9 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

What do you want us to say FFS we’re are 14th because we haven’t won enough games, that’s a fact.

To you and your ilk everything needs to be black and white, anything in the grey requires greater thought.

We kicked poorly against GWS, Collingwood and Hawthorn in games we played well there’s 3 more wins, we played [censored] against Saints and had we kicked straight win that.

However all that does is paper over some cracks. I’m actually done trying to explain the changes to people like you

It’s a waste of time, you either can’t or refuse to see the changes in how we’re trying to pla. All you do is continually bag our players particularly the younger ones.

As I said stop following or stay miserable I’m done with you

You keep ignoring one simple fact which in the end is all that matters we didn’t win. After 2 years of the same thing I think we have a problem pattern.

2 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

… and Luker, don’t forget Luker!

Well, I have time for Adams as well. And I left put Howes, who I think will be a handy player, but I was more wanting to illustrate that every player I mentioned had shown something at AFL level.

19 hours ago, Adam The God said:

It's quite well known that the more games you get into youngsters, the more they'll be able to impose themselves on games.

When McVee, Langford, Lindsay start to impact games and stay in contests for longer, run harder, concentrate for longer, as we've seen with Kozzy, they have the potential to change the way we play.

We have been on a list shift since the end of 2023. We're resetting on the run and it's making for some ugly results and a very poor ladder position.

We need some aggressive trading and list management this year (again), and we'll start to see more improvement. But to imply we've got little emerging talent is nonsense.

In the interview Brad Green gave, he intimated we had a good senior group of players ..an up & coming very good group of younger players but maybe we were missing the 26 yr plus players. This is the age group that the Pies have topped up with …

11 minutes ago, Deestar9 said:

In the interview Brad Green gave, he intimated we had a good senior group of players ..an up & coming very good group of younger players but maybe we were missing the 26 yr plus players. This is the age group that the Pies have topped up with …

Geelong are the same. Funny enough the one top 10 pick they've had recently looks to be a potential bust in Jhye Clark. But they've obviously done amazingly well with Holmes, Sullivan and Humphries recently and Miers and De Koning before them.

They obviously also do well bringing in ready to go players regularly to top up.

This is what we need to do this year and next. We need more players in the 24-28 bracket to immediately improve our best 22 and also improve our depth.

Edited by DistrACTION Jackson

2 hours ago, layzie said:

I think our youngster crop is very impressive but I wouldn't be parading it around as one of the best or using it as the ultimate selling point to snare big name players.

The fact is that every team has a few good youngsters. I could pick any list in the comp and make a narrative for some of their youngsters being good.

I think in Langford, Linsday, Windsor, McVee we are well on the way to forming the nucleus of our next premiership challenging side, however we still need to add to these stocks.

55 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Spot on.

In footy discussions everywhere, supporters are assuring themselves that their kids are particularly good.

I reckon North fans would be saying, we're starting to put together a list of under 24s that complement each other really well: Sheezel the class, McKercher the speed, Wardlaw the grunt, Curtis the forward line brilliance, Comben the aerial strength in the backline - all capable of making a difference with Xerri and LDU still at their best.

Richmond fans would be saying we went all in on what we thought was a super draft - and all indications point to it being just that.

Brisbane fans would be saying we just won a flag and have three gun father-suns and a gem of a tall(ish) forward under 22.

And we're right to be hopeful about our lot. The idea that we have no or very few good young players is just wrong.

But exceptional relative to everyone else? I'm not so sure.

Agree with both of you. We have a good crop of young talent but so do other clubs. We need to add more young talent both in terms of high end talent and role players.

As much as I’d love to win another flag with Max I think we need to recruit players via trades and the draft that will be around when this crop peaks in 4-6 years.

We aren’t in the position where we need a cherry on the top and can sell the farm to get it.

5 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

What if the club put Petracca , Oliver, Lever and May on the market.

then i expect they would be disappointed at the interest levels in taking them off our hands with their full contract - it'd be second round picks for the last three, and maybe the filth would offer a future first for trac

they're worth more to us in our best side than in a trade

2 hours ago, Roost it far said:

I think rather than putting certain players on the market we should put it out there that we are going to be aggressive in reshaping our list and are open to all offers that we think will make sense for the club. Make us an offer.

We need to learn from last year that shopping a player or a few players around isn’t great if it doesn’t come off, so we are open to offers on all and see if we get any bites.

14 hours ago, old dee said:

So why are we 14th? In a similar position to last year. For God's sake Nth are only half a game behind us. Remember North they beat us by 9 goals. I will ask again why are we so poor?

Because we haven't converted our opportunities, which has probably cost us 5 games.

If we converted at league average, we would be at the other end of the ladder.

That is our problem, nailing our chances and as part of it, fixing our F50 entry.

4 hours ago, Deestar9 said:

I think you could make the argument that this actually goes back to the 2007-2011 list management decisions that left a gap in Max and TMac age demo, which meant instead of having those guys, we had to spend picks on acquiring the Mays, Melkshams, Hibberds.

So we're still playing catch up with the next generation and it's probably something that will only right itself if we keep making good decisions as we build that next core.

Edited by Adam The God

32 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I think you could make the argument that this actually goes back to the 2007-2011 list management decisions that left a gap in Max and TMac age demo, which meant instead of having those guys, we had to spend picks on acquiring the May's, Melksham's, Hibberd's.

So we're still playing catch up with the next generation and it's probably something that will only right itself if we keep making good decisions as we build that next core.

Wow - I missed this. How many of each did we actually procure?

4 hours ago, Roost it far said:

May zero interest he is rapidly approaching the end. Lever not a lot more he is injury prone. An ageing Tmac played better than him when he was in the team. The last two want out but we have them locked into long term contracts. Oliver would not have many suitors he has too many problems which brings us to Petracca. A very good player but the shine has dimmed a little since his bad injury last year. We need key position players, I would swap for the right deal he is the one of that group who would have a number of suitors.

6 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Because we haven't converted our opportunities, which has probably cost us 5 games.

That is our problem, nailing our chances and as part of it, fixing our F50 entry.

Mr Leg isn't bad kicking bad football? I watch my GD's play basketball. The vast majority of games they at min play as well as their opponents and often better but are not as good at getting the ball in the hole. Result is often a loss. IMO if a player is poor at scoring he is a less than a good player. If you are consistently behind at the final siren you are a average team just making up the numbers. We have been doing this poor scoring for the 2 years now ( we are the worst in the competition) it is not a new problem. Until we get players who can convert chances into goals we will continue to be in the bottom half of the ladder. From my observation the majority of players who kick poorly have the problem no matter how much they practise e.g. big Max. You are either a reliable kick wether to a team mate or for goal or you are not. We need to change some players as they imo won't change/ improve.

1 hour ago, Redleg said:

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

I think you could make the argument that this actually goes back to the 2007-2011 list management decisions that left a gap in Max and TMac age demo, which meant instead of having those guys, we had to spend picks on acquiring the May's, Melksham's, Hibberd's.

In the "bad years" our over 25 talent was almost non existent in some years. The list is now more balanced with players who are immeasurably better. If I have a complaint it is that we got no "discount" factor in the salaries demanded by our players following our 2021 flag.

On LJ he's not coming to Melbourne FC but I'd love to see him leave Freo

Edited by Diamond_Jim

16 hours ago, Pennant St Dee said:

To you and your ilk everything needs to be black and white,

Usually black.

5 hours ago, Roost it far said:

Oh and why don’t we just shut the doors while we’re at it

1 hour ago, Billy said:

Oh and why don’t we just shut the doors while we’re at it

If we go into next season with the The 3 Butchers in the midfield and our 21 defensive pillars we may as well not bother.

8 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

If we go into next season with the The 3 Butchers in the midfield and our 21 defensive pillars we may as well not bother.

Has Lever played his last game?

5 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

I wouldn’t think so.

We need to make some very serious decisions before next year, starting now….

2 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Six each.

On 26/06/2025 at 15:51, Queanbeyan Demon said:

The Mays, The Milkshakes, and the Boars (was that Hibber's nickname?)