Posted
5 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

And all have that mongrel in them love it  , really showed up the nice , neat Essendon players that just didn't have the same in them

What a turnaround from 24 years ago.

Posted
8 hours ago, The Swimming Dee said:

Where are the Goody haters? You guys have disappeared? Still celebrating the win?

Same place the lovers go when we take a bath against the odds

Posted (edited)

Aside from the 'scoreboard cosmetics' at the end for Essendon, that felt like a win for the system, the belief in the system and youth of the team.

The older crew would be mighty pleased.

I can't empahasise what the 'lived experience' of  more experienced teammates (say, Lever, May, Viney etc) watching younger players being able to execute roles in adverse circumstances (no Petracca, Gawn etc) and challenging conditions, means to the belief in the system in of itself as well as the trust that my teammate can deliver most of the time.

The flow on, is you're not second guessing execution or decision making of yourself or your teammate, leading to more cohesive transitions, more insynch defending, and greater opportunity in the forward line.

Not the you need confidence to win or perform well (*checks Demonland forum over past week about the match), and it simply makes it easier to do so.

This bodes well for next year, if you're the sort of supporter that likes to look at the bigger picture.

Edited by Engorged Onion
Posted
57 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

He has real mongrel in him and doesn’t shy away from the contest 

He loves it and it’s great to watch. 

Posted

That was a good win Goodwin 

Posted (edited)

Edited by Lucifers Hero
Posted

Any weekend where we win while Pies and Dons lose is perfection so Happy Sunday everyone.

Clever selections and in game coaching moves to take advantage of the conditions and unfolding play. We may see slight tweaks for a probably dry Freo game.

Consider how good our guys were given a large number of the Don goals were a direct result of dodgy umpiring.

The Mouse Pack are generating their own enthusiasm and culture.

Probably 3 of the next 6 to make the eight, a couple more to make top four.

Sitting watching on the Sunshine Coast thinking “gee it’s cold tonight.” Then watching the players, supporters and DA in real cold and rain makes me ponder if I may have become a tad soft.

Go you Dees!

Posted
2 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

image.png

image.png

image.png

Love a Nostradamus self reference 💪

Posted (edited)
On 11/07/2024 at 10:19, leave it to deever said:

Hopefully a whopping big serve of humble pie will be on the menu for them this weekend Lucifer's Hero.

image.png.94c31b653a1ad6f6ba675f8fc80a6413.png

image.png.6d772085585971e876f06becd2334b97.png

@leave it to deever  Humble pie served but being the entitled supporters they are no acceptances. 

Suspect they will be chocking on their corn flakes this morning when they realise their top 4 chances are all but over and may not even make the 8.

And what a delight that would be.  Or equally delightful they make the 8 and lose the EF.  (Hope the footy karma gods don't get me for that 😠

Oops double posted quote below but can't seem to delete it.  Oh well ...

image.png

Edited by Lucifers Hero

Posted
10 hours ago, layzie said:

I tipped us so that counts as having faith 

Me too! 

Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, Engorged Onion said:

Love a Nostradamus self reference 💪

I'm not the only one to gloat 😉

And for a bit more gloating, I reckon I was first post to be optimistic of a win and posted very sound reasoning. 

Anyway, there was so much doom and gloom on here when Max went down some reality check had to be posted. 

Edit:   See posts above this one for a few more Nostradamus posters 🙃

Edited by Lucifers Hero
Posted
10 hours ago, M_9 said:

Shotty front spot.

Hey how are you liking Calabria. My family come from Lamezia Terme which is near Cantanzaro. My bro and I watched them play live against Juventus last century. They're in Serie B now. Have you been to Tropea??? 

Posted
17 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

image.png.94c31b653a1ad6f6ba675f8fc80a6413.png

image.png.6d772085585971e876f06becd2334b97.png

@leave it to deever  Humble pie served but being the entitled supporters they are no acceptances. 

Suspect they will be chocking on their corn flakes this morning when they realise their top 4 chances are all but over and may not even make the 8.

And what a delight that would be.  Or equally delightful they make the 8 and lose the EF.  (Hope the footy karma gods don't get me for that 😠

Oops double posted quote below but can't seem to delete it.  Oh well ...

image.png

It's mornings like this I'm glad I live in the northwest suburbs 🤣

Posted (edited)

Really thought the umpires were very lackluster last night with an agenda towards the end .

Good thing we won.

Credit to many of the youngsters again but props to the leadership from Milk, Nibbler and Langers.

And a ripping 100th from Kozzie 

Edited by leave it to deever
Posted

After canning Roo for his ruck work he actually did a good job last night. Perhaps we need to trade Max. Only joking. I checked the fixture this morning and every home game is at night for the rest of the season. Of course who knows when the last game will be. I am too old for these winter night games. They are great for the club financially but [censored] for me.  

Posted
22 minutes ago, Roy Boy said:

If you want to do your head in go to-

POSTGAME v ESSENDON 

then

POSTGAME v FREMANTLE or WEST COAST (loss)

Good luck 🤞 

and your point is??

Posted

Ive been more than critical of Petty of late....quite deservedly imho...

But i thought he fought admirably last night.

I find the many stats thrown around erroneous and bizarre tbh.  Esp rucking.  Quite often 'wins' attributed where to my eye none such occurred. Aa such in my opinion Petty did well in the rucking duels. To suggest Draper towelled him would be to be watching another game entirely.

How MUCH better are we with Milkshake.... a  Maestro of the leather !!!

please leave Roo in front arc ...please

Posted

Did we see Caleb Windsor put himself into rising star favouritism last night.?

In front of a huge crowd, prime time TV and coolness under pressure. The commentators loved him.

I used to bemoan having to watch ed langdon from afar but now I have the closer Windsor wing to watch him close up for 4 quarters.

Posted (edited)
34 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I'm not the only one to gloat 😉

And for a bit more gloating, I reckon I was first post to be optimistic of a win and posted very sound reasoning. 

Anyway, there was so much doom and gloom on here when Max went down some reality check had to be posted. 

Edit:   See posts above this one for a few more Nostradamus posters 🙃

You were very confident pre the premiership year LH. Where will we finish this year?

Posted
3 minutes ago, old dee said:

After canning Roo for his ruck work he actually did a good job last night. Perhaps we need to trade Max. Only joking. I checked the fixture this morning and every home game is at night for the rest of the season. Of course who knows when the last game will be. I am too old for these winter night games. They are great for the club financially but [censored] for me.  

I would have loved to have been there last night...of course VLine has half of the train line shut down - no trains until half way from Melbourne! grrrr

Posted

I think Jvr deserves a pat for his ruck work against a pretty experienced and enormous Draper.

Didn't star up fwd but he wasn't really missed in this capacity with the others stepping up.

Posted
2 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Ive been more than critical of Petty of late....quite deservedly imho...

But i thought he fought admirably last night.

I find the many stats thrown around erroneous and bizarre tbh.  Esp rucking.  Quite often 'wins' attributed where to my eye none such occurred. Aa such in my opinion Petty did well in the rucking duels. To suggest Draper towelled him would be to be watching another game entirely.

How MUCH better are we with Milkshake.... a  Maestro of the leather !!!

please leave Roo in front arc ...please

Agree on both counts bb. How many wanted milkshake out 2 years ago!