POLL: Premiers 2023  

175 members have voted

Posted

@Demonland

Andy, could you please amend the incorrect spelling of Fremantle in the OP? It shouldn’t matter, but it does. 😁

Posted

Geelong were gifted the Premiership this year. From having one of the easiest draws in the comp in the home and away season and then they only scraped through beating Collingwood in the first final, it showed their true measure. Brisbane we all knew should of been knocked out first week of finals, except for a miracle goal that beat Richmond and then they played a banged up Melbourne side. Sydney was so banged up from their do or die Prelim against Collingwood that they failed to fire a shot in the Granny.

Melbourne are the team to beat in 2023, I'm still so [censored] we threw in the towel this year... this was the premiership that got away from us because we failed to rotate our injured players accordingly. While we had players like Dunstan, Tomlinson, Turner, JVR, Bedford, Bowey, Chandler and even Weid ready to step in. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Demonstone said:

Yes mate, that was the joke.  :D

Soz, I don’t have a sense of humour anymore, remember? 😉 

Posted (edited)

Anyone but Sydney.

Clubs that dish out a shameful performance in a grand final fall away badly the next year and/or don’t win a final.

Examples:

Dogs - 2021 into 2022

Gws - 2019 into 2020

Adelaide - 2018 into 2019

Sydney - 2014 into 2015

St Kilda - 2010 into 2011

Port - 2007 into 2008

Collingwood - 2003 into 2004

Melbourne - 2000 into 2001

Sydney won’t be in a grand final next year.

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell
Posted
9 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Anyone but Sydney.

Clubs that dish out a shameful performance in a grand final fall away badly the next year and/or don’t win a final.

Examples:

Dogs - 2021 into 2022

Gws - 2019 into 2020

Sydney - 2014 into 2015

Port - 2007 into 2008

Should be Adelaide - 2017 into 2018(?)

Posted
1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Should be Adelaide - 2017 into 2018(?)

Yep spot on. Good correction.

Adelaide weren’t really that awful in the 2017 GF, comparative to Sydney the other day, but were hot favs to beat Richmond and accordingly haven’t recovered since.

Posted
11 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Agree with the post, but Sydney have enough players coming through thanks to their Academy etc to keep themselves relevant.

Geelong on the other hand ... that was their last hurrah with this group. 12 players over 29 I think it was, the only way now is down.

Demons v Pies GF for me, Freo could be thereabouts depending who they lose/keep/gain, and don't feel you can rule out the Dogs, strange as that might seem. They've had the same post-GF hangover as us this year, but will start afresh in 2023.

But ... very even comp and if a team can make it deep into the finals and keep most of their players on the park (injuries) anything's possible.

Posted
10 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Yep spot on. Good correction.

Adelaide weren’t really that awful in the 2017 GF, comparative to Sydney the other day, but were hot favs to beat Richmond and accordingly haven’t recovered since.

And while executing the menacing power stance, little did they know that losing the grand final wasn’t the worst thing that was about to befall them. 

Posted
6 hours ago, bing181 said:

Agree with the post, but Sydney have enough players coming through thanks to their Academy etc to keep themselves relevant.

Geelong on the other hand ... that was their last hurrah with this group. 12 players over 29 I think it was, the only way now is down.

Demons v Pies GF for me, Freo could be thereabouts depending who they lose/keep/gain, and don't feel you can rule out the Dogs, strange as that might seem. They've had the same post-GF hangover as us this year, but will start afresh in 2023.

But ... very even comp and if a team can make it deep into the finals and keep most of their players on the park (injuries) anything's possible.

Sydney actually remind me a bit of our 2018 side. A few years early and embarrassed in the finals but a lot of upside on the list.

And having been on the “Geelong’s last hurrah” bandwagon for the last few years I’m now in the “I’ll believe their decline when I see it” category. Should happen but geez they are a strong club. I hate it.

Posted (edited)
23 hours ago, Mel Bourne said:

Reddit AFL forum held this poll and there was an overwhelming amount of neutral supporters saying that Melbourne will come back strong in ‘23. Many also, tipping us for the flag. 

This is what life looks like without MFCSS 

Just listening to the Neal Daniher audio book where he mentioned the importance of the club, that being the board, football department and players all being aligned, plus an element of good luck to have any chance of success.

To me (as an outsider) it appears that they are, therefore  I live in hope that we once again will be serious contenders in 2023.

Getting the fans on board would be an absolute bonus, but I am painfully aware of just how prevalent and imbedded the MFCSS is……but I still live in hope.

Edited by Wodjathefirst

Posted
21 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Anyone but Sydney.

Examples:

Dogs - 2021 into 2022

Gws - 2019 into 2020

Sydney - 2014 into 2015

Port - 2007 into 2008

This article from AFL website is similar to what I’m saying above, in that Sydney are unlikely to play in a Gf next year due to history..

https://www.afl.com.au/news/851881/the-history-swans-must-defy-after-grand-final-bloods-bath

Whilst they have youth on their side with all their academy blokes and the seriously impressive Chad Warner, you can’t overlook the fact that the GF loss may scar the Swans for the next couple of years.

It would be soul destroying for Sydney to think that they were no where near good enough to even be remotely competitive on the biggest stage of all.

Posted
2 hours ago, Radar Detector said:

Sydney actually remind me a bit of our 2018 side. A few years early and embarrassed in the finals but a lot of upside on the list.

And having been on the “Geelong’s last hurrah” bandwagon for the last few years I’m now in the “I’ll believe their decline when I see it” category. Should happen but geez they are a strong club. I hate it.

I don’t see Geelong declining next year.

I see a club at the peak of its powers that simply knows what it’s doing.

Posted
22 hours ago, Caligula's cohort said:

Geelong were gifted the Premiership this year. From having one of the easiest draws in the comp in the home and away season and then they only scraped through beating Collingwood in the first final, it showed their true measure. Brisbane we all knew should of been knocked out first week of finals, except for a miracle goal that beat Richmond and then they played a banged up Melbourne side. Sydney was so banged up from their do or die Prelim against Collingwood that they failed to fire a shot in the Granny.

Melbourne are the team to beat in 2023, I'm still so [censored] we threw in the towel this year... this was the premiership that got away from us because we failed to rotate our injured players accordingly. While we had players like Dunstan, Tomlinson, Turner, JVR, Bedford, Bowey, Chandler and even Weid ready to step in. 

Not sure that I agree with the entire list of player suggestions, above, but the Premiership did get away from us (as we have proven to be static and presumptuous whilst still being highly dependent on the few). However, some of these players needed to be brought into the team of reducible capacities, without doubt. The writing was on the wall for us; we failed to see that the game plan was dated and well scrutinised, the wellness of players proving to be an enormously significant reason for more mediocre execution and ability to resist - after Round 10 - cascading losses across 100 minutes of footy. Rotation was indeed the most obvious need - it is no longer a 'lesson', it should be 'doctrine'. 

Posted

I reckon we're a very good chance to bounce back really hard and be right in the mix in 2023. 

Posted
19 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I don’t see Geelong declining next year.

I see a club at the peak of its powers that simply knows what it’s doing.

I think they'll be another shot at it, whether it's the best shot remains to be seen but they will be in the mix. Any drop offs with Geelong will probably be minimal and shortlived as their succession planning has been unmatched and this big fall off a cliff that people desperately want to happen just isn't going to be as big as they think. 

Pretty fair to assume they will be top 4 again. 

Posted

AFL 2023: ESPN's way-too-early predictions - Can the Cats go again? Is it Carlton's year?

https://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/34652969/afl-2023-espn-way-too-early-predictions-next-season-premier-runner-brownlow-medal

Can click on the article for all the random other things (Brownlow/Sliders/Coleman etc)

Found this interesting 

Jake Michaels - Premier - Melbourne FC
Rohan Conolly - Premier - Sydney (Melbourne 4th)
Matt Walsh - Premier - Melbourne FC
Jarryd Barca - Premier - Melbourne FC