Go the Biff 3,474 Posted March 21, 2024 Posted March 21, 2024 @hardtack According to Blake Howes himself on Ben Gibson's podcast he's been dubbed Halfway Howes for the past 18 months Not entirely unhappy with it Gus Brayshaw the originator 3 1 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted March 21, 2024 Posted March 21, 2024 2 hours ago, Moonshadow said: 'Filthy' Played local footy with a bloke first name Phil who answered to that nickname. He was also known as Car City. Had a kind of wonky eye - if you remeber the advertisement, you'll get the reference! 🤪 2 3 Quote
Salems Lot 2,692 Posted March 21, 2024 Posted March 21, 2024 A few I would like to see Jed Adams - Don (get smart actor) Caleb Windsor - 5 Star as in 5 star Windsor Hotel Charlie Spargo - I actually thought his nickname was Paul (source Gus and Gawny podcat) Marty Hore - Lazarus 2 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted March 21, 2024 Posted March 21, 2024 (edited) 16 hours ago, hardtack said: Thanks DD… are these all nicknames used by the players? I trying to avoid adding those name made up by us. Yeah, but in the absence of a genuine player attributed nick name, then I think the supporter group should step in. Even if they have a somewhat vanilla existing one, then I think the tribe should impose something with a bit more punch. A few starting suggestions: Jed Adams - Lurch Marty Hore - a part of me laughs at Dirty, but perhaps these days it's not quite appropriate these days, so perhaps McFly could be another option. Kind of suits his back story getting de-listed and re-listed Back to The Future. Edited March 21, 2024 by Rodney (Balls) Grinter 2 Quote
Guest Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 21 hours ago, Demon Dynasty said: Earl Spalding - The Duke / Duke Nobody at the Club calls Caleb Duke/the Duke. His nickname is ‘Leb’ and that’s what everyone calls him. Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 5 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: Nobody at the Club calls Caleb Duke/the Duke. His nickname is ‘Leb’ and that’s what everyone calls him. So (and said in the most positive of senses ❤️), a shared heritage with Salo? 1 1 1 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 (edited) 12 hours ago, Go the Biff said: @hardtack According to Blake Howes himself on Ben Gibson's podcast he's been dubbed Halfway Howes for the past 18 months Not entirely unhappy with it Gus Brayshaw the originator On that tack, then, with nods to both another famous House and to an ageless star (C. Eastwood in his first (?TV) role)... Crowdy? Edited March 22, 2024 by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 1 Quote
Guest Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 Some updates, @hardtack! Tom Fularton - Cream Jack Billings - Jibba, JB, Jubba Caleb Windsor - Leb Judd McVee’s official nickname is knuckles and I’ve heard the boys call him this. But today I heard “Juddy” being yelled out a lot, so I guess that qualifies too. i forgot to ask Kynan Brown what the boys call him, so not sure if Pup is a thing. Shane McAdam still nicknameless. 😭 Didn’t get a chance to talk with KFW or AMW, so for now they’re KFW and. AMW 🤷♀️ Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 2 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: Some updates, @hardtack! Tom Fularton - Cream Jack Billings - Jibba, JB, Jubba Caleb Windsor - Leb Judd McVee’s official nickname is knuckles and I’ve heard the boys call him this. But today I heard “Juddy” being yelled out a lot, so I guess that qualifies too. i forgot to ask Kynan Brown what the boys call him, so not sure if Pup is a thing. Shane McAdam still nicknameless. 😭 Didn’t get a chance to talk with KFW or AMW, so for now they’re KFW and. AMW 🤷♀️ ...but soon, perhaps, the 'W Twins', Chicken and Mornin'? 1 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,165 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 7 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: Some updates, @hardtack! Shane McAdam still nicknameless. 😭 Not anymore 😂 1 Quote
hardtack 11,106 Posted March 22, 2024 Author Posted March 22, 2024 (edited) 4 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said: Yeah, but in the absence of a genuine player attributed nick name, then I think the supporter group should step in. Even if they have a somewhat vanilla existing one, then I think the tribe should impose something with a bit more punch. A few starting suggestions: Jed Adams - Lurch Marty Hore - a part of me laughs at Dirty, but perhaps these days it's not quite appropriate these days, so perhaps McFly could be another option. Kind of suits his back story getting de-listed and re-listed Back to The Future. I get your point re the supporter group stepping in, but the issue I can see is that there’ll be numerous suggestions, some good, some not so good, so to avoid the list getting too cluttered, how do you decide what is acceptable? I’ll add to my conundrum with these… For those old enough, Marty Hore’s nickname could be ‘Spin’ and Jed Adam’s’ could be ‘Uncle’ or even ‘Pugsley’. Edited March 22, 2024 by hardtack 1 Quote
hardtack 11,106 Posted March 22, 2024 Author Posted March 22, 2024 12 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said: Played local footy with a bloke first name Phil who answered to that nickname. He was also known as Car City. Had a kind of wonky eye - if you remeber the advertisement, you'll get the reference! 🤪 It was also Phil Read’s (spelling?) nickname. 2 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 (edited) 22 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said: ...but soon, perhaps, the 'W Twins', Chicken and Mornin'? Umm...one small step further into the silliness? Chicken and Mornay. (I have a lot of spare time...) Edited March 22, 2024 by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 1 Quote
Neil Crompton 5,852 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 1 hour ago, hardtack said: I get your point re the supporter group stepping in, but the issue I can see is that there’ll be numerous suggestions, some good, some not so good, so to avoid the list getting too cluttered, how do you decide what is acceptable? I’ll add to my conundrum with these… For those old enough, Marty Hore’s nickname could be ‘Spin’ and Jed Adam’s’ could be ‘Uncle’ or even ‘Pugsley’. Haha, no one is that old, hardtack! Suggestion for Blake Howes : “Crowded”. (Inspired by @Timothy Reddan-A'Blew). 1 2 Quote
dee-tox 4,835 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 Windsor could be the 'knot' after windsor knot! Or not. 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 Balls Grinter is the best nickname we've had 2 1 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,023 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 (edited) On 21/03/2024 at 11:37, bush demon said: Sorry to sidetrack, but don't forget the past: "Tassie" Robert Johnson "Hassa" Harold Mann "Diamond Jim" Tiibrook "Tiger" Crosswell "Crackers" Keenan "Spud" Dullard Ian "Tiddles" Ridley "Doc" Roet Mark "Wacko" Jacko. Jackson Johny "Twinkle Toes" Townsend Here's a few more @bush demon. Tulip Strawbs Rhino The Wiz Stinger Juice Clogs The Big Russian The Wrecker Master Edited March 22, 2024 by Queanbeyan Demon Typo 2 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,023 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 (edited) But no one will ever beat this for a nickname . . . Peter Everett called Grant Thomas 'Mini Bus'. Reckoned he was only half a coach. Edited March 22, 2024 by Queanbeyan Demon Typo 5 1 Quote
KLV 1,768 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 On 21/03/2024 at 06:18, Rab D Nesbitt said: Nobody inside the club calls Melky by Milkshake. I think it might have been coined by the deebrief boys along with the equally embarrassing Spargypants. We call Melky , Lord Melksham 1 1 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 10 hours ago, hardtack said: I get your point re the supporter group stepping in, but the issue I can see is that there’ll be numerous suggestions, some good, some not so good, so to avoid the list getting too cluttered, how do you decide what is acceptable? The good ones stick, the not so good ones don't. 1 Quote
hardtack 11,106 Posted March 22, 2024 Author Posted March 22, 2024 3 hours ago, Rodney (Balls) Grinter said: The good ones stick, the not so good ones don't. Does someone want to compile me a list of those that have stuck? 😉 2 Quote
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,064 Posted March 22, 2024 Posted March 22, 2024 9 hours ago, KLV said: We call Melky , Lord Melksham What about Lord Milkshake? 2 Quote
MrFreeze 2,054 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 I've always called Langdon, the Flying Dutchman. I have no idea if he's Dutch but he has some dutch vibes about him. 1 Quote
Queanbeyan Demon 7,023 Posted April 4, 2024 Posted April 4, 2024 I'm calling Judd McVee 'dirty' - as in 'dirt cheap'. Could get confusing with Marty back at the Club though. 1 Quote