View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Jenkins just another nuff wanting us to accept [censored] all for Tracc or anyone. Yet if they were at Geelong or the media favourite clubs it be 3 firsts and a best 23 player.

16 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

Not sure why people are so irked by this. Its a typical media move to get clicks and comments (its working too).

Given the information he's probably right and worth a stab for some media attention/clout. At the very least a throw away post.

Anyway given the circumstances I agree with him.

Question: When was the last time a player requested a trade to a club (not for family reasons) but just of want to play for another club and the trade fell through?

Get ready for those draft picks folks.

Its Demonland.. you couldn't a find a more sensitive bunch of supporters on here over the smallest opinion by anyone from the media

Like you, I also agree that Petracca will end up at GC somehow, its now just a matter of seeing what the actual deal is. 6 or 7 will be the starting point i reckon.

Boy can I not wait to see this thread melt hard when the deal goes down.

27 minutes ago, adonski said:

We were keen to trade out before we knew we'd be 5th last

He still seemed pretty chuffed with the decision a week ago.

2 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

He still seemed pretty chuffed with the decision a week ago.

I don't disagree with him btw. Lindsay is a ripper.

But we traded that pick with the assumption it'd be a much worse one than pick 5 (imo)

14 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Its Demonland.. you couldn't a find a more sensitive bunch of supporters on here over the smallest opinion by anyone from the media

Like you, I also agree that Petracca will end up at GC somehow, its now just a matter of seeing what the actual deal is. 6 or 7 will be the starting point i reckon.

Boy can I not wait to see this thread melt hard when the deal goes down.

Mate I understand that us supporters can be a sensitive bunch, but why on earth will you be cheering for people to react negatively if we only trade him for pick 7 and change?

That’s not a good outcome for the club and people would have every right to be upset at it, and to gleefully sit there and hope it happens is just bizarre

Edited by demoncat

1 hour ago, Dockett 32 said:

A head turner.

This is it.

If "head turner" turns out to be some ultimately double digit picks in a poor draft, we're either kidding ourselves or banking on a Jason Taylor miracle.

4 minutes ago, demoncat said:

Mate I understand that us supporters can be a sensitive bunch, but why on earth will you be cheering for people to react negatively if we only trade him for pick 7 and change?

That’s not a good outcome for the club and people would have every right to be upset at it, and to gleefully sit there and hope it happens is just bizarre

You say that on behalf of being a melbourne supporter.. thats it.

The fans dont speak on behalf of the footy club on whether its a good outcome or not.

The club will make a decision based on what they think is best for the footy club, not the supporters.

5 hours ago, Frustrated Demon said:

Yeah mate sure.

yes there were some stars etc but these are off the top of my head. I work in the industry and have so for quite a while. They are all good footy players but some years are just leaner on stand out talent.

Were these years 'predicted' or the results from evaluation, years later?

I for one never rated or like Trac, i think Tim Lamb should be sacked for his ridiculous chat.

@Jaded No More don't even think about digging up the receipts that are no doubt there.

2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Says the Melbourne supporters? The fans dont speak on behalf of the footy club on whether its a good outcome or not.

The club doesn't refer to supporters on whether that decision is a good outcome or not. They do what they think is best for the footy club, not the supporters.

Never said they didn’t, but we’re literally posting on a fan forum right now where people are going to have opinions about what the club does

And as fans - most of us paid members - we’re entitled to have a view on what the club does

Besides, I don’t think the club would think that’s a good deal for them either, otherwise they could get it done in an instant for that price (no way Suns would hold out to pay less)

3 minutes ago, demoncat said:

Never said they didn’t, but we’re literally posting on a fan forum right now where people are going to have opinions about what the club does

And as fans - most of us paid members - we’re entitled to have a view on what the club does

Besides, I don’t think the club would think that’s a good deal for them either, otherwise they could get it done in an instant for that price (no way Suns would hold out to pay less)

Opinions are good and all for it.

Just hilarious watching supporters on here get so worked up over a throw away line by none other then Jerrrker Jenkins 🤣

1 hour ago, Mike said:

The thing I keep thinking about is how Lamb has made a point of saying that it was essentially a clever move by the club to trade out of this year's draft in order to get Lindsay.

What does that say if we accept picks from the Suns now in exchange for Trac. Now we're back in the draft again. A draft that we decided wasn't worth it.

I'm so curious how this plays out. The club has to play hard ball here.

I think the MFC look at the outcome of each draft period and comment on this. eg, Lindsay was who we wanted, and we did well to get him and Langford in the same draft. Linsday is top 5 pick quality imo.

It was not necessarily a comment on this years draft quality

In unrelated news I just walked past Ed Langdon. I think it was Ed Langdon anyway (it happened pretty fast).

I called out behind him “Love ya Ed!”

I hope it was him, or at the very least, the dude’s name was Ed.

1 hour ago, Young Blood said:

If GC can get Trac for two first rounders (the going rate) they do it. If not they simply say 'oh well, we'll keep our cap space, hold onto our high picks and you keep your unhappy star on huge $$$'.

Get ready for a bunch of draft picks both present and future folks!

And we say, back you come, Trac, and the Suns' look horrible to market.

King wants to coach Trac remember.

And the Suns need a marketable asset up there. Trac would be their first landing since Ablett. If they don't get the deal done, what's that say to the next opposition player they're courting in a trade? That player would have every right to ask, if I nominate you as my trade destination, will you actually get the deal done?

The league doesn't work in a vacuum and all these managers talk. The Suns would be a laughing stock.

Melbourne needs to hold their nerve and keep pushing Humphrey to request a trade.

Edited by Adam The God

1 hour ago, Frustrated Demon said:

2003 was marked as an average draft overall. I wasnt in the industry then but I’m pretty sure that was Pendlebury year and with out checking it up I think you will most of the top 10 didn’t become superstars except for Pendlebury etc. [censored] now I need to go back and have a look to see how my memory was.

2003 was Cooney Sylvia McLean etc

Pendlebury was 2005 with Dale Thomas & Marc Murphy I think

1 hour ago, adonski said:

We were keen to trade out before we knew we'd be 5th last

We didn’t know we were 5th last, LAST week?

1 hour ago, Frustrated Demon said:

That’s all it is. You can only go with what is put in front of you. Plus also AFL clubland etc is so much different to under 18s etc. no one means any disrespect to the kids coming through in this draft class it’s just tipped to not be as strong. At present I think personally there will be 2-3 really good players then potentially slowly taper off. I hope I’m wrong as they are all better than what I was as a footballer and I wish them well.

The other part of having a weaker draft class is even those who seem good have been playing against inferior opposition. So how good are they really/how will they match up to AFL players?

2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

2003 was Cooney Sylvia McLean etc

Pendlebury was 2005 with Dale Thomas & Marc Murphy I think

2005 was a bloody good draft.

2003 was an absolute flop..

7 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I think the MFC look at the outcome of each draft period and comment on this. eg, Lindsay was who we wanted, and we did well to get him and Langford in the same draft. Linsday is top 5 pick quality imo.

It was not necessarily a comment on this years draft quality

Yeah that's fair. I suppose I was reading between the lines in regards to us getting Lindsay rather than keeping our 2025 first rounder, and the justification for that being '2025 = weaker draft'. After that move, and all the chat around it being a weak draft, I don't think the club can blame fans for feeling underwhelmed by draft picks for Trac.

Sitting back and hoping we don't land Humphrey so you can watch some fans on a forum melt is pretty funny.

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

Sitting back and hoping we don't land Humphrey so you can watch some fans on a forum melt is pretty funny.

or that we hold Petracca ...

2 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Humphrey is a dud and i never rated him.

Just getting in early.

Back to my hunt for the leaker.

34 minutes ago, rpfc said:

We didn’t know we were 5th last, LAST week?

I keep telling you Tim Lamb is useless

41 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Some might consider that personal growth

45 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

And we say, back you come, Trac, and the Suns' look horrible to market.

King wants to coach Trac remember.

And the Suns need a marketable asset up there. Trac would be their first landing since Ablett. If they don't get the deal done, what's that say to the next opposition player they're courting in a trade? That player would have every right to ask, if I nominate you as my trade destination, will you actually get the deal done?

The league doesn't work in a vacuum and all these managers talk. The Suns would be a laughing stock.

Melbourne needs to hold their nerve and keep pushing Humphrey to request a trade.

GC wouldn't look horrible to market at all. Trac and/or his management has approached them saying he wants to go there. Doesn't sound like they were hunting him as such. They have a pretty elite midfield as is and tracking along nicely with a future Trac like game breaking player in Humphrey. Adding Trac to that mix would be a cherry on top and take them up a level of course. But it makes complete sense for them to hold firm and stick with what will likely be two first rounders and maybe one or two futures in the trade. Otherwise they simply hold onto their picks and their cap space and try again next year for another star like Butters or Trac again.

I don't understand this idea that we deserve more for our star than previous deals in the past for other stars in their prime without questions marks. Why is this any different? When was the last time a player of this calibre was involved in a trade where the club got a star or potential future star in return? Judd/Kennedy trade? Thats a genuine question I'd love someone with better memory to find some other recent examples.

Unfortunately, Trac has nominated GC and that means he is headed there and it would be extremely unlikely a deal doesn't get done. Because they pretty much always do and its so dumb how AFL trading works in that way.

Edited by Young Blood