On 21/03/2025 at 09:37, Maldonboy38 said:

Good to see Harmes playing well and enjoying footy. It was the right thing to let him look elsewhere but I still miss his energy. Also good to see Maynard copping it.

I reckon when we were at our peak he was a key part of our handball chains through the midfield and wings that ripped the game open offensively. But he dropped off and had to go unfortunately.

James Brayshaw blames the kicker for poor delivery when the target lost front position and played from behind!!

Brayshaw has no idea.  Did he ever play footy? 

Just heard Bailey Smith late out for the cats tomorrow - calf injury for all you supercoach peeps (can't see a reason to change a tip against the Aints though)

On 21/03/2025 at 09:44, dees189227 said:

How is he going after Sam Darcy when he can. 

How about he focuses on driving a car properly 

those in the collingwood and surrounding areas get their license from cereal boxes

I think it's probably a good thing for the Doggies to play a few games without having to rely on Bontempelli to carry them on his back.

On 21/03/2025 at 09:35, Macca said:

I'd only pay blatant high contact ... otherwise play on for incidental contact

But I'd retrospectivilly rub players out for flopping

Which means that Joel Selwood would have barely played a game (haha)

Selwood received about 500 soft, high contact free kicks.  Flopped for his whole career and cheated the game

Mate I’ve always said that if pushing in the back had been applied properly, Hawkins would have 100-200 goals less. Defenders don’t lurch forwards at the last second if you’re just holding their body weight and not pushing. Drove me nuts.

Horrible kicking for goal by the Pies again 

You can’t play Port every week

On 21/03/2025 at 09:51, BoBo said:

Mate I’ve always said that if pushing in the back had been applied properly, Hawkins would have 100-200 goals less. Defenders don’t lurch forwards at the last second if you’re just holding their body weight and not pushing. Drove me nuts.

Yep, that's a good point too, BoBo

I loved the hands in the back rule and it should still be in operation.  I like it mostly because it's a cut and dried rule. 

Use your hands and you get pinged

Use of the body or the forearm to hold your ground was how it used to be (back in my day)

But you are right, Hawkins just pushed his opponents in the back and because of the shoddy rules, got away with it

The AFL are great at making money and marketing the sport but as custodians, they often fail

Add a couple more preseasons, strength training and experience to Darcy’s game and he’s gonna be nuts. Natural footy instincts on top of athleticism on top of 206cmish frame on top of being very skilled for his size. 

On 21/03/2025 at 09:57, BoBo said:

Add a couple more preseasons, strength training and experience to Darcy’s game and he’s gonna be nuts. Natural footy instincts on top of athleticism on top of 206cmish frame on top of being very skilled for his size. 

Got a bit of mongrel too.  Cleaned up Maynard last year

(Can he do it again?  Tonight?)

My weekly pet peev, the lack of advantage rule

Free kick to Daicos so the bloke lets him go out of the tackle. Daicos then takes off and takes the advantage

That is not how an advantage rule works!!! Dogs played the whistle and let him go 

[censored] me

On 21/03/2025 at 09:50, Dingo said:

This is a crappy game. 
So many packs.

No free flow footy.

Thoughts?

I think it’s a fantastic game… possibly the best that I’ve watched so far this year. Some great handling skills on display and great pressure acts.

On 21/03/2025 at 10:02, hardtack said:

I think it’s a fantastic game… possibly the best that I’ve watched so far this year. Some great handling skills on display and great pressure acts.

There you go-we agree to disagree

On 21/03/2025 at 10:02, hardtack said:

fun game to watch but Darcy aside, skills have been average

On 21/03/2025 at 09:50, Dingo said:

This is a crappy game. 
So many packs.

No free flow footy.

Thoughts?

Agreed, not the greatest in terms of transition, free flowing footy or great goals but very even, competitive and close on the score board. Like you, so tired of the constant packs around the play but that is modern footy.

After the dogs getting the early run with free kicks

The Pies have 15-5 since then