Posted

I have long held the view that a great thing for any player is to get that first senior game behind him, so that the next pre season he has the uncertainty that exists about ever getting a game removed and he can feel like he belongs.

Imo it allows for a better off season mentally and assists the next pre season.

I also believe it doesn’t matter too much if the first game is a bust as no player is judged on their first game, for a number of reasons.

Tbh the more games we get into young players, especially when they are dead rubbers, imo can only be of long term benefit despite the meaningless results.

Whether it’s Jeffo for his first, or a full game for Kynan, imo that will help them and the club in the long term.

Posted

I wonder what the travel plans are on Saturday or if they fly back Sunday morning.

This could be a chance to have a mini team bonding session at a bar on the Goldy after both VFL and AFL games. Everyone from the club who flies up should attend.

Regardless of any changes in the off season, it would be good to have everyone locked in and happier to take on Collingwood next week.

Posted
6 minutes ago, JJJ said:

I wonder what the travel plans are on Saturday or if they fly back Sunday morning.

This could be a chance to have a mini team bonding session at a bar on the Goldy after both VFL and AFL games. Everyone from the club who flies up should attend.

Regardless of any changes in the off season, it would be good to have everyone locked in and happier to take on Collingwood next week.

A couple of Dees players are attending a footy clinic at 10.30am Sunday in Melbourne, so I'm assuming they're coming back on Sat afternoon.

Posted
24 minutes ago, JJJ said:

This is a cute idea.

Posted
1 minute ago, Young Blood said:

This is a cute idea.

A lot can be achieved over a beer in a safe space.

Posted
Just now, JJJ said:

A lot can wrong at bars on the Gold Coast as well 😅😝🥳💊💉

Posted
3 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Why was bowey out of the team to begin with? Was he injured or been dropped?

I think the past few weeks I stopped paying attention to selections 

He was crook

Posted

This game feels so weird.

Obviously because of the events of this week.

But also, it's our first dead rubber since late-2019, and before that 2016.

Which is funny because we had a decade of essentially only playing dead rubbers.

But having been up for even just these last 5 years, it's so flattening to now be so checked out before the end of the H&A season.

Posted
2 hours ago, Redleg said:

I have long held the view that a great thing for any player is to get that first senior game behind him, so that the next pre season he has the uncertainty that exists about ever getting a game removed and he can feel like he belongs.

I also believe it doesn’t matter too much if the first game is a bust as no player is judged on their first game, for a number of reasons.

Tbh the more games we get into young players, especially when they are dead rubbers, imo can only be of long term benefit despite the meaningless results.

Whether it’s Jeffo for his first, or a full game for Kynan, imo that will help them and the club in the long term.

I like the sentiments Red.... but seriously what's the chances ? I'd say very slim but i'll cross fingers and toes  ;)

Posted
44 minutes ago, JJJ said:

More so than a wine in a French restaurant 😏

Posted
4 hours ago, Demonsterative said:

I’ll put my hand up explaining my excuse RN 

“I don’t want to go or watch atm” 

I may watch the start to see if McVee plays mid-field. My only point of interest for Saturday arvo. 

Now don't go upsetting the folks with that move bit radical for some who want out of the box thinking.

Posted
On 11/08/2024 at 20:57, spirit of norm smith said:

JVR needs to GRAB THE FOOTY

Cat Fumbling GIF by Originals

JVR dry conditions again this week. Use grippo or whatever legal spray is available!!! He gets to the contest, outbodied opponents but then often fumbles the footy or drops the mark. Clean handling and JVR could get a 4+ goal game.  Hes young but needs to work in this simple step.  

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, JJJ said:

It only works with beers at Sorrento pub, that's where all the honesty started a few years back.

Edited by Dee Zephyr
Posted
14 hours ago, Jibroni said:

Disappointing not to see Woey or Brown selected.

Surely, you are used to disappointments at the selection table by now? 

Posted
15 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

The first genuine dead rubber we’ve been involved in since round 23 2019 V North.

Been a while.

That says so much.

Posted
4 hours ago, Redleg said:

I agree with you. Someone at the selection table (probably sitting alone) has few thoughts of the 'MFC longer term' and resists discussion on the radical ideas of others, including members and fans powerless to gain innovative playing capacities.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

I agree with you. Someone at the selection table (probably sitting alone) has few thoughts of the 'MFC longer term' and resists discussion on the radical ideas of others, including members and fans powerless to gain innovative playing capacities.

It’s a selection panel. PANEL being the operative word. 

Posted
3 hours ago, gs77 said:

A couple of Dees players are attending a footy clinic at 10.30am Sunday in Melbourne, so I'm assuming they're coming back on Sat afternoon.

They’re flying back at 6:40pm on Saturday. 

Posted
17 hours ago, DeeZone said:

Yes at least they are all travelling up to Gold Coast together it will be good for the full list to spend some travel and game day time together.

They flew up yesterday morning, not all on the one plane but at around the same time. I think this is so as they get an extra day together before the match. This can only be a good thing imho. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Demonsterative said:

I’ll put my hand up explaining my excuse RN 

“I don’t want to go or watch atm” 

I may watch the start to see if McVee plays mid-field. My only point of interest for Saturday arvo. 

1 hour ago, demon3165 said:

Now don't go upsetting the folks with that move bit radical for some who want out of the box thinking.

McVee attended 22% of CBAs vs Port but I guess you can't see that if you don't want to watch.

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, gs77 said:

Is it running the clinic or LEARNING in the clinic.  🤣🤣

“ now here’s how you lower your eyes to hit a target “🤣🤣

”now here’s how you kick through the ball and lean forward to direct the footy, not lean back to chip kick it 30 metres up and 25 metres forward “ 🤣🤣

Edited by spirit of norm smith
Ouch
Posted
1 minute ago, old55 said:

McVee attended 22% of CBAs vs Port but I guess you can't see that if you don't want to watch.

Family commitments last week Old. The Tv was on but I was the only Demon supporter in the room therefore the volume was down and I only had the space to look up for score checks. 

Look fwd to watching McVee in action this weekend playing midfield 

Posted
56 minutes ago, old55 said:

Wow he had four centre bounce attendance that's what you call playing midfield I know it's hard to believe but we are talking about a whole game big difference. 

Screenshot_20240816_140002_AFL.jpg

Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

They flew up yesterday morning, not all on the one plane but at around the same time. I think this is so as they get an extra day together before the match. This can only be a good thing imho. 

Instagram shows they were flying up this morning??

Jack Viney was still at home as of last night as well.

Posted
Just now, dazzledavey36 said:

Instagram shows they were flying up this morning??

Jack Viney was still at home as of last night as well.

The majority flew out yesterday morning. DA members on various flights yesterday named several players on each flight.  Roo is another one who flew out today. I don’t know why some left today instead of yesterday.