As long as we pay the man who cares hey!

And anyone who dares to think sinking a king's ransom into a small forward is risky is clearly off their head.

23 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Jacko would need to take a pay cut now. I wonder if he’d be happy to be paid in crystals and good vibes?

Nah we just Geelong it. Starting next year Luke Jackson is the new part time high performance manager for Zurich insurance as well as the chief spokesperson for Grill’d. Surely one of our supporters has an extra beach house in Mount Martha we can gift him too?

6 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

2026 and 2027 first rounders

Throw in Woey 2.0

They'd laugh at us.

7 minutes ago, layzie said:

As long as we pay the man who cares hey!

And anyone who dares to think sinking a king's ransom into a small forward is risky is clearly off their head.

Anyone who thinks Kosi is just a small forward doesn’t watch football. Period.

2 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

They'd laugh at us.

throw in a third rounder, ya reckon?

it's the equivalent of what flagmantle supporters were saying koz was worth - two first rounders and a vfl-level player

Just now, Jaded No More said:

Anyone who thinks Kosi is just a small forward doesn’t watch football. Period.

No, no, I think it's a great idea because he's torn up so many games playing in the middle with 30 plus possessions and a beacon of consistency.

Let's make sure we throw every last bit of our cap at Kozzie and make it the least team friendly contract possible. We dont need a key forward or any other pieces You said it yourself we'll be bursting at the seems with nothing left for anyone else. There is nothing risky about it at all and no-one will be annoyed when he misses games with his token suspensions.

My take is what it is, don't let it spoil the mood. I couldn't give a stuff anymore and if people don't like the lack of pom-pom flogging and feel good [censored] then I obviously don't belong here anymore.

29 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

We have no draft capital at all.

He'll be at the dockers next year.

Yeah that throws a spanner in the works doesn’t it. I really didn’t consider that but hey let me delusional we can hope he comes back home at some point in his career 😂

On 09/06/2025 at 05:09, dazzledavey36 said:

Love having my namesake Aaron Davey back at the footy club of late. Done some amazing things for Cairns Lions as a coach and even took them to a flag of recent.

The GOAT

This would have to be the most exciting and unlikely news we’ve received in years, if this actually transpires.

The scary thing for the comp is that the quiet games such as the St Kilda loss last week are becoming few and far between and are being replaced with more high end 20 disposal 3 to 4 goal games, particularly given he’s spending significant minutes in the midfield.

There’s not a coincidence in the world that his return to the side in round 4 has seen us become a far more competent side (aside from the Gather Rd disaster ) and the one week he was down on output, we were atrociously down as a side.

9 minutes ago, layzie said:

No, no, I think it's a great idea because he's torn up so many games playing in the middle with 30 plus possessions and a beacon of consistency.

Let's make sure we throw every last bit of our cap at Kozzie and make it the least team friendly contract possible. We dont need a key forward or any other pieces You said it yourself we'll be bursting at the seems with nothing left for anyone else. There is nothing risky about it at all and no-one will be annoyed when he misses games with his token suspensions.

My take is what it is, don't let it spoil the mood. I couldn't give a stuff anymore and if people don't like the lack of pom-pom flogging and feel good [censored] then I obviously don't belong here anymore.

The CBA will/has gone up meaning we won't be bursting at our salary cap as some may think.

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

Do they play footy?

Yes the eldest is 15 and was player in a combined team a few weeks ago, He is taller than his dad

Also note Anthony McDonalds boy, Robbo's lad, Trav Johnsons boy and Greens boys are all in a FS academy I think also aged 15. Someone can correct me if I am inaccurate

22 minutes ago, The Cult of Disco Turner said:

Nah we just Geelong it. Starting next year Luke Jackson is the new part time high performance manager for Zurich insurance as well as the chief spokesperson for Grill’d. Surely one of our supporters has an extra beach house in Mount Martha we can gift him too?

Hertz can lease him a nice Range Rover for life.

Great move to secure Kosi long term.

If Prasad comes up as expected we could have a dangerous forward line in few years.

1 minute ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

This would have to be the most exciting and unlikely news we’ve received in years, if this actually transpires.

The scary thing for the comp is that the quiet games such as the St Kilda loss last week are becoming few and far between and are being replaced with more high end 20 disposal 3 to 4 goal games, particularly given he’s spending significant minutes in the midfield.

There’s not a coincidence in the world that his return to the side in round 4 has seen us become a far more competent side (aside from the Gather Rd disaster ) and the one week he was down on output, we were atrociously down as a side.

He is just behind Gawn and already surpassed Petracca as our most influential Melbourne player on field in my personal opinion.

Statically wise Kozzie was doing more then Petracca at the exact same age of 23.

Scary.

9 minutes ago, layzie said:

I think with a rising CBA our contract status will be ok. I sense with may and Gawn retiring over the next 2-3 seasons it'll pan out. Now for Jackson.

When the news breaks that he’s signed, it will be wonderful for many reasons, one of which is that this thread will fall off a cliff. Never liked the title let alone most of the content.

12 minutes ago, layzie said:

You’re welcome to your opinion and I don’t think it’s necessarily wrong to feel worried about these types of deals.

But if you look at where the game is moving to, and how premierships are won in the modern game, Kosi is exactly the sort of player you build a midfield around.

Key forwards are nice, but they don’t win flags. Brisbane won with Daniher, Pies won with (?), Geelong the anomaly with Hawkins and Cameron.

But ball movement and speed is where the modern game is heading. Kosi is pound for pound the most influential player in the game right now. He’s capable of being a genuine elite clearance player who kicks 40 goals a year. That’s Dusty territory.

At 23, he’s more consistent and kicked more goals per season per age than Cyril ever did. He averages 2 goals a game and 19 disposals, playing midfield on a consistent basis for the first time in his career (a few dabbles last year hardly count).

In 5 years time, $1.2mil is going to be an average salary for an A grader, and Gawn, Viney, May and Fritsch will be off the books and Trac and Clarry will be finishing up. And Kosi will still be in his absolute prime.

Every great reward comes with an element of risk.

Losing Kosi and watching him tear the competition is a bigger risk.

Edited by Jaded No More

3 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Does Goody have to sign for 7 years as part of the deal?

Goody will be one of the main reasons Kos signs.

18 minutes ago, layzie said:

Your view is always welcome layzie, this isn't a Kumbaya hippie love in. Dissenting views are fine, there's certainly risk attached but I'm always happy to have very good players secured to the club long term.

It's a very long deal.

How do we know in 3 or 4 years he won't turn around & want to go home.

It's great if he does sign but I hope down the track it doesn't cost us a Langford, Lindsay or turner down the track.

9 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

When the news breaks that he’s signed, it will be wonderful for many reasons, one of which is that this thread will fall off a cliff. Never liked the title let alone most of the content.

We are scarred from the recent departures, namely Dogga.

Funny enough he may be coming home 🤞🏻

19 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Hertz can lease him a nice Range Rover for life.

yea no thanks they are complete [censored] boxes, i think we could do much better

Just now, dees189227 said:

It's a very long deal.

How do we know in 3 or 4 years he won't turn around & want to go home.

It's great if he does sign but I hope down the track it doesn't cost us a Langford, Lindsay or turner down the track.

We don’t know that he won’t want to go home in 3-4 years, but exactly as we have done with Trac and Clarry, we will hold the cards. It gives us the leverage that a short term deal never will.

And let’s worry about what is in front of us right now. We have no idea how this deal is structured. It could be heavily front ended, from the money we didn’t spend on Houston (thank god!) and which we aren’t spending as planned on Gus.

And as has been said before, the cap continues to go up each year. So money will become available for those types of deal. We also always have the option of trading out players to make cap space.

If you always think “what about”, then you’ll never get what’s in front of you.

Everyone here would be devastated to lose Kosi. Well this is the price of not losing him. We aren’t setting the price, the market is. He would get this and more at West Coast and Freo wouldn’t be far off. You have to deal in realities.

2 hours ago, 3183 Dee said:

Had a mate from Melbourne who played in that Cairns Lions flag a couple of years ago, could not speak highly enough of Flash.

Can we get Flash at the club in some form of coaching role