View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

26 minutes ago, BKKBooga said:

Can the men's side sign up Kate Hore....

I reckon she could perform a lot better than some our mids & small forwards. She uses the ball so well

3 hours ago, WERRIDEE said:

First live game I've been to and loved it. Heath, Hore and Wotherspoon how great were they? Going next week as well.

You chose a ripper as your first WERRIDEE. That win has to be in our top few of all time

The extra good thing about Gillard’s end of match tackle was who it was on. That would be one Chelsea Randall, a five time AA, three time premiership player and captain. Who cares, certainly not Tahlia who followed it up with an extra push and then gave her a spray. Too friggin good!

Terrific win, made more impressive by needing to come from behind and the fact that hanks' didn't have her usual impact.

Worherspoon gets better every week and it's impossible not to love how Heath goes about her footy.

I know he's not the Coach, but was Kingy there?

12 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

The extra good thing about Gillard’s end of match tackle was who it was on. That would be one Chelsea Randall, a five time AA, three time premiership player and captain. Who cares, certainly not Tahlia who followed it up with an extra push and then gave her a spray. Too friggin good!

Yes spot on, but I really dislike that push in the back thing after winning the free kick. It should be out of the game 100%. The only thing you're doing there is risking a reversal, and if there's one team that'll be pinged for that, who do you reckon it would be?!? It's not something we want in either M or W if you ask me.

At last a win from behind against a good side. I thought it was going to be a repeat of previous games with a fast start and then lose control in the middle of the game.

Great to se them take control again. Roo's going to be a big challenge. Got a week to get the prep right.

I made a comment on ‘The DeeBrief’ , an online Dees’ supporters’ forum , about the game, and I got a ❤️ from Brodie Mihocek.

I was chuffed , and impressed that Brodie is immersing himself into the culture of the club.

1 hour ago, BKKBooga said:

Can the men's side sign up Kate Hore....

No because the women’s side still needs her 😉

5 minutes ago, joeboy said:

I made a comment on ‘The DeeBrief’ , an online Dees’ supporters’ forum , about the game, and I got a ❤️ from Brodie Mihocek.

I was chuffed , and impressed that Brodie is immersing himself into the culture of the club.

I mentioned something on a Dees facebook group the other day and he liked it. He's all in.

5 minutes ago, joeboy said:

Love this! Checkers is in the same mould as BBB and TC.

Incidentally, BBB and his wife Hester were at the match today ❤️💙

Spare a thought for ex-Demons Casey Sherriff and Eliza West: tonight marked their sixth consecutive finals loss.

Random thoughts

The commentators rightly praised Heath’s perfectly weighted handball to Mahoney that led to The Spoons goal. However Maggie’s balance with the one handed take and then kick was just as good. She has been an astute pick at 21 in last years draft. Perhaps we have found the small forward we have been crying out for.

Good luck to oppo teams manning up on Wotherspoon in future years. Great overhead, good below her knees and has some size and speed. Future AA

Look out North, no way Tyler Hanks has three averagish games in a row

Saraid Taylor was very clean. Played her role

Shelly Heath has picked a handy time to be in career best form. 2nd best to Kate.

Kate. Insert superlatives here

You realise how much we missed Goldrick and Mackin when they are both back in the side. We get so much more run and drive particularly when they both play.

Gillard, 3rd best on after Hore and Heath? A 190cm back who can mark, has go go gadget spoiling arms and can do run down tackles is the X factor we have over any other team

IF, and that’s a big if, Zanker can come back in the form she was in before being concussed please, please can she play on Libby Birch next week. She will destroy her

On 13/11/2025 at 20:44, Ghostwriter said:

Not to blow our own trumpet (except blowing it so hard our faces are red and we’re hyperventilating) Saturday’s banner is something to behold. It’s the maximum size allowed by the AFL, and it looks spectacular.

It’s no wonder at least four other clubs (that I know of) have contacted us asking for advice on how to get the same level of support for their W team.

Last week North had only three people attend banner-making, and they’re on top of the ladder!

Anyways, a huge well-made banner doesn’t guarantee success but it’s genuinely very much appreciated by the players.

Putting down the trumpet… for now anyways 😁

This is such a credit to the Cheer-Banner squad and yourself GW. Awesome work!

1 hour ago, FarNorthernD said:

Don't forget she's a former Demon, back before there was a league. 😅

6 minutes ago, RalphiusMaximus said:

Don't forget she's a former Demon, back before there was a league. 😅

I did not know that Chelsea Randall played in those games on our side. Thanks.

6 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

I did not know that Chelsea Randall played in those games on our side. Thanks.

She played FF coming back from broken ribs one year (possibly the last exhibition game?) and kicked a few. Was untouchable that game.

1 hour ago, Ghostwriter said:

Love this! Checkers is in the same mould as BBB and TC.

Incidentally, BBB and his wife Hester were at the match today ❤️💙

I'm in two minds as to whether Brodie should be introduced to Demonland 😂

Love BBB and Hester! Hester has been on The Footy with Broden Kelly podcast recently, and BBB made a cameo. Their daughter has been giving weekly "hot takes", including that Kate Hore is the best player ever 😆❤️💙

• Author
17 minutes ago, DeelightfulPlay said:

I'm in two minds as to whether Brodie should be introduced to Demonland 😂

Love BBB and Hester! Hester has been on The Footy with Broden Kelly podcast recently, and BBB made a cameo. Their daughter has been giving weekly "hot takes", including that Kate Hore is the best player ever 😆❤️💙

Speaking of which I spotted Marnie as well with BBB. I'm not sure if he's in the country ATM but Broden must be pumped wherever he is!

• Author
4 hours ago, deejammin' said:

I just wish we could see what would happen if Purcell, Chaplin, Beasley and Zanker were all available, fully fit and playing. I actually think that team would beat the Roos.

I really hope we get to see this next season, plus another pre-season into the youngsters. Not that I'm writing us off for next week, but the future is bright if we can continue on this trajectory.

2 hours ago, FarNorthernD said:

So true, a bit of a changing of the guard moment. Huge respect for Randall, especially in how she handled that pre-Grand Final concussion situation. Brave on the field but was an important role model off it during that time.

1 hour ago, FarNorthernD said:

IF, and that’s a big if, Zanker can come back in the form she was in before being concussed please, please can she play on Libby Birch next week. She will destroy her

I'm not going to lie, I think I would enjoy this as much as beating them.

• Author

Thoughts on the game:

Very proud. Wish we could bottle some of that Demon Spirit!

Turned around a lot of the negatives of last week and owned the big moments. Kate was a force, but this week she had a lot of friends and, crucially, not just the usual suspects. How good to see Mahony and Wotherspoon stepping up in a big game! 

Generally, the team seemed better prepared to ride the momentum, when to up the ante but also when to hold things up and conserve at the right times. To win that with Hanks’ impact very limited is particularly well done. We asked for a more even effort across the team and for longer in the game, and that's what we got.

Credit to the umpires as well, they really did their best to turn the game, but our players wouldn't have it. I’m sure they’ll be back bigger and better next week 🙄

It's our second win of the season against a more experienced side (the other was against Richmond, which probably says more about them). In fact, in pretty much all our wins we’ve had a relatively large experience advantage. So, even if Adelaide might be on the slide, and were certainly wasteful in this game, it’s a step forward, especially to come back from a shaky second quarter and then play out the last quarter with that ruthless intensity.

Now we’re officially in “surpassing my expectations” territory. It’s all a bonus from here and a great opportunity ahead!

Meanwhile I'll just watch that Gillard tackle on repeat.

I know I’m hopelessly biased, but I cant believe the diabolical run our girls get with the umpires every week.

When there’s a scrimmage in our backline near the goals , it’s inevitable that a dubious 50:50 free will be awarded to the opposition. Breathe on them, and it’s 50 metres.

Questionable frees are given against us all over the ground,when identical incidents aren’t penalised for the opposition.

Is it because our girls tackle harder, or more often? Do they backchat the umps and put them off side?

It’s not just the 2 finals( presumably with the better umps), but the whole season.