View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 minute ago, spirit of norm smith said:

I’m sick of all these players wanting to go home. It’s unfair

Did you think it was unfair when Jake Lever came home to Victoria?

2 minutes ago, sue said:

Excuse me. I believe lying is bad. I presume you do too? So why is it fauz moral outrage to be [censored] off about someone lying?

Is it that you believe players don't have to tell the truth about their intentions? You are not alone there, I agree.

But a player doesn't have to lie directly. Rather than the direct lie of "I've signed".he can just say something like "we'll see, too early" etc.

To be pedantic, even if that too is a lie (eg. if he has definitely already decided to go) at least it is not devastating to the person being lied to. A white lie is generally considered a civilised mechanism to not hurt people's feelings. Social intercourse would be pretty barbaric without them.

Lucky we have you to condescend to us and cure our 'cute' naivety.

We’re all shaped by our own experiences, perspectives, morals and ethics. I don’t think lying is entirely ‘good’ or ‘bad’, it’s entirely contextual and like many things in life, I don’t think you can merely assign a binary answer to it.

There’s also a difference between a lie, and a mistruth, to be a pedant.

No, I explicitly don’t think an employee has any obligation to state their intentions to someone, other than their manager and at a certain point, their club of employment and a subsequent new club. Live in the real world.

Props to you if you’ve never ‘lied’ to an employer.

I don’t think there’s anything surprisingly or ‘wrong’ about what’s unfolded and I’m not even disputing what he’s apparently said to people. But given the conventions of the AFL system, how player movement works, and the nature of keeping a player that’s OOC and isn’t signing in the context of the AFL, and you still thought he’d likely sign… well, yeah, I would call you naive.

Worth noting that Freo's pick 11 will turn into about 15-17 and their 29 will be about 35-40.... in a very poor draft

Edited by Stiff Arm

3 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Name four

May, Lever, Langdon, Melksham, Culley, Sharp, Billings.

Soon hopefully Heath, Derksen, Flanders.

Maybe Mihocek.

Edited by Redleg

We’re fast becoming Essendon. Can ill afford to lose a 22 year class player for a weak pick in a weak draft. We finish low the next few years with Tassie coming in and we’re literally toast. I really hope the management know what they’re doing because it’s crunch time.

1 hour ago, KoltTheRam said:

We are gonna lose Trac and Judd for very little and get Heath Derksen and Mihocek aren’t we, I’ll spew

Can’t stand it. We should be saying no unless they release actual players, not picks from the draft of untried players.

I’d much prefer the likes of Luke Jackson, or their other ruck than some untried draft pick, especially considering they say this year is a weak draft too.

22 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Wow! What a surprise! The dazzling one is gloating. Going to the trouble of trawling through previous posts to quote me. Would’ve been quicker and easier to just say “nya nya nya you were wrong.” which is the sentiment here. You really are a spiteful person. Step back and take a good look at yourself and you’ll see how childish you are.

Ahh... Ghosty... well done to face the "press" as it were. You did nothing more than pass on your info. Decent of you. Some might suggest it was naive to take 'that Dudd' at his word but why wouldn't you. No reason to doubt. Lost among the trees it would have been hard to make out the Forest... all those WA Redgums...

We win some, lose some

Keep punching !!

3 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Name four

Kelvin Templeton

Peter Moore

Carl Ditterich

Luke Dunstan

All highly successful at the Dees

@Travy14 hmmmm. Say we get 29 off the FOCKERS for McVee. Then package up the 23,29, +Spargo compensation. After free agency picks, picks slide down to likely to be say 26, 33, 43. Could we package up for Suns pick 16 which ends up as a pick 21-22 pick in any event after compensation. It’s a mess with the free agent compensations and the academy picks and father son picks.

9 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Please don’t feel sorry for me.

Like I’ve already said, I’m only disappointed that he said he had already signed, and obviously he hadn’t. That’s the only time he lied.

I’m also disappointed to be losing him to another club.

I still think it is possible he signed the contract, but the Manager didn't and kept it and then shopped him around and maybe didn't even tell him of a Freo offer until recently.

That is an entirely possible scenario.

Freo may have even told his Manager don't commit him to the Dees, until we can frame an offer at the end of the season, who knows.

Judd is not necessarily lying, that is what I am saying.

Why lie to King allegedly a few days ago and then need him and the club to clear him, with bad blood created? That sounds strange.

8 minutes ago, Redleg said:

May, Lever, Langdon, Culley, Sharp, Billings.

Soon hopefully Heath, Derksen, Flanders.

Maybe Mihocek.

Thanks

Just now, spirit of norm smith said:

@Travy14 hmmmm. Say we get 29 off the FOCKERS for McVee. Then package up the 23,29, +Spargo compensation. After free agency picks, picks slide down to likely to be say 26, 33, 43. Could we package up for Suns pick 16 which ends up as a pick 21-22 pick in any event after compensation. It’s a mess with the free agent compensations and the academy picks and father son picks.

we have delisted 5 players. Likely to trade out three. Packaging up a bundle of picks seems like we will have a short list. Bringing in White (who won't be AFL ready for three years). Think we need players not moving up the draft order in what is supposedly the weakest draft in years

4 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Name four

Lever, Langdon, Vince, May, Brown, Frost, Thomlinson

4 minutes ago, Return to Glory said:

Kelvin Templeton

Peter Moore

Carl Ditterich

Luke Dunstan

All highly successful at the Dees

Thanks

Just now, Travy14 said:

Lever, Langdon, Vince, May, Brown, Frost, Thomlinson

Thanks

Just wondering if @Dannyz is being patronised and/or insulted for also saying Judd signed months ago.

Thought not.

I think we will start asking for pick 11 as part of a deal but they will hang out for their 2nd round. Tug of war.

He will improve their team from day1. Young has moved from back to mid.

5 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

na, they won't go for that. and teams like NM have better hands to offer them. the building of second rounders for points has been tightened up by the AFL so not like it used to be.

1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

@Ghostwriter , you’re lucky eggs are so expensive; you’ll cop less to the face. Side note: Judd’s a [censored] for lying.

What a low thing to say. Its a business , he owes this ghost bloke nothing but contempt for asking.

8 minutes ago, lorn said:

Did you think it was unfair when Jake Lever came home to Victoria?

It was satire… mocking the Lions when they lost 3 players to the go home (Polec, Docherty , Yeo). They cried out and with AFL pumping millions into resources, the local Brisbane footy scene is vibrant with record participation across ages 8-16 for boys and girls and growing. We’ve seen only the tip of the iceberg. Their academy is flourishing. Conceivably 4 Lions academy players should be drafted this year. They could get all four. Annabel is top 5 definitely. Each year they will likely get a top 10 nurtured talent for some points allocation. It’s BS now !!

Edited by spirit of norm smith
O

1 minute ago, Ghostwriter said:

Just wondering if @Dannyz is being patronised and/or insulted for also saying Judd signed months ago.

Thought not.

If only you weren’t a female poster hey 🙄

Matthew Johnson could be ok.

Are Aiden Riddle or Cooper Simpson players we could look at?

2 minutes ago, manny100 said:

I think we will start asking for pick 11 as part of a deal but they will hang out for their 2nd round. Tug of war.

He will improve their team from day1. Young has moved from back to mid.

100% has to be the starting point. And sell him as best we can, "Judd we think had Judd like tendencies"

I reckon the negative reaction on here is a bit over the top. While I rate McVee and wish he resigned with us it is a bit rich calling him a rat and wsnting to boo him or for blaming Freo for pursuing a young out of contract player. AFL careers are short and we have no idea of his personal circumstances.

I'm sure the club will do its best to get him to Freo if they offer a fair deal and that we will also see what West Coast are prepared to offer. While a loss I think we will be able to cover for McVee and use the pick to either trade up in the draft or find a good player that fits our needs.

Just now, Jaded No More said:

If only you weren’t a female poster hey 🙄

Right? It’s 2025, not 1955. But you wouldn’t know it on here. The majority are fine, it’s the minority of cavemen who do the damage.