38 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

Nate caddy type for sure. I’ll go back a long way and say a bloke we had around 87. Forgot first name , Dean.

Warren. No.23.

Despite a shocking hook foot when kicking for goal , was a a ripper. Played his first season largely on the wing before moving to CHF.

Blew out a knee and never played AFL again despite being speculatively drafted by WCE a year or two later

5 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

Warren. No.23.

Despite a shocking hook foot when kicking for goal , was a a ripper. Played his first season largely on the wing before moving to CHF.

Blew out a knee and never played AFL again despite being speculatively drafted by WCE a year or two later

Thanks Biff

Part of our best interstate raid ever. Spalding and Viney

5 hours ago, The Cult of Disco Turner said:

Pies supporters on both sides of me in the office today.

It is taking all my strength not to lose my temper.

Pray for me.

Nar mate don't hold it in, you'll do a poofle valve. Just go and snot the first smarrtaarss in the kisser, you might get the sack but with mitigating circumstances and bullying and harrasement laws you might get a payout! Plus it will make you feel better😇

I have read a lot off comments in regards to JVR and Petty forward craft, I agree that Petty needs to be more stronger/physical in contest, gets out marked to often by smaller opponents.

But i am not sure how good there forward craft can be when majority of our midfielders and ruckman are long dump kicks, seems that we still haven't fixed this problem over last 4 years.

How can you lead with any confidence when you don't know where the ball is going and it never seems to be on the advantage side of our forwards ?

14 hours ago, praha said:

Under Goodwin we are either miles ahead it or miles off it. No in between. We have struggled in close games the past decade. This game seemed to have shades of the 2023 finals series.

And did Jordan answer the obvious reason why there is a build up to non composure. It's not just two balmy decisions in the heat. It's crucial, terribly costly abhorrent mistakes, deliberately by poor umpires.

Every week key players are baffled by ordinary incorrect decisions. Whether it be the inconsistency of key players pushing in the back, by the strength of the push, or key players going down after a touch amongst several touches.

21 hours ago, Coobs said:

4th time in 6 years we've lost on this public holiday having dominated general play

Can’t agree we dominated play . I saw a stat which indicated it was in Pies hands over 60 percent of time .

Much understandable concern about our long kicks into attack for no result. But who, amongst the major forwards, provided any leads? Did anyone see JVR lead once ? What on earth has happened to him ?

1 hour ago, Dees1911 said:

I have read a lot off comments in regards to JVR and Petty forward craft, I agree that Petty needs to be more stronger/physical in contest, gets out marked to often by smaller opponents.

But i am not sure how good there forward craft can be when majority of our midfielders and ruckman are long dump kicks, seems that we still haven't fixed this problem over last 4 years.

How can you lead with any confidence when you don't know where the ball is going and it never seems to be on the advantage side of our forwards ?

Petty is useless, he cannot be persisted with up forward. Has the tools but not the application. Shift him back to defense or trade him out, I'm so sick of seeing his weak efforts result in an opposition mark in our forward line.

3 hours ago, old dee said:

Why was he an emergency yesterday? He played in neither game at the weekend and there is a bye for the seniors. So back to Casey this weekend. I would rather him play yesterday Instead of JVR. Petty could have filled in the ruck role. It is hard to see Jefferson giving us less than JVR yesterday. Of course we will never know. But give the guy a game for God's sake. What's to be lost we are no longer playing for a finals spot.

We were a goal away from being right in finals contention having beaten the top 2. It’s far too early to make selection calls on next year.

Jeffo was likely covering someone sore like Melk.

He’s had 5 and 4 touches, he can easily be worse than JVR, still 11 games to go, there’s heaps of time for him to get some experience

49 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Petty is useless, he cannot be persisted with up forward. Has the tools but not the application. Shift him back to defense or trade him out, I'm so sick of seeing his weak efforts result in an opposition mark in our forward line.

Yeah agree

He's shocking, and has a manner that seems to not G A F, loaping around like he's cooked even in the pre-game

We were robbed!! Have ever this game showed our skill, determination and desire to win against our arch nemesis. Go dees!!!

Really disappointed today

We had a massive crack and almost knocked off a nearly full strength flag favourite

Some poor finishing, and a few bad brain fades, cost us 3-4 goals and thus the game...

Positive note, there's some upside in this group. Can we catch up the 3 games (inc %) needed to make finals?

It was a different type of game than I was expecting, for a start there were a number of smart moves made to limit their transition game and our defensive game was excellent. We won the contested and clearance game whilst limiting their most dangerous forwards. They still spread at will and racked up numerous marks and possessions but they weren’t cutting us up and scoring heavily from our backline. We matched them around the ground. True they were more efficient going forward than us but they were assisted on a number of occasions by the umpiring fraternity with some technical fouls that were only paid their way. Our backline lead by May and Lever were brilliant, our mids were strong and hard at it, our forwards had the opportunity to win it, despite their favoured treatment and we failed by one miserable point.

We watched the game at my daughters house the nine of us and it was so noisy, happy, angry and then a little shattering as we silently watched them celebrate the win. Still we all finally agreed that the day really was more than football, it was about Neale, MND the Big Freeze, the occasion but Jeez we should have won that.👍🥲🙏❤️💙

Lindsay fine for a tackle that slipped down and a massive Dobby Hill dive is the icing on the officiating [censored] Storm. Nonsense

12 minutes ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Really disappointed today

We had a massive crack and almost knocked off a nearly full strength flag favourite

Some poor finishing, and a few bad brain fades, cost us 3-4 goals and thus the game...

Positive note, there's some upside in this group. Can we catch up the 3 games (inc %) needed to make finals?

What if speculation is a black hole. You can never tell whether those 3-4 missed goals really cost the game. For example if we got that much ahead, C'wood may have realised they were in trouble and reacted to our detriment. Whereas being up at 3/4 time may have made them over-confident and we suprised them. Of course, I'd rather have got those 3-4 goals!

34 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

We were a goal away from being right in finals contention having beaten the top 2. It’s far too early to make selection calls on next year.

He’s had 5 and 4 touches, he can easily be worse than JVR, still 11 games to go, there’s heaps of time for him to get some experience

Take Away JVR's touches in the ruck and there very little left of his ingl

38 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

JVR is a kpf of very average ability I hope to god we don't play against Port

3 hours ago, beelzebub said:

If that's his only purpose then reason suggests the rest of his time on the ground is a waste.

If he's a fwd pinch hitting as a ruck... he's a bust.

That's the definition of a list clogger surely.

That's a very harsh assessment of a 22 year old who's played some ripping senior football. I was commentating on why he was selected ahead of Jefferson. The difference is JVR is potentially a far better player and can ruck so gets the nod. If AJ hadn't of been suspended I'd guess they both would have played at Casey.

3 hours ago, Go the Biff said:

Warren. No.23.

loved The Wasp! These days he'd have had the op and been playing 12 months later.

2 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

And did Jordan answer the obvious reason why there is a build up to non composure. It's not just two balmy decisions in the heat. It's crucial, terribly costly abhorrent mistakes, deliberately by poor umpires.

Every week key players are baffled by ordinary incorrect decisions. Whether it be the inconsistency of key players pushing in the back, by the strength of the push, or key players going down after a touch amongst several touches.

And just when you'd excuse a dump kick to the top of the square!!

6 hours ago, Fat Tony said:

Great effort yesterday. We just made a few crucial errors and e need to improve our accuracy.

The Pies have only lost two games on expected score this year and we 'won' by 9. (I know we hate this stat.)

Our best players are all in good form (Gawn, Petracca, Picket, Oliver and May) and our youth is quality. Fristch coming back into form has been important.

I think we can still make a run at it but there is obviously not much margin for error.

I agree. I think we can still make finals. It might just be you and I that think though, mate.

22 hours ago, Superunknown said:

I’m dropping fritsch for not passing to the unmarked sparrow

Unforgivable

The hate for the daicii is misplaced

They’re both amazing and I’d have them both

Too much sooking about umpiring and oppo players when the ire should be directed at our decision making, lack of composure and our merde goal kicking

Were disgustingly wasteful

It’s a long list and I like how the media is calling us out

Calling them the Daicii is high end hilarious 👏

33 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I agree. I think we can still make finals. It might just be you and I that think though, mate.

You've got me for a couple more weeks.

8 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

You've got me for a couple more weeks.

We have a few seats up the front here. A few more jumped off yesterday.

In the last month, we've played the last 3 grand finalists and are 2-1. And that 1 was a single point defeat.

We're not dead yet.

3 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

We have a few seats up the front here. A few more jumped off yesterday.

In the last month, we've played the last 3 grand finalists and are 2-1. And that 1 was a single point defeat.

We're not dead yet.

I like it up the front, you can see the cliff coming.

45 minutes ago, Clayton van Oliver said:

Calling them the Daicii is high end hilarious 👏

Ta. Came to me in the den as I was on my second Balvenie 12YO (weekend quaffer) after packing the rangie for Buller.

But seriously, you can’t call them the Daicoses. So lower class.

I think they’re both great players, irrespective of the favourable treatment they might get