9 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

If we let him go eos.. that's only one year to pay.

No one's sacking him before that. ( no one's got those cohunas ;) )

Not sure why we'd be paying anyone's tax. Their problem surely

It's the AFL tax on FD spend, bub

Try to keep up!!

So if Goodwin was to finish in say, November (unlikely) we'd be up for about $2Million

On top of that, if we appointed someone like Longmire, he wouldn't come cheap ... maybe $1.5Million per annum. All up, $3.5Million in 2026

I read somewhere that the minimum for a HC these days is $1Million. Stand corrected if wrong

18 hours ago, old55 said:

I think we need to move on from Simon Goodwin but that's not going to happen with placeholder President and CEO, and Alan Richardson as GM of Football on borrowed time. Goodwin will coach us in 2026 and IMO that's OK because he seems a well-liked, good character who has recognised that we need to evolve and has started the wheels in motion, so I think we not in a poisonous state that needs a fast antidote. Carlton has done MFC management a huge favour by absorbing all the media spotlight. - we're in a very similar position to them.

Steven Smith and Paul Guerra need to be working in the background to find Richo's replacement so that the three of them can start to make a proper assessment of the state of affairs and Goodwin's future. It may be that they decide he IS the guy to go forward with, I doubt it but I don't really know. I think his strength is his weakness - he's possibly too wedded to senior players who took us there in 2021.

Bringing in a top quality GM of football and some really good quality assistant coaches (even with the view that one of them might take over from Goodwin post 2026), has to be the top priority for Smith and Guerra.

A senior coach is one part of a larger football department. Replacing the senior coach alone might do absolutely nothing (see Sydney), if the rest of the football department remains unchanged.

The reality is that after having 2 very experienced midfield coaches, both of whom have gone on to become senior coaches, we have replaced them with a relative unknown, and a rookie for 'feel good' purposes. Who runs the match day box now? Where are the fresh ideas coming from?

Yze changed our midfield, and McQualter pushed for the change in game style last year. You need change makers in the FD, and they don't necessarily need to come in the form of a senior coach, if that senior coach still has the ear of the players and is willing and open to adapt.

Simon has proven that he is open to adapting the game plan, going from all out attack in 2018, to all in contest and defense to win a flag in 2021, to now playing a more attacking half back game. Changing game styles is very hard, especially when you best players are older and have experienced the ultimate success with a different game style. But likewise, we need some fresh eyes in the coaching box, and we need a GM of football who is ruthless, experienced, and complements Goody.

Richardson and Goody are too similar in their management style. We need a 'bad cop' to enter the chat.

1 hour ago, Macca said:

Yep, it's like we lack imagination when entering the f50 (or it's bombs away)

But is it that complicated?

Kicking the ball out in front of a leading forward doesn't seem like too big of an ask

Nevertheless, we don't do it

Even at suburban level, it's taken for granted that the mids will try and pass the ball to a leading forward

Heading into the forward line, we play unintelligent football

Macca, not having a go at you mate, but when was the last time you sighted one of our supposed key forwards leading towards the kicker????

Our forwards seem to want to take the easy way out, long kicks over the back, easy run into goal. The biggest culprit for this is Fritsch, he can make space but chooses not to.

Would also help if our forwards didnt all lead or stand in the same spot.

Our mids are sometimes left with no choice but to bomb it in long, or they just have to stand with the ball and wait to be tackled.

9 minutes ago, Macca said:

Try to keep up!!

So if Goodwin was to finish in say, November (unlikely) we'd be up for about $2Million

On top of that, if we appointed someone like Longmire, he wouldn't come cheap ... maybe $1.5Million per annum. All up, $3.5Million in 2026

I read somewhere that the minimum for a HC these days is $1Million. Stand corrected if wrong

Thanks Macca.

I'm suspecting if you're going to be paying someone a similar coin then that tax mayn't be such an impediment with the soft cap lifting next year.

I get your gist however.

For the greater good of winning... it's not insurmountable or prohibitive to my thinking.

6 hours ago, SPC said:

Time to clear out Goody and his coaching panel.

Time to cut the list deep. Trac, Oliver, May, Fritta, Lever all in the equation. Plus all the 2-4 year fringe players who are not up to it.

Bring in some leaders from other clubs.

Plan for a 2027-28 rise.

And who exactly are you replacing all of that experience with? I don't hear of any A grade players wanting to come to MFC, other than Jackson and that's a long shot. Draft picks? In a weakened compromised draft. All of those players you mention would be in the best 22 of every club. Ludicrous suggestion

16 minutes ago, Deestinga2 said:

Macca, not having a go at you mate, but when was the last time you sighted one of our supposed key forwards leading towards the kicker????

Our forwards seem to want to take the easy way out, long kicks over the back, easy run into goal. The biggest culprit for this is Fritsch, he can make space but chooses not to.

Our mids are sometimes left with no choice but to bomb it in long, or they just have to stand with the ball and wait to be tackled.

Absolutely, but it has to be both.

The forward movement is one thing and it really astounds me that this is the same every week. However this year the one problem we haven't had is a supply of fresh meat produce because he have some A-grade butchers distributing from the middle.

Binman really hit the nail on the podcast when he mentioned that these guys looked like above average or even decent kicks in 21-23 because the gameplan at the time allowed them accelerate away from the contest and launch it in where guys like T-mac and co would get it to ground for the mosquito fleet to get to work. Now these guys are being asked to hit guys on the chest with much more regularity and surprise it isn't working.

I do agree though, too many of our forwards like to lead back to goal. It almost the forward structure version of the 'bees to the honeypot' issue that the midfield had.

43 minutes ago, Deestinga2 said:

And why isn't that ? Seriously .

I was always taught/ coached/mentored...even YELLED at to lead, to find space, create a target , break off my defender ( even when they seemed obsessed with wearing me like some piece of clothing ) .. that was my job as a forward. Yes there were times you would be 'frolicking' in among a pack but that was very last choice stuff. Across a number of teams it was always a very similar approach to forward craft. Get off/away from opponent... make space.. ( except the pocket... that was naughty at got you a rollicking ..unless you were decoying .... and just kinda accidentally ended up with ball 🙄🤔🙄😉 ) . You worked as a unit. You had practiced who 'went' who went which way and when. The whole point was to open up their defence and allow a weighted kick to your ( or someone's ) advantage.

Pack marking was frowned upon...schoolyard stuff. There were sessions in creating paths, leading/reversing , when to push off ...on and on and on . All about giving yourself the best chances, your team mates the best targets ; essentially playing high % footy.

Never was i asked to play the way we ( Dees ) do. Quite frankly it's dumb clumsy footy.

So why do we play this way. It's not how most learn it. So someone is telling players to play this way as it's just not natural for forwards to make it hard for themselves let alone the ball deliverers .

Other teams don't play like us.. they have a forward delivery system. You can see the good teams . You can see practiced routines.

Then there's us. I really don't get it

Based on the fact that we implemented a new game style this season, AND, Goody has a year to run on his contract I cannot see him being sacked before the start of season 2026.

It may mean a repeat of 2025 but I think that's the direction the board will take and in IMV it's a sensible, dedefendable approach (though probably not favoured by the majority of members/supporters)

1 hour ago, Deestinga2 said:

I get it and you are right

What comes first? The bombing or the non-leading

What we do see is both (lack of leading and long bombs)

What I can't understand is why? Just change and change now

Is it not a professional sport?

So frustrating to watch as we are throwing wins away

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

Thanks Macca.

I'm suspecting if you're going to be paying someone a similar coin then that tax mayn't be such an impediment with the soft cap lifting next year.

I get your gist however.

For the greater good of winning... it's not insurmountable or prohibitive to my thinking.

Money is really tight within the FD spend. There wouldn't be too many clubs not paying the max

So the FD tax looms large

We're just going to wade things out with Simon (regardless of which way one leans)

And there has been a shift (on this thread at least) with the players now under the spotlight as well

14 hours ago, Howard_Grimes said:

I don't understand why you're quoting me regarding your first paragraph. I was simply pointing to where much of the conversation on here has strayed to over the past four years and that I disagree with a lot of it. Maybe let's leave it.

As far as your last paragraph goes, you're missing out again the most important factor in why we haven't been able to shift and why there are teething issues. It goes further than an 'ability or time to learn'. It's about execution. And again it comes back to our list. We simply don't possess enough attributes across the board to execute the type of game required to compete with the best sides. And as we've seen, if out contest and pressure isn't present against lower rung sides, we are also in trouble. That is entirely on Goodwin. Hasn't made the right calls or the calls he has made have been the same ones netting us the same result, the same predictable outcomes and the same types of losses.

How many more times are we going to hear that our inefficiency cost us a game? And how many more times from Goodwin are we going to hear that 'we're working incredibly hard on it and the results will come', all the while playing and trusting the same group of core players who are the reason behind it all?

I find this article incredibly frustrating but ultimately correct!

11 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

Based on the fact that we implemented a new game style this season, AND, Goody has a year to run on his contract I cannot see him being sacked before the start of season 2026.

It may mean a repeat of 2025 but I think that's the direction the board will take and in IMV it's a sensible, dedefendable approach (though probably not favoured by the majority of members/supporters)

Agree

First half of next year is the acid test.

Would be nice to see some more green shoots this year

15 minutes ago, Dee*ceiving said:

We've been messing around with the gameplan for two years now. Most teams get it right after a single off-season. We still don't look like we know what we're doing.

Just now, Diamond_Jim said:

Agree

First half of next year is the acid test.

Would be nice to see some more green shoots this year

Not if Goodwin isnt the coach, but if by some quirk he still is and we have a shocking start, 99% of people on this site will be lamenting our lost chance at changing the coach at the end if this season!

I really would have thought the first half of this year was more than enough .

It's a failure.

Why do people not want to call it as it IS !!

Or do we continue to stuff around another 2-3 years to find ourselves still failing ??

Possibly right up until now Goody and Co have been able to pick who they wanted, play them whereas they wanted and instructed them as to how.

They've had all bloody off season .

The acid test has come and gone

3 hours ago, Macca said:

*And changing the coach might cost the club in the region of $2.5Million

You don't think (conservatively) 10,000 memberships at $200 each might go some way to covering any pay out cost?

The number one thing this club needs right now is hope, and a new coach would do wonders for delivering this.

7 hours ago, SPC said:

Time to clear out Goody and his coaching panel.

Time to cut the list deep. Trac, Oliver, May, Fritta, Lever all in the equation. Plus all the 2-4 year fringe players who are not up to it.

Bring in some leaders from other clubs.

Plan for a 2027-28 rise.

Agree in the coaching panel, cutting list deep Is risky we did this in the late 00s and exposed us , id say Oliver to free up the cap, May will retire in 2 yrs lever is good just an injury season, Fritta maybe but depends who are we targeting,

6 minutes ago, poita said:

You don't think (conservatively) 10,000 memberships at $200 each might go some way to covering any pay out cost?

The number one thing this club needs right now is hope, and a new coach would do wonders for delivering this.

The drop off in membership is on the players,not the coaching

Lazy, unaccountable & we choke in front of goal

5 minutes ago, Macca said:

The drop off in membership is on the players,not the coaching

Lazy, unaccountable & we choke in front of goal

I'm not thinking the players are the go-to re blame in the minds of those exiting membership. I just don't.

This is often more a message aimed at the Club itself...and those charged with running it, on and off the field.

Message would read " you're stinking it up, you're failing ... better do something about it"

I don't think the players are coached well nor instructed/empowered with a sound game plan.

End of the day it's the coaches ( one especially ) whose job it is to get them firing and playing the very best footy they can.

That's the job....

Also incumbent upon the club to ensure that that position is best filled. If not, rectify.

As to how they play, well, I do tend to agree. Not at their abilities.

3 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I'm not thinking the players are the go-to re blame in the minds of those exiting membership. I just don't.

This is often more a message aimed at the Club itself...and those charged with running it, on and off the field.

Message would read " you're stinking it up, you're failing ... better do something about it"

I don't think the players are coached well nor instructed/empowered with a sound game plan.

End of the day it's the coaches ( one especially ) whose job it is to get them firing and playing the very best footy they can.

That's the job....

Also incumbent upon the club to ensure that that position is best filled. If not, rectify.

As to how they play, well, I do tend to agree. Not at their abilities.

How about that first quarter against GC!

2 hours ago, Deestinga2 said:

Beeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeet. Circa 1992.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon

2 hours ago, Macca said:

Try to keep up!!

The other element is we could load the backed of the new coaches contract somewhat allowing us to pay less in year 1 in order to move Goody on. It means we will likely forgo an additional assistant with increase in FD cap but I don’t mind the idea of the new coach having a year with the assistants to work out what he needs from ‘27 and beyond. This is why it’s critical to move on Goody now. First year of a new coach is always going to be somewhat a waste.

15 minutes ago, Macca said:

Our players are bludging on the job

How about that first quarter against GC

If i may again.

Those leaving in droves aren't likely to ping the players. They'll be asking why were they playing that game in that manner ?

Ot asking who YOU blame... just thinking about how others might.

The 1st qtr was deplorable. Not the first time caught napping or out gamed. One team certainly better set up than the other at the start.

16 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

The other element is we could load the backed of the new coaches contract somewhat allowing us to pay less in year 1 in order to move Goody on. It means we will likely forgo an additional assistant with increase in FD cap but I don’t mind the idea of the new coach having a year with the assistants to work out what he needs from ‘27 and beyond. This is why it’s critical to move on Goody now. First year of a new coach is always going to be somewhat a waste.

You seem convinced that Goodwin is the sole issue when he may not be the issue at all

Out players are letting themselves down, the club down and they are letting the coach down

For this list of players to have only won 5 games this year is a disgrace

As stated 2 months ago on this very thread, do not let the players off the hook

11 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

If i may again.

Those leaving in droves aren't likely to ping the players. They'll be asking why were they playing that game in that manner ?

Ot asking who YOU blame... just thinking about how others might.

The 1st qtr was deplorable. Not the first time caught napping or out gamed. One team certainly better set up than the other at the start.

Well, in my circle, it's the players who are copping it big time. Not the coach

This site is often not a good example of the thinking as we tend to see 5 or 6 people shiiitt-canning the coach hundreds and hundreds of times (like parrots)

In terms of expectations and the strength of list, this is the worst year I can ever recall (in terms of underachieving) And we can't blame injuries either

We've got a list of players who can't carry out simple instructions

Lazy & Selfish