View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Club has come a long way since the chief selection criteria for a coach was price point. Remember when we appointed Northey because he was the cheapest?

I am sure it's been mention here, but a wider change to coaching staff needs to be considered. Pretty happy with Chaplin, but I cannot for the life of me fathom how Stafford is still there...

8 minutes ago, Fritta and Turner said:

Club has come a long way since the chief selection criteria for a coach was price point. Remember when we appointed Northey because he was the cheapest?

I’d be happy with the cheapest option of @picket fence as coach if it stops wasting money on Buckley…

3 minutes ago, Eelesie said:

...but I cannot for the life of me fathom how Stafford is still there...

He left last year

2 minutes ago, Eelesie said:

but I cannot for the life of me fathom how Stafford is still there...

That’s news to Stafford who left last year

😂

44 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Was this written by a Carlton supporter?

12 hours ago, DeeZone said:

After watching him On The Couch with Gazza and Brownie I have warmed to him over the last year or so and been impressed by his confidence and footy intellect. Also as mentioned earlier he commands respect and could step in and fill the void at the club.

I think Buckley wants the job so he can get the hell away from Riewoldt - not sure about the other two.

40 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

I’d be happy with the cheapest option of @picket fence as coach if it stops wasting money on Buckley…

Thought it was a bit suss that he just happened to be OS at the same time as Smith…

51 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Jeez Caro just took a big whack at the club didn’t she?

Never mind that Bucks has already said that that coaching the club would be “compelling” because of our list, history etc

Tasmania will be a great gig for a coach who doesn’t mind developing a team over the course of many years, but if Bucks wants a chance of winning a flag in the medium term the choice between the two is clear

Edited by demoncat

Caro simply cannot help herself when there is a chance to stick the boots in.

2 minutes ago, Call Me What You Will said:

Caro simply cannot help herself when there is a chance to stick the boots in.

Yep. Would love to know what percentage of all the articles she has written about the Dees in her long journalistic career have been positive. I reckon less than 5%. Only going to get worse the older she gets

And wasn’t it great she got called out by Eddie for her incredibly irresponsible expose on the security guards for coaches on game day.

1 hour ago, Eelesie said:

I am sure it's been mention here, but a wider change to coaching staff needs to be considered. Pretty happy with Chaplin, but I cannot for the life of me fathom how Stafford is still there...

Gawn credits Stafford as his most impactful coach. Given Gawn’s status, maybe he’s better than we think here in Demonland?

Buck's wants a premiership, and whilst the Tassie gig has its own list of unique perks and positives, even he knows being head coach at a time where the Devils are ready to challenge is unlikely.

I mentioned it earlier in the year as countless others have. We've been in contact with him since the start of the season, a lot of prep has already gone into this. And letting go of Goodwin three weeks to go before the end of the season gives us the best chance of getting a settled coaching group together, RETAINING certain players and hitting the trade and draft period knowing exactly what we're going to do from a list strategy POV.

I think the second point has been missed a lot around here with those who think someone like Buckley is the wrong choice.

I bet my bottom dollar that part of why we're keen on Buckley is to retain Petracca as well as get a spike in performance from our senior core group who will be more inspired and motivated by an aura like Bucks. As well as the assistants that will be brought along.

Supporters forget how important this is.

It's happening, get on-board and leave your silly Melbourne-bias anti Collingwood nonsense behind. Buckley is the one.

7 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Longmire out 🤦

I doubt he was ever really in

1 minute ago, Howard_Grimes said:

Buck's wants a premiership, and whilst the Tassie gig has its own list of unique perks and positives, even he knows being head coach at a time where the Devils are ready to challenge is unlikely.

I mentioned it earlier in the year as countless others have. We've been in contact with him since the start of the season, a lot of prep has already gone into this. And letting go of Goodwin three weeks to go before the end of the season gives us the best chance of getting a settled coaching group together, RETAINING certain players and hitting the trade and draft period knowing exactly what we're going to do from a list strategy POV.

I think the second point has been missed a lot around here with those who think someone like Buckley is the wrong choice.

I bet my bottom dollar that part of why we're keen on Buckley is to retain Petracca as well as get a spike in performance from our senior core group who will be more inspired and motivated by an aura like Bucks. As well as the assistants that will be brought along.

It's happening, get on-board and leave your silly Melbourne-bias anti Collingwood nonsense behind. Buckley is the one.

It will be hard to drop that bias straight away but he will definitely increase our exposure

2 minutes ago, Howard_Grimes said:

Appreciate the info @Howard_Grimes

Your last point about bringing in quality assistant coaches is an underrated point in the discussion

Maybe there is an untried coach out there who has better tactical acumen then an experienced coach like Bucks, but one thing someone like Bucks will be able to do is bring in these types of coaches as assistants while also bringing his own leadership as senior coach

Not having quality assistants has been a significant issue for us since Yze departed - bringing in someone well respected in the industry and with strong football connections could be a “two birds with one stone” scenario

Longmire out of the race via Sam Edmund

My take on the next coach:

Short version:

Despite my misgivings about Buckley i think appointing him coach would be a good move and i'll fully back him in if they do.

Long version:

I'm ambivalent about Buckley. He was a famously defensive coach that, yes came close to a flag but was sacked on the back of a woeful season and his replacement turned much the same list into a competitive unit immediately.

And the knock on him as a coach was that he wasn't a great manager of people and had a propensity to judge others by the myopic, hyper driven standards he set for himself as a player.

Add to that I've never much liked him.

Against those misgivings i think the following counter arguments hold significant weight:

• Personally i think we need to go with an experienced coach like Buckley or Longmire that has gravitas and would not need to 'earn' the respect of players the way any new coach would

• I agree with Goodwin and Langdon that we're actually not far away from being a contender again, meaning we are not in full rebuild mode - a scenario that suits an experienced coach

• (on that point, the fact that Buckley is even interested suggests he also believes we are not far from being a contender - no chance he is up for years long rebuild like McQualter and Yze)

• An experienced candidate like Buckley or Longmire would also have the power, within limits, to call the shots on key hiring and firing decisions which will be important as we need a broom

• Buckley would demand veto on assistant coaches and no doubt create his own team of line coaches, something that i think is very much needed (ie new assistant coaches)

• I think some tough calls also need to me made about our high performance program - Bucks, who was ahead of his time on the fitness front, will have firm views in that space and I suspect would drive change

• It is reasonable to think Mcrae built on the foundation Buckley built - I think that's particularly true in regards to driving training standards

• They were clearly already a super fit team when Mcrae took over and their success under Mcrae's would simply not have been possible without that base given his method is so aerobically taxing

• Landing Buckley soon would go a long way to assuage my concerns the executive made an ill considered, vibe based decision to both sack goody and do so three games from the end of the season

• Many have noted Buckley has mellowed and he himself has acknowledged he has to chill a bit in terms of his interactions with players, particularly those that are perhaps less driven than he was as a player

• He was on a bit of a hiding to nothing at the Pies as the whole legend player becomes coach of their team narrative arc often has an unhappy ending (Voss being one such example)

• Buckley is unquestionably a good media operator and whilst it would be great if that wasn't such an important KPI for s senior coach the reality is it is - particularly for a club that has relied on the senior coach and captain to front the media for the last three years

So, all things considered I hope we land Buckley and I'll fully back him in if they do.

There would certainly be an irony in Buckley coming in and having immediate success with a team that had struggled in the previous two seasons.

By the by, in terms of choosing bucks, or indeed any coach, I'm of the view that whilst the coach is of course important the impact of an AFL coach is hugely over rated.

I'm more concerned the clubs sorts its governance and get the high performance stuff right.