1 minute ago, Beetle said:

What I’m reading is that you were single handedly responsible for Max missing that goal.

We all know Max doesn’t need help missing a goal 🤭

Besides, you try flogging so much that your arms are ready to fall off, then get back to me. My biceps were issuing death threats throughout that match and this morning I realise they meant business. I can hardly raise my arms. 16 goals, that’s a lot of flogging, not to mention every time oppo lined up for goal up our end.

3 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Besides, you try flogging so much that your arms are ready to fall off, then get back to me.

Trust me…i’m a veteran.

A lot to like about yesterday’s game.

1/ Less uncontested possession for our opposition. You can’t score if you don’t have the ball and we have been far too easy to score against for too long. Really pleased that this was addressed.

2/ Forward half pressure. Tackles up giving our opponents no time on the ball forcing the turnovers down our end.

3/ Great use of role players. Viney outstanding on Serong but also hurt them going the other way. Our good ball users worked hard to get the ball and we looked to them to get the ball in their hands. Bowey masterclass. More of this please . We have drafted hard to get some better ball Users in the team. We need to use them to hit that last kick into the forward line.

4/ Speed of ball movement going forward and lowering of the eyes. Smart ball use going forward to our advantage unsurprisingly allowed us to score freely.

5/ Played with a real attacking mindset, Kozzie given a licence to play with flair. Was great to watch and you could see that the players enjoyed themselves out there. It was infectious and everyone fed off that, the team and the crowd. The result took care of itself.

A great collective effort so well done to all, match committee, coaching staff, players and the crowd yesterday. We need to enjoy it but switch on quickly and go again and again.

I’ve seen Freo a couple of times this year at Optus, and one thing stood out for me - they really missed Luke Jackson yesterday. And yes, I know we were missing players too, but he’s such a versatile weapon for them.

Love to have him back

4 hours ago, Kent said:

So why did it take till round 6 to bring the required effort/ pressure

Its hard to understand

I said a few times yesterday that after putting pressure on the agenda mid-week, our test was delivering on it, first early and then for all four quarters.

Now the test is doing it weekly. Not once a month.

We’re not the only side who has seemed to need a reason/focus point to fire up - look at Port vs Hawthorn as compared to the rest of their season. But that’s no excuse - Collingwood, Geelong etc bring the required standard almost every week, if they can then we can.

Well that was a fun game to watch twice.

Interesting watching the replay and Jay Clark at the start of the game mentioned that Dees would want either Treacy, Jackson or Amiss (in that order) for a potential trade for Kozzie.

I just hope we keep him. He's so important to us and if our game style continues its evolution towards a more attacking game then he's really going to flourish as well.

1 minute ago, titan_uranus said:

I said a few times yesterday that after putting pressure on the agenda mid-week, our test was delivering on it, first early and then for all four quarters.

We’re not the only side who has seemed to need a reason/focus point to fire up - look at Port vs Hawthorn as compared to the rest of their season. But that’s no excuse - Collingwood, Geelong etc bring the required standard almost every week, if they can then we can.

The other aspect was we still had a fair bit of energy in the last quarter even though we went into a slight-lockdown mode (the better teams often do that as well)

So I'm wondering if this new style that we saw is less taxing on the legs? (or the opposite)

It's a genuine question because I don't know. We haven't played this style before as our previous game plan involved a lot of long kicks (for territory)

I wasn’t going to read through this topic to see if it’s been asked already, but what is the “shadow puppet duck” hand signal that Petty gave after each of his goals, and as the players got around him to celebrate, what did the two handed shove in the chest signify?

Edited by hardtack

56 minutes ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

A lot to like about yesterday’s game.

1/ Less uncontested possession for our opposition. You can’t score if you don’t have the ball and we have been far too easy to score against for too long. Really pleased that this was addressed.

2/ Forward half pressure. Tackles up giving our opponents no time on the ball forcing the turnovers down our end.

3/ Great use of role players. Viney outstanding on Serong but also hurt them going the other way. Our good ball users worked hard to get the ball and we looked to them to get the ball in their hands. Bowey masterclass. More of this please . We have drafted hard to get some better ball Users in the team. We need to use them to hit that last kick into the forward line.

4/ Speed of ball movement going forward and lowering of the eyes. Smart ball use going forward to our advantage unsurprisingly allowed us to score freely.

5/ Played with a real attacking mindset, Kozzie given a licence to play with flair. Was great to watch and you could see that the players enjoyed themselves out there. It was infectious and everyone fed off that, the team and the crowd. The result took care of itself.

A great collective effort so well done to all, match committee, coaching staff, players and the crowd yesterday. We need to enjoy it but switch on quickly and go again and again.

Re item 2 the worst affenders were at Casey yesterday that helped.

2 minutes ago, hardtack said:

I wasn’t going to read through this topic to see if it’s been asked already, but what is the “shadow puppet duck) hand signal that Petty gave after each of his goals, and as the players got around him to celebrate, what did the two handed shove in the chest signify?

Good question I was wondering as well.

Great to see Viney and Gawn return to form.

Petty showed he’s a better forward than defender. He’s a great mark and a touch slow to be a great defender. That kick from 55m was spectacular. It’s amazing what a difference a full preseason can have.

Bowey was excellent and Kossie was brilliant.

Oliver still makes too many errors.

I didn’t like the coaching to have Langford on the wing but he played a solid game. The ability to kick 55m on the left is a real weapon.

Fullerton was just ordinary.

27 minutes ago, hardtack said:

I wasn’t going to read through this topic to see if it’s been asked already, but what is the “shadow puppet duck” hand signal that Petty gave after each of his goals, and as the players got around him to celebrate, what did the two handed shove in the chest signify?

Golden State Warriors Sport GIF by NBA

Watching the replay now. Petty hobbling and wincing on a number of different occasions.

Anything in it?

1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

Collingwood and Geelong are the oldest lists in the league. Consistency is to be expected.

6 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

Watching the replay now. Petty hobbling and wincing on a number of different occasions.

Anything in it?

He always does that. Hams it up - has a rep for it. Players have spoken about it in the past.

Re. JVR - what people are missing is he often looked his best as 2nd banana with petty or brown or another taking kpd #1. He's not at the level to take the best defender - doesn't have the skills or the strength yet. He will look more like the JVR we know as a 2nd forward and will at some point come back into the team in this capacity.

1 minute ago, Adam The God said:

Collingwood and Geelong are the oldest lists in the league. Consistency is to be expected.

And with experience comes the ability for experienced players to position themselves in the right spots with the new, league-wide game plan that we're witnessing

Where as we are in the process of adopting that same new game style with a number of youngsters that are learning on-the-job

So we're going to have our ups and downs on the road ahead

A realistic prediction would be about 9 more wins which means we'd have to go 9 & 8 for the rest of the season. I'd cop that

The optimistic in me reckons we can win any game ahead of us

44 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

Petty showed he’s a better forward than defender. He’s a great mark and a touch slow to be a great defender. That kick from 55m was spectacular. It’s amazing what a difference a full preseason can have.

I didn’t like the coaching to have Langford on the wing but he played a solid game. The ability to kick 55m on the left is a real weapon.

I thought Fullerton was ok. He contributed to a goal in the second quarter with a great weighted kick into the forward line. Also played better than others in the ruck this year. He didn't play much in the forward line. I would rather him than Fritz, JVR and Jefferson next week. If you are those three and struggle at Casey you are giving zero to a senior team. The only alternative is Kentland and from what I hear from yesterday's game He played ok at CHB for a forward/ ruck playing in the back half. He was there of course so the 3 rejects could play forward. IMO he is the best alternative to play seniors. He can take a congested mark, help out in the ruck and is not frightened of the rough stuff. It's very early of course and very little pre season is not helping him at present. I look forward to how he is playing in July.

14 minutes ago, Macca said:

And with experience comes the ability for experienced players to position themselves in the right spots with the new, league-wide game plan that we're witnessing

Where as we are in the process of adopting that same new game style with a number of youngsters that are learning on-the-job

So we're going to have our ups and downs on the road ahead

A realistic prediction would be about 9 more wins which means we'd have to go 9 & 8 for the rest of the season. I'd cop that

The optimistic in me reckons we can win any game ahead of us

I don't think that is overly optimistic Macca. Sadly we won't best the pies they play with 19 men. You cannot touch the pies favourite son.

Re: Shai Bolton flying for a speccy and hitting Disco Turner flush in the back of his head with his knee (I’d contend a missile)

Whilst many accept he shouldn’t get time off for this, and protecting the speccy is high on the AFL agenda, doesn’t Bolton have a duty of care as a player who can elevate himself to head height without having to ride up the opponents back?

I’m of the view the AFL are heavily blinkered when it comes to concussion and it [censored] me that they bandy around duty of care at the tribunal when it suits them.

5 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

Re: Shai Bolton flying for a speccy and hitting Disco Turner flush in the back of his head with his knee (I’d contend a missile)

Whilst many accept he shouldn’t get time off for this, and protecting the speccy is high on the AFL agenda, doesn’t Bolton have a duty of care as a player who can elevate himself to head height without having to ride up the opponents back?

I’m of the view the AFL are heavily blinkered when it comes to concussion and it [censored] me that they bandy around duty of care at the tribunal when it suits them.

I agree, the whole "protect the head" should be the highest order, no exceptions, that is ridiculous that a speccy knee to the head is okay just because its a part of footy. Don't pick and choose you mugs!

Fullarton seemed to help just a shame he missed that kick. If the others don't light it up at VFL level there is no way they should get a look in at AFL level until they do.

Petty as forward and Disco as defender I thought was great, Disco has the speed we need back there and still a great mark. I hope he stays there, shame he's probably out for another week because we looked way better back there with him I thought.

Love the team though, the kids, the vets, yesterday was heaps of fun and I hope we play like that more often. Would like to see a Jeffo with Petty up there at some point, hope he can get up and make his case for it at VFL level, reckon that might be a good mix.

6 minutes ago, old dee said:

I don't think that is overly optimistic Macca. Sadly we won't best the pies they play with 19 men. You cannot touch the pies favourite son.

Yes, the Pies will be tough old dee, and we've got them twice ... 1 & 1 would be a decent outcome

We've also got 5 games at and against teams outside of Victoria ... 2 & 3?

But any game is tough especially if you don't come to play

But at least we now know that we are going to stick with the new game plan ... but up's and down's can be expected

We might find ourselves winning games against good opposition and occasionally dropping games against the lesser lights. Starting the season 0 & 5 puts us behind the 8 ball

But if we bring our best we should at least win the next 2 and reset at 3 & 5

Just speculating

1 hour ago, Fat Tony said:

I felt like Oliver played a more team-oriented role at stoppage. Just felt like his positioning was set up to maximise the team’s chance and not his own. His pressure stats were up too. But his disposal wasn’t amazing and needs to improve.

I also thought Fullarton was ordinary, but he deserves a run at it.

15 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

Yes the pies thug gets nothing to answer and Kossie 3 weeks.

One of the highlights for me yesterday was in the last quarter. Bolton takes a mark well out from Goal, I suspect too far for him. Tries to run around the player on the mark mucks it up and they lose the ball. I think it was when they were only one goal behind. If he kicks to the square they have some tall forwards and smaller players at ground level. The Freo around me were as quiet as a church.

Re: the conversation about what changed this week—I feel like it wasn’t so much that our players intentionally weren’t putting in the effort or weren’t buying in to Goody’s plan in the previous games, it’s that they were confused by the gameplan and became more and more demoralised as it continued to not work.

5 weeks of reviewing their failures and mistakes is what has led to so many finally getting it.

In other words, they had the same growing pains other clubs do when they implement something new—as others here had predicted using the Hawthorn and Brisbane examples.

The talk of Goody “losing” the players was rubbish.