View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (โ‹ฎ) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

I believe there is a world where we get Luke Pedlar + 1st Rounder back in a Petracca trade. I feel like we will ask for players, and if we donโ€™t get Flanders then I could see this happening.

Edit: Not saying Iโ€™d be happy with this scenario, but it could very possibly happen.

Edited by KoltTheRam
Additional info

ย 
6 hours ago, bing181 said:

Actually saw them play live once. Which is something, as they only ever did a handful of dates around the No Pussyfooting album.

Was as you'd expect, both monotonous and mesmerising, and the technology was impressive for the time. Still remember it.

Iโ€™m so jealous AND impressed. Your description could equally apply to the Ryuichi Sakamoto and Alva Noto concert I attended at the Opera House a few years agoโ€ฆ it was a fitting farewell to my absolute favourite musician (Sakamoto) of all time, who passed just four and a half years later in 2023.

9 hours ago, KoltTheRam said:

I believe there is a world where we get Luke Pedlar + 1st Rounder back in a Petracca trade. I feel like we will ask for players, and if we donโ€™t get Flanders then I could see this happening.

Edit: Not saying Iโ€™d be happy with this scenario, but it could very possibly happen.

I am a realist and there is no way the club accept 1st rounder + Pedlar, not even if they pay every cent of Tracโ€™s contract (which they wonโ€™t).

ย 

Melbourne wins a flag and proceeds to lose one required player after another.

Brisbane wins back to back flags and then tops up with ready to play recruits.

2 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Brisbane will lose Ah chee and Starcevich. The issue is they can recruit players that want out of footy bubbles in Melbourne and Perth, and have an academy churning out guns

12 hours ago, DemonJack 14 said:

That would completely go against everything King said in his press conference about wanting to make finals. The messaging to the fans would have to change

We were nowhere near finals with all but Neal Bullen in the team this year.. Petracca butchers the ball and doesnโ€™t want to be here, May is nearlly finished, McVee had an average year..

14 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

There's been two reasons why. Our club culture since winning the flag, and the players we've recruited from other clubs have all been busts.

Far be it for me to defend the club I support, but people here talk about failing to attract stars to our club, like it's something that happens regularly to other clubs.

I look at big clubs like the Pies, Essendon and Carlton, and I don't see them regularly attracting star players.

Essendon hasn't had a hit since Shiel, Carlton got Cerra who wanted to come to us because they had the trade capital at the time, and Collingwood gambled away their future for mediocre players in Shultz and Houston.

Interstate clubs can play the homesick card, but the only Vic club that consistently lures stars is Geelong, and we all know why. Exactly the same way Saints finally landed a few hits, by overpaying.

Since winning the flag we've made a conscious decision to keep going to the draft with early picks. That means that we've ended up with some very mediocre 'role' players added, but we also got 200 gamers in Bowey, Windsor, Lindsay and Langford, and maybe also JVR and Kolt.

So which would you rather? Houston or Lindsay?

ย 
1 hour ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Same happened to the dogs I reckon.

7 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Far be it for me to defend the club I support, but people here talk about failing to attract stars to our club, like it's something that happens regularly to other clubs.

I look at big clubs like the Pies, Essendon and Carlton, and I don't see them regularly attracting star players.

Essendon hasn't had a hit since Shiel, Carlton got Cerra who wanted to come to us because they had the trade capital at the time, and Collingwood gambled away their future for mediocre players in Shultz and Houston.

Interstate clubs can play the homesick card, but the only Vic club that consistently lures stars is Geelong, and we all know why. Exactly the same way Saints finally landed a few hits, by overpaying.

Since winning the flag we've made a conscious decision to keep going to the draft with early picks. That means that we've ended up with some very mediocre 'role' players added, but we also got 200 gamers in Bowey, Windsor, Lindsay and Langford, and maybe also JVR and Kolt.

And Houston was coming to us until the Trac drama happened

8 minutes ago, Mickey said:

And Houston was coming to us until the Trac drama happened

Yes but we would have had to give up an early pick for him which meant we wouldn't have had Lindsay or Langford.

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Yes but we would have had to give up an early pick for him which meant we wouldn't have had Lindsay or Langford.

We absolutely dodged a bullet

1 hour ago, mo64 said:

There's been two reasons why. Our club culture since winning the flag, and the players we've recruited from other clubs have all been busts.

Plus our coach couldnโ€™t define a clear purpose to the playing group after 21..we were never a chance to back it up.

Strategically, we should be taking a step back and resetting our salary cap. Max might have one more year as an elite player but I doubt we can win the flag next year.

Petracca is a good player but he is a below average kick and has become a poor tackler. That said, we should only let him go if the deal works for us.

Bring in some no names on short deals and turn the list over in the next few years.

I know this sucks, but we need to think like St Kilda in 2012, Hawthorn in 2020 and Richmond now.

Look at Geelong's grand final team and there were a lot of players who were picked up with low picks. It wasn't all rorting and lucky free agents.

32 minutes ago, Jakkaa said:

Plus our coach couldnโ€™t define a clear purpose to the playing group after 21..we were never a chance to back it up.

I still can't get over that. Pretty pathetic attitude tbh, no wonder we only won one with this list, we had the least ambitious coach going around!

26 minutes ago, Mouseymoo said:

I still can't get over that. Pretty pathetic attitude tbh, no wonder we only won one with this list, we had the least ambitious coach going around!

Seems straight forward

Double down

Win the next one

Brisbane Lions.

But on a serious note....we definitely need another proven ruck.

Max is getting older despite still crushing it. What if he's injured.

Two big experienced key fwds.

One big experienced defender.

A couple of killer mids.

But I'm not up with who is available.

I'm pretty sure we will see Tracc move on despite being contracted .Maybe Oliver .

1 minute ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

Brisbane Lions.

A couple of killer mids.

I'm pretty sure we will see Tracc move on despite being contracted .Maybe Oliver .

Max Heath from St Kilda

5 minutes ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

Brisbane Lions.

A couple of killer mids.

i don't think we need another 'proven ruck' we need a ruck who is capable of performing at afl level, has good form at lower level, and is under the age of 25 - that's max heath

bringing in two big experiened key forwards is an impossibility - we'll get one, in brody mihocek

we don't need a big experienced defender given that we're getting rid of our most experienced one - wade derksen will come in as a younger, inexperienced key defender, with harrison petty a possibility to return to defence as well

killer mids don't grow on trees - looks like we might lose one (petracca) and re-balance our midfield with promising younger players instead

4 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Billings or Freijah is the question. We went with a player who couldnโ€™t get a game in a lowly club and didnโ€™t give ourselves the chance for a pick 45 gold !!

5 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

Iโ€™d rather Schultz, Houston, Perryman, McStay, Membrey not to mention keeping at least some of Nibbler, Jackson, Bedford, JJ, Spargo and McVee and still be in top 4 contention than where we are now. Not to mention trading guys away from a position of weakness. Adelaide can smell blood in the water from 700km away.

Our pursuit of Houston and our pursuit of key forwards indicates that we havenโ€™t made a conscious choice, weโ€™ve just been left with no better options.

Not only is our list rapidly declining but weโ€™ve lost any semblance of premiership IQ across the board, admin and almost all the footy department: coaching, fitness, list management.

Jason Taylor, no pressure mate.

ย 

I hate people saying we can't compete for a premiership next year etc.. I'll never say never. New coach, less ego and more want to be at the joint. We didn't get belted every game last year. We are not as far off as a lot of you think.

My view is a poor morale and desperation to win along with most players being list on what their role is was our downfall. If King can maximize our will to win, our morale and players identity in their role then there is no reason why we can't have a great season. Even if we don't that's what we should aim for. There is never a limit and anything less is a pisz poor culture.

33 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Iโ€™d rather Schultz, Houston, Perryman, McStay, Membrey

I'd take Langford over those 5 combined.