View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (ā‹®) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Dawn of a new Era - Paul Guerra article 18.10.2025

1 hour ago, Bonkers said:

A fair amount of spin as others have mentioned. How in the world Gawn thinks he is closer to a premiership now than before is mind boggling. He will most likely be a spent force in one or 2 years. Those draft picks that they are spruiking are going to take a lot longer to turn into A grade players than that. I get the club is trying to paint a pretty picture for us all and I’d be happy to be proven wrong. The reality is we are looking at being at the bottom of the ladder or thereabouts for the foreseeable future and we are hoping players like Langford, Windsor and Lindsay can take up the positions of players like Petracca and Oliver, which is a massive ask. Long term it may turn out fine, but we are in rebuild mode and that is not the messaging they gave prior to the trade period. It is what it is I guess, what other option did they have.

So I think Max looks at the squad and sees 2 significant players gone. He lived with Clarry so is very close to his concerns. He has literally and figuratively fed him and understands what is required. He must believe that he can be replaced within the squad by others lifting, and maybe more aware than others of how change needs to be affected. Petracca was also certainly a significant part of the premiership group but as stated the 2025 Patracca is not the 21 Petracca. Again I believe he changed but sees his role as a job, he may not be the game breaking Norm Smith big time player that a premier team needs. Again Max would be closer to him than most, and closer to the squad to understand who might step up to replace him in a new structure and game plan. Im happy to go with Max.

It is a massive test of King, and the club but I think the truths of the public statements are certainly good. We all move on GO DEES

Ā 
2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Lots of spin but what else do you expect?

This was particularly cringeworthy though

Lol no you didn't.

i did cringe at that comment as well

I liked Steven May's response. Committed to earning his spot and mentoring the kids coming through

doesn't sound like the words of a culture killer to me

Ā 

A lot of mayo on the Jack steele story. Too much for my liking

I like his communication style but he needs to be careful not to over do it. Reckon it'll start to grate.

i don;t think we need to hear too much more from him for the time being unless its Caulfield related.

Overall a good article though

Big words to live up to. ā€œWe are going to be a high scoring teamā€. Let’s wait and see.

What a bunch of sad sacks on this forum.

Condemnd if they communicate, condemnd if they dont. its spin spin spin. Blah blah blah.

Maysies story was what I thought it was.

Trac wanted a fresh start elsewhere, when you consider the changes made, possibly means he iss not happy with what hasnt changed. Anyway he checked out 2 seasons ago.

The interesting points were the $$$$. Room in the soft cap and the salary cap as well.

9 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

What a bunch of sad sacks on this forum.

Condemnd if they communicate, condemnd if they dont. its spin spin spin. Blah blah blah.

Maysies story was what I thought it was.

Trac wanted a fresh start elsewhere, when you consider the changes made, possibly means he iss not happy with what hasnt changed. Anyway he checked out 2 seasons ago.

The interesting points were the $$$$. Room in the soft cap and the salary cap as well.

Must agree F and T I was confused by all the negative spin spin spin so went back and reread the article. One of the best and most Positive articles on MFC in four years, what’s not to like, to spin a opposition former captain to come to us in 36 hrs was exceptional, former coach and recently former coach at Saints would have played a big part in winning him over. Thanks for explaining the details Mr Paul ā€œWarā€ Guera.

Ā 
3 hours ago, adonski said:

Nice article, when sober, May is super likeable and team first.

"All I would say is by the time the AGM comes around we will be in a position to give a really positive alignment.ā€

Many have made similar proposed AGM porclamations and failed. Let's hope. Then again what does "positive alignment" mean and does that mean its not really an official announcement just some positive unofficial comments

There were myriads of us that asked for a little transparency from the club.

We now are getting that and people are still unhappy?

Music Video Wtf GIF

Edited by NeveroddoreveN

1 minute ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

There were myriads of us that asked for a little transparency from the club.

We now are getting stand people are still unhappy?

Music Video Wtf GIF

We're certainly getting a lot of words.

I don't know if that translates to transparency.

I will wait and see the actions...and the results of those actions.

42 minutes ago, BDA said:

I liked Steven May's response. Committed to earning his spot and mentoring the kids coming through

doesn't sound like the words of a culture killer to me

My opinion is may has a very good heart, super competitive but sometimes says or acts the wrong way. If he gets fit he is capable, just needs his body right

4 minutes ago, Demons1858 said:

"All I would say is by the time the AGM comes around we will be in a position to give a really positive alignment.ā€

Many have made similar proposed AGM porclamations and failed. Let's hope. Then again what does "positive alignment" mean and does that mean its not really an official announcement just some positive unofficial comments

I use a health professional the same as maysie.

"Lovely bloke, affable but has those eyes you dont want to see when you leave the bar at 2.00am"

Disappointed not to read that "this is the best culture I've seen in my three months of footy".

9 minutes ago, rjay said:

We're certainly getting a lot of words.

I don't know if that translates to transparency.

I will wait and see the actions...and the results of those actions.

He's made a good start. Much better communicator than his predecessors

But clearing the decks is the easy part

Ultimately the club and his tenure will be based upon success on the field

For me and all those that critise the club re: Oliver and Trac trades, this was the key quote i found most relevant.

ā€œAnd we could have stuck with Clayton and Christian, no problems. But we finished 14th in 2024, 14th in 2025. And if nothing changes, then nothing changes. And we’ve made the decision that we don’t want to finish 14th again.

Both of these players are over the hill and were not contributing to the team given we finished 14th consecutive. We were not getting better with them in the side, so getting 3 first rounders to help turn over the list is a better outcome.

A quiet tip (but keep it to yourself)!

If you want to read articles that appear in the HUN and don’t want to purchase the rag get an app called PressReader. Link it to your local library* and bingo lots and lots of publications at your fingertips (not just local and international newspapers but magazines as well from all over the world)!

*If your local library isn’t signed up to PressReader then tell them to or, join a library that is!

29 minutes ago, BDA said:

He's made a good start. Much better communicator than his predecessors

But clearing the decks is the easy part

Ultimately the club and his tenure will be based upon success on the field

TBH I reckon that clearing the decks is very hard. Just go read the Tim Lamb, Tracca and Clarrie threads.

But as you say the clubs purpose is to win at footy, and Guerra doesnt pull the boots on. Tough gig.

47 minutes ago, Demons1858 said:

Why bring in a group of new people into the club IF we are going to question and second guess every thing they say.

I’m excited for the fresh start.

We have great leaders to lead and teach our young kids in Gawn, Viney, Mihocek, Steele, McDonald, Langdon and also Rivers and Chin.

Yes, We aren’t close to a premiership but we don’t have two players holding us back from progressing and further setting us back when it comes to attitude and professionalism.

Are we closer to a premiership now without Trac and Oliver? Yes. Not trading them out means we don’t get first round picks for Trac and continuing to add youth. Not trading Oliver may mean we have more culture problems and more players not wanting to be around or young players following the same path.

It’s better to fall down the ladder with more youth than fall down the ladder with Trac and Oliver still in our side and then try to rebuild on the go in a couple of years.

It saddens me that I’ve seen so many comments on socials of Melbourne members saying they won’t renew next year because Trac and Oliver have been traded. One didn’t want to be at our club and one didn’t want to put in the work for our club.

It’s time to show up, it’s time to make some noise and it’s time to show our young fellas we back them and we’re here for the ride with them.

Here’s to the new era everyone.

1 hour ago, Demons1858 said:

My opinion is may has a very good heart, super competitive but sometimes says or acts the wrong way. If he gets fit he is capable, just needs his body right

This is helpful for me to hear as well.

clint eastwood kids GIF

4 minutes ago, Demongirl35 said:

It saddens me that I’ve seen so many comments on socials of Melbourne members saying they won’t renew next year because Trac and Oliver have been traded. One didn’t want to be at our club and one didn’t want to put in the work for our club.

It’s time to show up, it’s time to make some noise and it’s time to show our young fellas we back them and we’re here for the ride with them.

Here’s to the new era everyone.

Plenty of saints supporters saying same thing because of steele.

For every member we lose due to these moves, i reckon we will get a few back...

2 hours ago, rjay said:

The jury is still out for me...

YesRJ, At the moment it's all gilding the lily

Ā 

Here's a presser I prepared for the Paul Guerra earlier.

Draft of this evening’s press release

Trade Week Strategic Alignment Statement

The MFC is pleased to announce a paradigm shift in its list management strategy, as we continue streamlining operations and leveraging our assets to deliver bespoke on-field outcomes going forward.

This strategic recalibration represents a rightsizing initiative designed to align our game style brand with industry best practice, optimise core competencies, and ensure stakeholder satisfaction within the player group through organic growth and sustainable success metrics.

Our newly appointed Thought Leader in this space, Steven, brings an expanded view of industry best practice and a deep understanding of outcomes-based excellence within the men’s football program. Steven’s appointment reinforces our commitment to continuous improvement and each man playing our role within the team-first framework week in, week out.

While there are a lotta moving parts during this transitional phase, the Club remains committed to undertaking its due diligence in the recruiting stakes moving forward. Rest assured, no stone will be left unturned in the pursuit of synergistic talent acquisition, optimisation of existing assets and ensuring stakeholder-aligned success outcomes.

Our leadership team will continue to reach out, and if necessary, take discussions offline, as required to ensure full transparency.

Finally, the Melbourne Football Club would like to sincerely thank all players who have been delisted or traded for their outstanding service to the red and blue. Each of these individuals has been a quality person both on and off the field, embodying the Club’s values of connection, commitment, and continual improvement. While change is never easy, we acknowledge their significant contributions to our culture and wish them every success as they embark on the next exciting chapter of their journey. They will always remain valued members of the broader Melbourne family, and we thank them and their families for the professionalism, resilience, and team-first attitude they have displayed throughout their time at the Club.

Melbourne Football Club Communications Department
Delivering key metrics, not just premierships, since 1964.

8 minutes ago, Demongirl35 said:

It saddens me that I’ve seen so many comments on socials of Melbourne members saying they won’t renew next year because Trac and Oliver have been traded.

Where's Mr. Fence?