The wankerdom around the need to have high crowds as a measure of your teams worth happens no where else in the world. In no other sport, not since BIG TV (tm) do people swing their [censored]’s (anatomical correct language for appendage in case it gets censored) in reference to this.

a) revenue is mostly derived elsewhere

b) athletes don’t ‘really’ care

c) …. Errr

so why still is it part of the afl cultural landscape?

*seriously PEN IS is censored? 

Edited by Engorged Onion

On 31/07/2024 at 09:17, Engorged Onion said:

The wankerdom around the need to have high crowds as a measure of your teams worth happens no where else in the world. In no other sport, not since BIG TV (tm) do people swing their [censored]’s (anatomical correct language for appendage in case it gets censored) in reference to this.

a) revenue is mostly derived elsewhere

b) athletes don’t ‘really’ care

c) …. Errr

so why still is it part of the afl cultural landscape?

You're right. There's always a media / AFL wÃ¥nkfest early in the season about trying to break the round's biggest attendance record helped along by sending the likes of Collingwood to GWS and Carlton to GC. 

On 31/07/2024 at 09:29, Rab D Nesbitt said:

You're right. There's always a media / AFL wÃ¥nkfest early in the season about trying to break the round's biggest attendance record helped along by sending the likes of Collingwood to GWS and Carlton to GC. 

I got the notification from you Rab - and was worried that you were going to tell me that there is plenty of *** swinging between Arbroath* and Queen of the South 😎

*could do with a smokie

Edited by Engorged Onion

I was on the Gold Coast but havent gone to a match for 6-8 weeks, because my daughter wont sit through it the way we are playing. Dont want to travel all the way to leave at half time.

Ive got a season ticket so the money isnt lost on anyone, they are professional footballers who should be motivated by winning not by how many are in the stands.

This week's excuse is easy

We are playing at Etihad.  pfft

On 01/08/2024 at 04:49, DubDee said:

This week's excuse is easy

We are playing at Etihad.  pfft

On a cold night with a 25-30k crowd it's a decent venue

Medallion club stuff it up by taking the best seats even though they're often empty

On 01/08/2024 at 06:01, Diamond_Jim said:

On a cold night with a 25-30k crowd it's a decent venue

Medallion club stuff it up by taking the best seats even though they're often empty

In defence of the Medallion Club, there is usually a fight or two to keep things interesting

Has been each time I've sat there anyway

In reality that game should have been on Sunday arvo. Scheduling Dees v any expansion team is never going to draw many especially worse at night in the middle of the coldest winter Melbourne's had for years, so I'm informed. Mind you, that 16K was a pathetic turnout. Was expecting 20-23K to be honest.

Why wasn't I there? I'm in Thailand. And it's 30C every day!

Marvel tomorrow night. Get your lame excuses valid reasons in early. 

Just checked on google maps and from my front door to the 'G' is 16,607.31kms.

I did watch the whole bloody lot on my live stream. 

.... And have watched the replay a couple of times to work out what I saw.

Is that a good enough excuse? 

Edited by CHF
to be precise

On 01/08/2024 at 11:36, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Marvel tomorrow night. Get your lame excuses valid reasons in early. 

Marvel is just that little bit closer to me....... 16,604.52 kms

Edited by CHF
to be precise

On 01/08/2024 at 12:02, CHF said:

Just checked on google maps and from my front door to the 'G' is 16,607.31kms.

I did watch the whole bloody lot on my live stream. 

.... And have watched the replay a couple of times to work out what I saw.

Is that a good enough excuse? 

Do you have buffering issues on the international space station CHF?

Looking ahead- my excuse for hating Dockland stadium. 
I swear when I got on to the ticketing system earlier today I could not access any general admission tickets. FOMO kicked in and I bought a reserved seat for mega bucks.  
Whinging to one of my kids earlier this evening, and you guessed it, when we had a look - there were the GA’s right on top!. 
Yep, I’m old and obviously am a dinosaur! 
GO DEES! I want to get my money’s worth tomorrow night.

On 01/08/2024 at 04:40, Tracca said:

I was on the Gold Coast but havent gone to a match for 6-8 weeks, because my daughter wont sit through it the way we are playing. Dont want to travel all the way to leave at half time.

Ive got a season ticket so the money isnt lost on anyone, they are professional footballers who should be motivated by winning not by how many are in the stands.

How old is your daughter?

I’m curious because if she’s a young child she likely gets bored. That’s where the ‘electronic babysitter’ comes into play. An iPad or phone with games keeps little ones occupied and you can watch the match ‘til the end. 

Edited by WalkingCivilWar

Gauntlet thrown down 👇

image.thumb.jpeg.6f6c3a2153b01ea5ea3301f6ccb5d1ce.jpeg

Nobody to go with tonight. why do people have such a dislike for Marvel?

I'll make Port and Pies games. If we're still in with a chance of finals I'll try to commence some mates to head to gold coast for the Suns game. get out of melbourne for the weekend, some warm weather, few beers. Metricon is a good little stadium. one of my favourite footy destinations

On 01/08/2024 at 22:24, Sydee said:

Gauntlet thrown down 👇

Did he make the same pathetic claim when 19,000 turned up to the Tigers/Giants game at the G earlier this season, given Richmond have 40,000 more members than us?

Gauntlet thrown down 👇

Don't out yourself as someone who reads that drivel!

Gauntlet thrown down 👇

Too easy Purple.  How about creating some content of value?  What atrocious drivel.  So we get kicked when we are the home and the away team.  How many gws people turned up last week?  Under 250, id reckon.  There is your true story, the expansion teams are an absolute FAIL.

Don't know why people are getting so upset about this. The media are always going to take pot shots at clubs/supporters with this sort of thing. Move on to the next slow news week discussion point.