2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Sack Goodwin. 

I tolerated last year but today has done it for me.. officially off him now.

Since 2021 we've gotten worse as each year goes by. The lovey dovey fake persona this off season was just a cover up for the rot that still exist within the footy club.

If Goodwin is to be replaced, now is the time to do it. Not after the season’s finished, not mid year, do it now. After just 2 games, this season is still salvageable. 
I just can’t see what Goodwin can do or say to turn things around after today’s horror show.

A fresh voice/approach might just be the impetus the players need  turn their form around.

The alternative of keeping Goodwin in place and then things not improving on todays outcome would likely result in MFC finishing bottom 3 with a real chance for the wooden spoon.

Trying to recover from that scenario  next year (and beyond) would be near on impossible for a new coach and definitely impossible  for Goodwin should he somehow remain coach  next year.

11 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

If this guys on Demonland do yourself a favour and take up lawn bowls. Max Gawn has been a champion and will be forever grateful for the flag he landed.

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DHiK2EBvHf2/?igsh=Y2s0NzJ4MWFkbHo0

What an f-stick. I get it. We lost. Badly. Hopes for the season getting shaken, etc. But why berate the players like some dead-set Bombers or Richmond nuffy?

2 hours ago, Deebaser said:

Poor form by Goodwin, just say Gawn had an off day. All this does is create gossip.

Goodwin is the master of saying 100 words when 1 would do, and brushing off tough questions with 1 word answers.

27 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

If this guys on Demonland do yourself a favour and take up lawn bowls. Max Gawn has been a champion and will be forever grateful for the flag he landed.

Firstly it ain’t me. But what do you expect? “Well done lads good effort”?  I’m sorry they need to hear it. It was an embarrassing outing today. 
It’s the Melbourne of old. I now ask myself which Melbourne is going to turn up? I seriously thought we were done with that. F Me it’s depressing to be back here again. I don’t expect to win every game, but you have to try and do something. 

You can tell within the first 5 mins whether we are there to play or not. Last week they decided to rock up and put in a fair effort. I was devastated for the loss but was happy with the effort. You’d expect this from a young side. We had 11-12 premiership players on the field this arvo . It was unacceptable. 

The Roos were made to look top notch. They were good but not great. Bring the heat and we melt. Simple formula , works every time. 

Edited by GS_1905

23 minutes ago, fr_ap said:

By the way - I am rapidly losing all faith in Lever. 

He is a poor 1v1 defender, a poor kick, average decision maker and often found out at ground level. 

You can't play an intercepter these days that offers nothing going forward. He's a big part of our problems in d50 - we are beyond pathetic when the ball hits the deck. He can't move, Tom Mac can't move, Petty is too big, Salem is old and today Rivers was a total headless chook. Bowey is the only small ground level running player down there and he has clear deficiencies defensively. 

Mcvee covers a lot of errors. As Hibberd did before him, and Jetta before him. We clearly lack that player when he isn't there (Alarming)

There was a point in the last when Lever was caught upfield and was genuinely more interested in telling off Howes' positioning than be was getting back and defending his man. He was literally gesticulating towards Howes whilst the north guy was kicking the ball over his head. He ended up giving the free kick away as he couldn't turn to look at the ball, as he totally lacks athleticism. Just the wrong type of leadership. And a pretty average player to boot. 

I felt like losing Andy Moniz Wakefield was actually actually a big loss for us this year.

He was going to another ground ball player down back that could not only provide some toughness but also lock down on the best medium to small forward and beat them well.

3 hours ago, Superunknown said:

Load of…

13 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Bottom line is Goodwin cannot get the Forward line functioning. 
If the players cannot put a plan into action, then that still comes back to the Coach 

9 Goals in a Covered Roof Stadium is [censored]

Meanwhile North went Rampant 

Goodwin has to be put under serious pressure. I don’t care if it’s Round 2, that looked like a player revolt. Nobody was interested…

3 years our Forward line has not functioned properly 

The player revolt happened last year (Freo in NT)

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I felt like losing Andy Moniz Wakefield was actually actually a big loss for us this year.

He was going to another ground ball player down back that could not only provide some toughness but also lock down on the best medium to small forward and beat them well.

McVee and Windsor are the two we need. AMW handy depth to have had though.

5 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Once the ball hit the deck in our backline we got carved up. Salem is done, Bowey is OK but we desperately miss McVee/Windsor/AMW. Howes is bad and Lever, Petty,TMac are all one dimensional.

2 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Yeah and now poor Max has to deal with speculation.  Now slime bag morris & McClure will do some digging 

I think Max might fit into that small box of "blokes the media loves and will deflect negative attention away from", thankfully. But that's just dumb luck for a coach selling out the guy who has essentially carried his team for years. Max will surely be furious.

If our prestigious leader wasn’t himself in one game because his mum is unwell then who the [censored] are we/ media / anyone to judge. 
Privacy and respect. More than the game. Love you max.

3 hours ago, BAMF said:

Want to be positive but it was pretty disgusting. 

Langdon isn't an inside midfielder.

Rivers really struggling there too with the extra opposition pressure. 

Trac didn't look right. He didn't want to be out there today even during warm ups.

Forward line terrible and need to start leading to the ball carrier. The ball carrier needs to honour the lead to start encouraging it more often. This is the most frustrating thing we supporters have had to watch for 3 years now and it's difficult not to get annoyed at the coaching team. STOP BOMBING IT IN!

Every time I see Woewodin in the team I know we are going to struggle. Howes has joined him. Depth still an issue.

Have to agree here. I don't see either of these two being ready for Senior footy. Prepared to give Howes some time but if these 2 are best 22 we are in some strife .

Sadly though there were worse performances than both these boys today.

We waved a white flag today. Unacceptable across the board bar Chin and Clarry.

1 minute ago, Dannyz said:

If our prestigious leader wasn’t himself in one game because his mum is unwell then who the [censored] are we/ media / anyone to judge. 

And here comes the speculation, or do you know something? All of this invited by our coach looking to make excuses for his own inadequacies.

1 minute ago, Hellaintabadplacetobe said:

Have to agree here. I don't see either of these two being ready for Senior footy. Prepared to give Howes some time but if these 2 are best 22 we are in some strife .

Sadly though there were worse performances than both these boys today.

We waved a white flag today. Unacceptable across the board bar Chin and Clarry.

Howes, Woewodin, Henderson, Sharp - you can carry one or two but not four.

2 hours ago, Stiff Arm said:

I certainly think his days are numbered. If he isnt replaced during the season, he should be at the end of the year. IMO he's gone as far as he can with this group

Happy to be proven wrong in 10 weeks, can't see it happening.

One flag from such an amazing list is underwhelming 

Replacing him mid year with a coach who will play simply and to the team's strengths would create a lot of optimism. We just hung on to three of our best players last season, and a year like this one threatens to be will surely see them all go

34 minutes ago, Deesprate said:

That is disgusting. We are all disappointed.

Maybe the 'Demon supporters are pathetic' thread was correct after all.

Anyone know who this guy is?

3 minutes ago, Dannyz said:

If it affects you to much you don’t play simple, remember Brent Moloney did that against Geelong and got criticized for being selfish for playing the game.

How many times did players get run down thinking they had an extra couple of steps? Where was the urgency and the talk from teammates?

It can turn around quickly!

In round 1 PA lost by 91, in round 2 they won by 72

In round 1 Geelong won by 78, in round 2 they lost by 7 to St Kilda (who lost by 63 in round 1)

In round 1 WC lost by 87, in round 2 they lost by three goals to the Premiers away from home!

15 minutes ago, Pirlo said:

And here comes the speculation, or do you know something? All of this invited by our coach looking to make excuses for his own inadequacies.

Confirmed just now on First Crack that he has a family member unwell