View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (â‹®) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Posted

A bit of discussion about this in the Round 3 thread, but I thought it worth putting in its own thread, since it's an ongoing topic.

At Vic Park yesterday, I reckon about two thirds of attendees were Demons. I'd expected a battle to find a pocket of Dees to sit with, safe from Collingwood types, but there was no issue - Dees everywhere!

I might be being a little generous with that ratio, but if it's anywhere near accurate, that puts the Demon fan attendance at an away game at almost double compared to Casey in Round 2, a home game where the club pulled out all the stops to get a big number. The fact that it was Round 24 vs. no game for men's this weekend might play a part. And neither are exactly earth-shattering attendance figures. But still.

Time and again, aside from the earliest seasons, our healthiest crowds have been at "home" games played at Ikon and away games at other inner city venues. Every effort has been made to draw a crowd to Casey, and it's not like we typically perform badly there - in fact, in seasons past we've dominated and put on some of the league's best footy at the time, even when it was blowing a gale.

But does anyone else feel like a ceiling has been reached there? Anecdotal, but based on the people seated around me on the wing at Vic Park, many were Demons fans who hadn't seen the AFLW Dees live recently or at all. How many first-time fans are we getting out at Casey these days? Certainly in Round 2, there were many bewildered St Kilda fans making the trip for the first time...and likely never again.

I acknowledge that the club has made improvements at Casey, with better seating and facilities. Parking becomes a bit of an ordeal once it hits about 2,500 people, though it rarely does. And people wouldn't mind putting up with that if they hadn't had to travel ages in the first place or if there are public transport options.

So, what's the alternative? Obviously, everything is focused on the Caulfield plan, as it should be. But that's purely a training facility. I know that there are partnerships and commitments made at Casey, so maybe that's just how it has to be? Or can we do deals to play home games at other venues, like at Ikon in the past? If that's an option, should the club take it in future seasons? Or is it better to have a "home", even if only the most committed fans will go there?

Vic park was easy to get too, and good spaces to watch footy even in the wet. It could be developed into a marquee AFLW ground but not having a club or alignment might impact funding. Thats where Ikon park could work better.

I don’t believe Caulfield could be set up for games as no ability to install covered stands. It would be ideal to play and train at your home ground though.

Ikon and Vic. Park are standout venues. Inner city, close to train stations, shops etc., adequate seating, decent amenities. The only downside with both is the length of queues for food and drinks. Some folks missed an entire quarter queuing for food.

Whitten Oval, Windy Hill, Arden St and even Moorabbin and Kinetic Park (which are both further from the city) are also good venues except for the lack of seating.

GMHBA is also a good venue seating-wise and amenities-wise. There’s a train station at its doorstep too.

I’ve asked all the girls at some point or another how they feel about playing at Casey. The consensus is they wish their home games were played at Ikon. They appreciate the awesome indoor facilities at Casey therefore training there is ok, but they’d love to play at Ikon.

15 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Ikon and Vic. Park are standout venues. Inner city, close to train stations, shops etc., adequate seating, decent amenities. The only downside with both is the length of queues for food and drinks. Some folks missed an entire quarter queuing for food.

Whitten Oval, Windy Hill, Arden St and even Moorabbin and Kinetic Park (which are both further from the city) are also good venues except for the lack of seating.

GMHBA is also a good venue seating-wise and amenities-wise. There’s a train station at its doorstep too.

I’ve asked all the girls at some point or another how they feel about playing at Casey. The consensus is they wish their home games were played at Ikon. They appreciate the awesome indoor facilities at Casey therefore training there is ok, but they’d love to play at Ikon.

Once Punt Road is redeveloped, is that an avenue we could explore? I know Richmond would probably be reluctant but at present its not that many games we'd be playing there.

1 minute ago, roy11 said:

Once Punt Road is redeveloped, is that an avenue we could explore? I know Richmond would probably be reluctant but at present its not that many games we'd be playing there.

Oh I forgot about Punt Rd… another venue that would work.

Our first home game (Rd 2) complete with all activations, the many giveaways and the $10,000 helicopter ball drop would have been a massive success had it been at Ikon or similar, IMHO. Also IMHO, all the planning and execution went to waste. A crowd of only 2,152 meant so many leftover freebies, food and drink. It also meant the 10,000 golf balls dropped from the helicopter dwindled to 5,000 and even then over half of the balls were redundant. Such a shame because the people who did attend had a great time.

7 hours ago, DEE32 said:

Vic park was easy to get too, and good spaces to watch footy even in the wet. It could be developed into a marquee AFLW ground but not having a club or alignment might impact funding

As the season is now in the warmer months Vic Park could easily be the home ground for four teams with games being played during the day on a Saturday and Sunday. Shared between four teams it would attract funding. Developed to hold say 6-7k it would make the perfect venue to re-imagine a competition that attendance wise is losing its way.

Having been to Punt Rd for a few VFL games it has very little room between the ground fence and the road for a lot of the ground

Really good thread this and I really hope the Club / League is paying attention. I've mentioned it before, but I think all AFLW games (for Melbourne clubs) should be played at Vic Park, Ikon, Whitten Oval & Punt Rd. All AFL matches in Melbourne are played at 2 grounds, so there's a precedent. It really makes no sense. More fans can get to inner city grounds as there is public transport etc. The atmosphere at these grounds is great, really old-school community stuff, but without the old school racism or misogyny. Casey is nice enough but its bloody far for most people.

3 minutes ago, D Rev said:

Really good thread this and I really hope the Club / League is paying attention. I've mentioned it before, but I think all AFLW games (for Melbourne clubs) should be played at Vic Park, Ikon, Whitten Oval & Punt Rd. All AFL matches in Melbourne are played at 2 grounds, so there's a precedent. It really makes no sense. More fans can get to inner city grounds as there is public transport etc. The atmosphere at these grounds is great, really old-school community stuff, but without the old school racism or misogyny. Casey is nice enough but its bloody far for most people.

Would LOVE for this to be the case. Attendance figures would surely rise.

15 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Would LOVE for this to be the case. Attendance figures would surely rise.

Baffling that they do otherwise

Crowds at MFC W Games could be huge if they played home games in Melbourne. especially somewhere like Icon

We have a great fan base that would build

Thoroughly enjoyed going to Vic Park on the weekend - last time I was there for a game of footy, was absolutely terrified (mind you i was a young teenager in the 80s...)

Great venue and close our inner school east suburban roots. Its a long way to casey from Malvern...

Only negative was not enough food vendors. The couple of food trucks there had lines a mile long - props to the perogi man, his offsider caĺed in sick so was on his own, made an awesome Zapikankie!

If they could make use of the old vfl and vfa grounds as a regular option it would make it more special

Don't get me started on Casey. I head out to most of our games out there, always by public transport. 👿

One other venue possibly worth considering is Olympic Park Oval. As of now it has effectively zero seating or cover, but in the shadows of the 'G and right beside Gosch's Paddock it's a great location. The Pies usually only play a game or two there each season so finding spots in the fixture wouldn't be an issue. Just need the will to invest in some facilities - we apparently can do it for Caulfield. 🤔

29 minutes ago, D Rev said:

Yeh honestly I would not travel to Casey to watch the team.
Would go to Punt, Vic Park or Ikon though.

2 minutes ago, roy11 said:

Yeh honestly I would not travel to Casey to watch the team.
Would go to Punt, Vic Park or Ikon though.

You’re one of many who say this and it’s perfectly understandable. There are Demon Army members who don’t go because it’s so much of a hassle to get to. They’ll attend games at Ikon, no worries. They’ll help make the banner and they’re invested but it’s too difficult for them to get to Casey. It’s such a shame because IMHO our attendance figures would soar were we to play at venues closer to the city.

26 minutes ago, Craig T said:

One other venue possibly worth considering is Olympic Park Oval. As of now it has effectively zero seating or cover, but in the shadows of the 'G and right beside Gosch's Paddock it's a great location. The Pies usually only play a game or two there each season so finding spots in the fixture wouldn't be an issue. Just need the will to invest in some facilities - we apparently can do it for Caulfield. 🤔

The cost of getting any of these venues to the minimum standard is a drop in the ocean. Especially when the main need is extra seating.

8 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

You’re one of many who say this and it’s perfectly understandable. There are Demon Army members who don’t go because it’s so much of a hassle to get to. They’ll attend games at Ikon, no worries. They’ll help make the banner and they’re invested but it’s too difficult for them to get to Casey. It’s such a shame because IMHO our attendance figures would soar were we to play at venues closer to the city.

I do feel a little bad about it, as i try to live by the one club mentality (support all teams) as much as i can

Casey is no good. Too far out. It's the main reason i don't go to as many womens games

I hope when we get to an at-least-18-round (incl. Devils) season, and all games are being played at Princes P, Victoria P, Western O, etc., there's room for a 'Heritage Game' at Casey for us Southwest Gippslanders!🥹

Edited by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew

It would take me three hours by public transport to get to Casey from where I live. Then another three hours back.

I can get to a city venue in less than half that time.

1 hour ago, roy11 said:

I do feel a little bad about it, as i try to live by the one club mentality (support all teams) as much as i can

Don’t feel bad… it’s not your fault our W home games are played at Casey.

32 minutes ago, mauriesy said:

It would take me three hours by public transport to get to Casey from where I live. Then another three hours back.

I can get to a city venue in less than half that time.

I’m fortunate to have a couple of people who are happy to pick me up from Footscray station. They live in Altona and Hopper’s Crossing so it’s kinda on their way.

But neither of them attended the VFL game at Casey on Saturday so I PT’d it there and back. It took me just under four hours to get there (should’ve been 3hr20m but I stuffed up one of the train/bus connections) and over three hours to get home. This is ok for a one-off but it can’t be sustained. And if my regulars couldn’t pick me up from Footscray I’d attend very few W matches and there’s only 12 as it is.

The issue needs addressing.

I am a no go to Casey as well, but will go to any inner city venue, and like others enjoy the grass roots element of the AFLW.

Ima happy to go to any of the following venues before Casey Fields

Western Oval, Ikon Park, Arden St, Vic Park, The Lexus Centre, Coburg, Port Melbourne, South Melbourne, Junction Oval

Why ida even be prepared to go to Box Hill City Oval, Moorrabbin, Geelong. Why even Frankston for [censored] sake. Any the [censored] where before takin' that goddam trek out to Casey!

There was an article published about this situation a couple of months ago. I imagine over next few seasons the games will start get consolidated into the 3 venues that they see fit. I cant see the AFL forking out and building a new stadium or where they could even find the space to do that in the inner city so I suspect that Ikon will get a significant boost for some major redevolpments.

https://www.afl.com.au/aflw/news/1366728/afl-considering-new-boutique-stadium-in-melbourne-to-be-new-home-of-aflw-as-it-looks-to-consolidate-venues