores. Yesterday the 2 million wonder was held to reasonable game. When you take on the $2 million salary it brings with it the fact that you have to be very good every week. The first two games this year he has not been very good. Let's see how they go against the giants who not been all that good so far.

IMG_1966.jpeg

Maybe now you’ll go a bit easier on Sharpie, @old dee ?

Even if it’s just no longer calling him “Blunt”

1 hour ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Not much to unpack here, because I agree with most of it. Premature to drop Lever, but he is on watch, but I would definitely add Heath

Max has thrown down the gauntlet, and I would be surprised if any team tries to go head to head with him for the rest of the season.

TDK is as well equipped as anybody to go 1:1 with Max, and I can’t see anybody else being given the chance.

So yes, I think Heath is in a good position to be given minutes so that we do not lose our most precious commodity from being double teamed for the whole year.

1 minute ago, Ghostwriter said:

IMG_1966.jpeg

Ha ha Blunt! that's the best nickname!!!
Why isn't that his nickname!
Gold!

4 minutes ago, FireInTheBennelly said:

Any word on Fritta? Looked like he did a groin very late.

Thought it looked like a corky?

Just now, Ghostwriter said:

IMG_1966.jpeg

I mentioned earlier yesterday that I might have to stop calling him blunt. A lot better game yesterday but I will reserve judgement for a week or two. I didn't have a player list with me yesterday and could not work out who a player was wearing no 9. Late in the game I realised it was Steele. He can play a bit, I guess you don't became the captain if you are poor.

12 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

I do find it a bit harsh, however, when Melbourne supporters begrudge Saints fans joy at last year's game. It was one of the worst losses I've ever seen precisely because it was statistically the greatest final quarter comeback ever. Even if you ignore the numbers and ease back a touch on the fact it was all down to Melbourne's incompetence, surely it was one of the best 30 minutes of football you could ask for as a supporter.

I do agree with this sentiment in part. For a club that doesn’t have a heap to celebrate historically, they do have to make hay whilst the sun shines etc. and I don’t mind that they’re selling T-shirts/celebrating. Smaller clubs have to bring in the revenue and that’s just a reality.

But I think if you’re going to sell T-shirts about a non-finals game, beating a not very good team, from the prior season, you have to make sure you win this seasons game against said opponent, otherwise it makes your club look a bit silly?

2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Putting all the personnel aside and looking at the game it was a pure joy to see the use of 'clever' football. After years of dour negative style playing here we saw the consummate opposite.

Talking with mate (and Saint supporter ) I suggested the biggest change is almost along the lines of glass half full/ half empty style of argument.

With Goodwin the focus was on stoppages, on defence. Even the forwards were bogged down with defending inside the fwd arc. Something that always befuddled me ( as a forward,long long long time ago ) Goody played a team of 18 defenders.

FFwd

We now setup up attacks as far back as deep in our defended arc. KING thinks of the game as having 18 attacking players.

Instead of getting mired in ballups and stoppages we now try to get the ball moving and intelligently. The next kick isn't necessarily to a player...it's to advantage... We are no longer dropping bombs on heads we're kicking and creating opportunities for leads.

Anyone who's played this game knows none of this is new but it's been quite a while since most of us have seen blokes in a Red & Blue jumper playing this way, and playing well.

To think it took just ONE preseason .. just one 🤔🙄

Our game is still a tad rough and raw but the signs are there.

We're not finishing 14th..... just saying

That's a solid assessment Bubs.

Refreshing to watch for sure. Having said that it's only one match. Personally i prefer to wait for a decent body of work before calling any sort of royal resurgence.

Yesterday was a nice step though and the boys are likely to have grown in confidence and belief in Kingy's game style / methods / ability as a result.

Mihocek was a great pick up imho, taking the pressure and spotlight off Rooh while providing a genuine second medium - tall threat and a problem for the oppo to cover. He is strong at the ball, timing of runs are first rate and he's also hard to bring down on the move.

I'm looking forward to the return of Melk to add another part-time threat into the forward mix.

And how was Culley! This bloke's really taken the bull by the horns and while he may not be a like for like replacement for Tracc, i think he brings his own sort of special up forward with decent impact around stoppages too.

I also feel Culley has Tracc's measure in the air, which is a big asset for a mid-forward. Handy in front of the sticks. And that game after returning fairly quickly from the arm issue. Not bad at all.

Now to give Freeeo the old heave ho!

Edited by Demon Dynasty

1 hour ago, whatwhat say what said:

they certainly couldn't throw in the required 18-20m - they were even coming 5m in from the boundary and still struggling to make the required distance

goal umpires were no better either; there was a clearly touched ball on the goal line that i could see from my position on the wing that the goal umpire couldn't see when they were standing straddling the line

the problem with being the 'late' games in the weekend is you definitely get the lesser officiators across the board

Have been thinking the same re the boundary umpires for a couple years now, even at the AFL level it seems like a junior game having to work out how strong the parents volunteering on each side are.

16 minutes ago, old dee said:

It's hard to tell after only two games. For most of the game the 2 sides were fairly evenly matched. They have lost both of their games by small margins after kicking reasonable high scores. Yesterday the 2 million wonder was held to reasonable game. When you take on the $2 million salary it brings with it the fact that you have to be very good every week. The first two games this year he has not been very good. Let's see how they go against the giants who not been all that good so far.

Yeah that’s true. Not as if they’ve been belted in their first two games.

I know the post game presser hardly displays the coaches at their finest, but I just watched Ross the Boss' presser, and what a rambling fool he is. Full of topic switches strange metaphors, blame shifting and no credit where its due to Melbourne. If his goal is to lead the press towards utter confusion about the Saints, he succeeded.

My drunk uncle makes more sense than him

I know a couple Aint supporters and they've been broken men since losing those GFs.
(And if we lost ours I would have been broken too.)
Also headed to a Melb v Aints game a few years ago on the train and noted their supporters looked beaten before we even got to the ground.
As I stated earlier.
Tough gig being an Aint.
Even tougher than being a Dee.

1 minute ago, Fork 'em said:

I know a couple Aint supporters and they've been broken men since losing those GFs.
(And if we lost ours I would have been broken too.)
Also headed to a Melb v Aints game a few years ago on the train and noted their supporters looked beaten before we even got to the ground.
As I stated earlier.
Tough gig being an Aint.
Even tougher than being a Dee.

They are very loyal, membership numbers are usually ok in the lean years.

Anyone else wake up this morning with a sudden urge to rock the casbah x6?

10 minutes ago, Stiff Arm said:

I know the post game presser hardly displays the coaches at their finest, but I just watched Ross the Boss' presser, and what a rambling fool he is. Full of topic switches strange metaphors, blame shifting and no credit where its due to Melbourne. If his goal is to lead the press towards utter confusion about the Saints, he succeeded.

My drunk uncle makes more sense than him

How was King?

Fun day at the footy yesterday, despite being a close game I didn't have any sense of dread or stress while watching. Perhaps that's due to my recalibrated expectations, but it was nice going to a game and enjoying it all.

Very good win and I really appreciate the game style. It’s hectic and at times nonsensical but it’s the way footy is going off the backline.

The recruits were all great; CJ off the half back was enterprising, Steele was so solid in the middle, and Mihocek is a professional forward that has created a structure for the others to succeed in.

Specifically on Mihocek; he engages his direct opponent and moves to spots that chafe and agitate the defenders to allow for JVR to lead into spots. I can’t help but wonder where we would have been with a player like this once BBB went down…

Finally recovered from the after game celebrations.

Not much love for TDK on here. He was up against the best ruckman in the last 30 years.

4 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

Finally recovered from the after game celebrations.

Not much love for TDK on here. He was up against the best ruckman in the last 30 years.

Agree.
Gawn in that mood would run every ruckman in the league ragged.