View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

good grief - aints fans reckon he's worth a first round pick... shirley not?!??

windhager is a good, ordinary, work-a-day defensive mid who is an average kick

Aints fans a few weeks were desperate to sign him. They didn’t want him to leave and would be filthy if he left due to some of their linked players Aleer, Silvagni and now Ryan, Now it’s ’he’s ordinary and if he wants to go, go.’

Like if he’s so ordinary why do you expect a first rounder? I don’t get saints fans

Edited by Demongirl35

Why do we want him when we have so much competition for mid spots by established and aspiring players.

Can't see his point of differentiation to what we have.

Surely, we won't throw dollars for a tagger!!! Viney, Sparrow and Oliver have shown they play that role quite adequately when required.

3 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Why do we want him when we have so much competition for mid spots by established and aspiring players.

Surely, we won't throw dollars for a tagger!!! Viney, Sparrow and Oliver have shown they play that role quite adequately when required.

There's a world where 0 of the 3 names you mentioned line up for us in R1 next year

26 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

good grief - aints fans reckon he's worth a first round pick... shirley not?!??

windhager is a good, ordinary, work-a-day defensive mid who is an average kick

Would the saints do our current 2nd rounder + future 2nd for Windhager + Heath?

Saints would value him around late 1st round

4 minutes ago, MrFreeze said:

Would the saints do our current 2nd rounder + future 2nd for Windhager + Heath?

Saints would value him around late 1st round

Of course the Saints would do that. Windhager’s worth pick 25-30. Heath is worth a packet of chips. Why would we give up a future 2nd as well as a current 2nd?!

30 minutes ago, Demongirl35 said:

Aints fans a few weeks were desperate to sign him. They didn’t want him to leave and would be filthy if he left due to some of their linked players Aleer, Silvagni and now Ryan, Now it’s ’he’s ordinary and if he wants to go, go.’

For he’s so ordinary why do you expect a first rounder?

Footy speak fir they're DEVO !! 🤔🤣🤣🤣

1 hour ago, adonski said:

In true Tim Lamb fashion I reckon he's offered Windhager 6 years to blow the Saints out of the water!

Better than SOS offering his son 5 years at 850k. I know who I’d rather

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Trac might be involved in a multi club trade to get this done.

Or maybe our future first rounder for Windhager and Heath?

Are you joking here? Future 1st, mate please. 2nd rounder at best or walk him to the PSD.

1 minute ago, Demons11 said:

Better than SOS offering his son 5 years at 850k. I know who I’d rather

It’s a bit if a mind boggler isn’t it? SOS is an okay defender but that’s an outrageous deal

13 minutes ago, Dee Boys said:

Of course the Saints would do that. Windhager’s worth pick 25-30. Heath is worth a packet of chips. Why would we give up a future 2nd as well as a current 2nd?!

Just spit balling, they could kick back a 3rd rounder or so

Just now, Ted Lasso said:

It’s a bit if a mind boggler isn’t it? SOS is an okay defender but that’s an outrageous deal

💯

SOS is an average player at best and is lucky to play 10 games per season.

At 22yrs old, he'd be joining a young midfield (midfield-adjacent?) wave within which there isn't really a similar type.

We have lots of mobility and around-the-ground coverage with the likes of Rivers, Windsor, McVee, Lindsay and even Langford. Meanwhile Pickett and Tholstrup are both tuned to an attacking game.

Not going to count chickens on the other kids, naturally.

Any new coach would be thrilled to add Windhager to balance with our other youth, deepen our 'genuine AFL-quality' line-up, and open some tactical options.

He's certainly no dud and continues to grow. Depending on your optimism level we will be gaining either Jordon, Harmes, or Nibbler.

26 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

@Lucifers Hero I would see the potential point of difference in his defensive mindset.

Trac and Kossie are both largely attack mids, seeking to win the ball and cause damage. But they aren't necessarily great at defending around stoppages.

Clarry and Viney are both first possession winners and I think we struggle with them at the centre bounce at the same time. Both are focused on winning the ball but that risks their player being let free.

At his peak this wasn't an issue for Clarry he balanced the ball winning and his man. And as Clarry found fitness towards the end of the year he was much less of a defensive liability.

So I would see the point of difference being about stoppage set ups and midfield balance?

I do think that he needs to replace one of Sparrow or Viney in the team though. And it does reduce opportunities for Rivers et al in the midfield.

I also note he has been a regular winner ofand high finisher in the St Kilda 3km time trials over recent years. That extra running capacity helps replace the ANB role too.

Edited by deanox

4 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said:

I’m heading off to see Finey this morning. Will see if I can get an exclusive.

I went to Finey’s place of business and all I got was bagels 🥯 which is what they sell there. Unfortunately, the information I got there was also bagels, nada, zilch … because Finey was giving himself the morning off for Father’s Day. Perhaps, more in the next few days.

Windhager could have the same impact on our midfield as Dunkley had on Brisbane's. Let's hope we can get him over the line. Great list management. 👏

Edited by Adam The God

We have midfielders but don't have a Windhager.

He is one of the hardest 2 way running mids in the game. He has the discipline to both defend stoppage and lay a hard tag. When allowed to play his natural game through there he is a natural connector. His uncontested possession % over his last month was 75%. 84%, 65%, 74%. His ball use at worst is generally high 70% and into the 80%. At 22 he is about to go next level in the right role at the right team.

Will be a fantastic complement to our current set up or if we make change to our midfield mix.

5 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Windhager could have the same impact on our midfield as Dunkley had on Brisbane's. Let's hope we can get him over the line. Great list management. 👏

dunkley was, and is, a far superior player to windhager

7 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Honestly the same thought I had.

While he may not add a point of difference in terms of high speed or particularly high skills, I think he complements our midfield in terms of the type of player he is.

25 minutes ago, deanox said:

@Lucifers Hero I would see the potential point of difference in his defensive mindset.

Trac and Kossie are both largely attack mids, seeking to win the ball and cause damage. But they aren't necessarily great at defending around stoppages.

Clarry and Viney are both first possession winners and I think we struggle with them at the centre bounce at the same time. Both are focused on winning the ball but that risks their player being let free.

At his peak this wasn't an issue for Clarry he balanced the ball winning and his man. And as Clarry found fitness towards the end of the year he was much less of a defensive liability.

So I would see the point of difference being about stoppage set ups and midfield balance?

I do think that he needs to replace one of Sparrow or Viney in the team though. And it does reduce opportunities for Rivers et al in the midfield.

I also note he has been a regular winner ofand high finisher in the St Kilda 3km time trials over recent years. That extra running capacity helps replace the ANB role too.

Thanks for that. All good points.

Two extracts from above:

"II do think that he needs to replace one of Sparrow or Viney in the team though. And it does reduce opportunities for Rivers et al in the midfield"

You've verbalised what I was alluding when I said there is competition for midfield spots. At times posters have noted those guys aren't too happy to not have the opportunity to show what they can do: .

"I also note he has been a regular winner of and high finisher in the St Kilda 3km time trials over recent years. That extra running capacity helps replace the ANB role too".

That sounds like a good role for him.

It seems more and more likely that we will lose contracted senior players.

1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

We can't defend stoppage. Not only do we need new midfield coaches, but new personnel that complement our ball winners and offensive minded players.

2 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

Granted, but windhager is only 22, will continue to develop and very capable of playing a very similar role where he can be accountable for the oppositions best and win the ball himself.