TASMANIA v. SANDRINGHAM

2007 TRUenergy VFL Seniors

Tasmania 3.1 5.3 11.5 14.8 (92)

Sandringham 2.6 10.11 16.16 19.20 (134)

GOALS:

Tasmania: Derbyshire 4 Ross 2 Adams 2 Hall Stephens Moles Ling Hansen Moran

Sandringham: Poyas 4 Crowe 4 Holland 3 Ferguson 2 Valenti 2 Neaves Summers Pickett Jamar

BEST:

Tasmania: Stephens Thurley Koulouriotis Street Moran Adams

Sandringham: Holland Crowe Poyas Liddell Valenti Garland

GOALS:

Sandringham: Poyas 4 Crowe 4 Holland 3 Ferguson 2 Valenti 2 Neaves Summers Pickett Jamar

BEST:

Beat me by that much Madness. One of the Tassie players was reported for charging Benny Holland in the first quarter.

GOALS:

BEST:

Wats with fergo kicking goals in the last 2 weeks maybe he could be tryed in the dees forwadd line

GOALS:

BEST:

Good to see Garland in the bests. Did he play back again?

Might be another candidate for a run soon under the new Riley-regime??

Not a great game to watch to be perfectly honest.

There were no real "stand out" players and even though Garland made the best, he was far from impressive. Very disappointing as a spectacle and the only real highlight is actually watching Adam Derbyshire in the flesh, [censored] this guy can play, has been kicking alot of goals recently in a [censored] team with disgraceful delivery.

Even the beer was [censored].

There were no real "stand out" players and even though Garland made the best, he was far from impressive. Very disappointing as a spectacle and the only real highlight is actually watching Adam Derbyshire in the flesh, [censored] this guy can play, has been kicking alot of goals recently in a [censored] team with disgraceful delivery.

did Dunn play or was he saved as an emergency for tomorrow's game?

With due respect to our Tasmanian posters around here they certainly are a strange lot over there on the Apple Isle. Despite losing by 7 goals to a Sandringham side that was far from the strongest side it has put on the field this year, the Taswegians are treating the game as a moral victory - DEFEAT TO BE PROUD OF.

After their loss to the Bendigo Bombers at Bellerive Oval in Hobart last week coach Daryn Cresswell made his senior players front the media to apologise for the side's pitiful display. This was on top of three alcohol bans placed on the team by the coaching panel this year. The rule was that not a drop of booze will pass players' lips until Cresswell and Co learn the cause of the Devils' second-half fade-outs this barren VFL season. The ban was temporarily lifted after tonight's game and for their sake I hope they don't get too shickered and forget what it was that's been causing their fade outs.

Ezra Poyas played a great 100th game of VFL football. He has now kicked 9 goals in his past two games after recovering from a hamstring injury incurred early in the State game v WAFL last month. The VFL Record had a special tribute to Poyas - read it here.

Our correspondent Ice Station Zebra made it down to Launceston and has promised a report of some sort on his return early next week. We're just hoping he doesn't lose too much of his hard earned at the Casino over there and makes it back safely in time.

With due respect to our Tasmanian posters around here they certainly are a strange lot over there on the Apple Isle. Despite losing by 7 goals to a Sandringham side that was far from the strongest side it has put on the field this year, the Taswegians are treating the game as a moral victory - DEFEAT TO BE PROUD OF.

Hmmm. That's one of the reasons wy they aren't travelling all that well.

It was a better effort this week but let's not forget that the Zebras had 39 shots to 22 and the game was virtually won midway through the third quarter when they were 50 points in front. Poor old Cresswell's having a hard time with his team which admittedly has lost quite a few experienced players. Further, the Kangaroos who have a partial alignment aren't ideal partners and the Devils are likely to go it alone next year. From what I heard, Garland was good tonight which is what you'd expect in his home state.

We're not all strange, it's just the Tassie coach that is an oddball. I reckon Daryn Cresswell has single handedly destroyed his coaching career this year.

I too want to know how garland played and where he played, could he be a CHB option at the Dee's?

Hopefully, Ice Station's report or perhaps Sleeve or Zebraman will reveal all about Colin Garland's game but in the meantime, here's an article from the Talking Football section of the Burnie Advocate about Colin Garland.

No, it’s not the Demons’ Colin Garland who played well for Sandringham last night and was named in the best players but his father Colin Garland Senior.

Garland Senior sounds like a great character. He has played football all his life, now coaches under 14s at the Irishtown Football Club and of course, he’s fathered a young Demon. He still enjoys a smoke and reckons he’ll only give up footy when he gives up smoking - and that will be when he move to Saunders St (the cemetery in Wynyard).

His comments about son Colin Junior in the interview (published late last month):-

"CH: Your son has been drafted to Melbourne this year, but it's not going so well?

CG: Yeah, same name, Colin. Junior of course. He was always pretty good. When he played mini-league at Wynyard he showed promise. Probably not as much as my eldest boy Scott, though. But he didn't continue. There is a lot of sport in our family. Colin might get a game soon. The last two weeks he's been among the best for Sandringham (Melbourne's VFL affiliate).

CH: So are you proud?

CG: I'd like to see him do well. It's entirely up to him though. It's only his third year of football. He just decided to play. He's six four and can run, run like a deer which helps."

Sounds like a great bloke and a pretty proud dad!

It's only his third year of football. He just decided to play. He's six four and can run, run like a deer which helps."

thats the line that interests me. only his 3rd year of football??? if he is showing promise at the moment thats fantastic, but im sure he is a longer term prospect if this is the case...

You were obviously at a different game to the one I went to at Aurora Stadium.

1. Ben Holland took over 20 marks. That tends to make a player "stand out" from what I've seen over the years.
  2. Garland played quite well. Mainly in defence although with me doing opposition stats it was a bit hard to tell where all the Sandy players were lining up...majority of them contested.
  3. As a spectacle I thought it was darned good. The kicking was good and the teamwork was good. We commented on the fact that Tasmania does not train together yet they teamed up pretty well.
  4. Jamar in the ruck was great with his palming down to Valenti - a pleasure to watch.
  5. Derbyshire was a highlight. He led well, marked well and kicked well.
  6. The beer was bloody excellent. Tasmanian beer is as good as anywhere.
Also –

• Pickett had a reasonable game but needs to dominate a game like Holland did today.
  • Moloney did well in only his second game back.
  • Neaves and Jamar in tandem are great.
  • Ferguson took a screamer of a mark in the goal square and duly kicked a goal.
  • Jace Bode was quiet but did a couple of good things.
  • Sandy had some really young guys playing and the experience would have been great for them – Monaghan, Guy Martin and Paterakis.
  • I had a great time there. Thoroughly enjoyed the match but obviously some people are really hard to please.
GO ZEBRAS

You were obviously at a different game to the one I went to at Aurora Stadium

How did the runner go? :rolleyes:

Here's the list of players from last night -

1 Rennie Gilchrist

2 Tom Paterakis

3 Guy Martyn

5 Sam Monaghan

7 Shane Valenti

8 Roderick Crowe

10 Peter Summers

12 Ezra Poyas

15 Tomi Johnston

16 Andrew Biddlecombe

17 David Gallagher

20 Chris Lamb

33 Chad Liddell

35 Ryan Ferguson

37 Matthew Warnock

39 Ben Holland

40 Mark Jamar

44 Colin Garland

48 Jace Bode

49 Shane Neaves

73 Byron Pickett

76 Brent Moloney

How did the runner go? :rolleyes:

The runner???....did ok but didn't have that much impact.....like Byron he needs to dominate..

That Tassie beer must have something extra in it....

You were obviously at a different game to the one I went to at Aurora Stadium.

I was at the same game and if you honestly think that was a good representation of our great game then your kidding yourself.

Tassie are an undersized, under skilled rabble.

Colin Garland was "okay" he played across half back but as Zebraman mentioned, it was a little difficult to figure out where players were playing because there was generally no conventional set up. He does have sure hands and pretty good skills but he needs further time to develop before being even considered for KP roles. With a new coach and our season over I would expect he'll get a few more games before year's end.

Mark Jamar looks good at VFL level and I fear he'll be the new Ezra Poyas, virtually did what he wanted, was a danger whenever he went forward and if he could translate that to the top level he'd make a handy second ruckman.

Brent Moloney did look underdone but he was far too strong, however his mobility did look restricted as to what I have witnessed in the past and I think he needs to be put on ice to get right for 2008.

Ben Holland, as mentioned took a lot of marks, however a player of his experience and quality should do that to a seriously undermanned and undersized opponent. He is remarkably big, I'd never seen him that close up.

Jace Bode is an interesting one; didn't get a lot of the footy but seems to be pretty smart. As a rookie I doubt he'll be retained but there is "something" there... not sure what... but something.

Shane Neaves should be promoted and given an opportunity to see what he has got. Looks the goods at VFL level and I actually rate his work higher than Jamar given the experience difference between the two.

Byron Who? Disappointing and still looks out of condition. Byron is in a lot of trouble and I fear his AFL career is over.

Warnock had his hands full all night with Derbyshire and if the Tassie delivery had been any good in the first half Derbyshire would have kicked 7 or 8.

What needs to be remembered is the fact that most of the players for Tassie come from a third tier competition, Tasmania has no state league and players are drawn from 2 separate regions. It is absolutely ridiculous. One week players are playing on guys who are stepping up from country football to playing against sides with quality AFL players. Hence the game was not impressive as a spectacle. I won't harp on about the state of football in this state but it is worth remembering this was the Devils' 11th loss in a row and whilst they had a crack it wasn't a good spectacle against an utterly depleted Sandringham.

Just as a side note, Melbourne should take a look at a guy called Sam Whish Wilson who played with the Devils last night. Boy is he impressive, I actually rate him higher than Grant Birchall. He is the most improved player in Tasmania.

Whish Wilson?

If there was a hyphen in there he'd be ideal for the Melbourne Football Club. What's his background, height, weight, position etc.?

Sleeve - the snippets I've seen on local TV of W-W he does look good. Looks like he has a nice long kick and likes to get the hard ball.

Any further insights as I've yet to see him live?