41 minutes ago, Demon Jack said:

Jake Melksham continuing his surprise resurgence. Chased hard and provided a solid target on the lead. Probably should've finished with 2-3 goals 

Liking his game at the moment. Adds a different element to our forward line.

He is playing a very disciplined role…respect! If he keeps playing his role he will stay in the team. I’m pleased for him

As Melbourne a win as I've seen this year. 

Steady-time, strangulation football at its finest. We never streaked ahead in an 8 goal burst in 6 minutesto put the game out of reach, but we didn't need to. It was 3 goals to us, maybe one or 2 to them and then 4 to us spaced out over a 25 minute stanza of play.

Frontal pressure was back in a big way tonight. Hands were up, bullocking was done and chasing ever present. Coast to coast ball movement came about from organization behind the ball and getting out back by utilzing defensive fifty pressure.

Big hand to Fritta. He might have unfairly copped a lot of shizer, but there have been multiple times over the last few months where he hasn't passed off when he should. He did so tonight and probably got let down by his team mates who didn't convert. But that he did was a great sign.

Jack Viney was absolutely outstanding. Hard as a cat's head, he is now using his footy smarts too. He's not just like a bulldog charging into packs. He's got a few steps and dance moves that he used sensationally tonight. When the time has come to stand up and be counted, Jack has done it consistently from 2015 onwards. We made the right choice when we picked Maxy as captain. However, should he be hit by a bus tomorrow, I have full confidence Jack would do an exemplary job in the role.

Melksham is also indicating to me that he might have something in the tank for this September. What I have noticed is his chase and defensive pressure (which was his weakness leading into the '21 finals). Quite a few times have I seen him charging flat chat out of the forward 50 to try to pin down a flanker running the ball out of there. He doesn't have the jets of a Kozzy or Hunt, but the effort is what is telling for mine. He could be invaluable with his ability to connect moving forward into the fifty.

Gus was also invaluable tonight. We talk about swingmen in football. He would have to be it. Put him back and he plays taller than his height. Put him on the wing and his committment to 1% and clogging up space makes him indispensible. Put him in the guts and he is in his wheelhouse. I thought he might have been gone by the end of this week, but I'm bloody glad he stayed.

Next week, it's Collingwood. Since 2020, I like the fact that we rarely let teams beat us more than two times in a row. We owe them for Queen's Birthday and a win will be a major statement from us. Either way, it will be a ripping game hopefully!

52 minutes ago, loges said:

That's what I'm talking about !!!!

Binman Genius.

50 minutes ago, AmsterdamDeesFan said:

We are all Binman tonight.

50 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

@binman - well done

Yeah missed it.

What did he say?

1 minute ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

As Melbourne a win as I've seen this year. 

Steady-time, strangulation football at its finest. We never streaked ahead in an 8 goal burst in 6 minutesto put the game out of reach, but we didn't need to. It was 3 goals to us, maybe one or 2 to them and then 4 to us spaced out over a 25 minute stanza of play.

Frontal pressure was back in a big way tonight. Hands were up, bullocking was done and chasing ever present. Coast to coast ball movement came about from organization behind the ball and getting out back by utilzing defensive fifty pressure.

Big hand to Fritta. He might have unfairly copped a lot of shizer, but there have been multiple times over the last few months where he hasn't passed off when he should. He did so tonight and probably got let down by his team mates who didn't convert. But that he did was a great sign.

Jack Viney was absolutely outstanding. Hard as a cat's head, he is now using his footy smarts too. He's not just like a bulldog charging into packs. He's got a few steps and dance moves that he used sensationally tonight. When the time has come to stand up and be counted, Jack has done it consistently from 2015 onwards. We made the right choice when we picked Maxy as captain. However, should he be hit by a bus tomorrow, I have full confidence Jack would do an exemplary job in the role.

Melksham is also indicating to me that he might have something in the tank for this September. What I have noticed is his chase and defensive pressure (which was his weakness leading into the '21 finals). Quite a few times have I seen him charging flat chat out of the forward 50 to try to pin down a flanker running the ball out of there. He doesn't have the jets of a Kozzy or Hunt, but the effort is what is telling for mine. He could be invaluable with his ability to connect moving forward into the fifty.

Gus was also invaluable tonight. We talk about swingmen in football. He would have to be it. Put him back and he plays taller than his height. Put him on the wing and his committment to 1% and clogging up space makes him indispensible. Put him in the guts and he is in his wheelhouse. I thought he might have been gone by the end of this week, but I'm bloody glad he stayed.

Next week, it's Collingwood. Since 2020, I like the fact that we rarely let teams beat us more than two times in a row. We owe them for Queen's Birthday and a win will be a major statement from us. Either way, it will be a ripping game hopefully!

Apologies Col, as I normally skim your posts because they are sooooo long winded, but every single word of that was 100% on point.

Well said.

1 minute ago, faultydet said:

Apologies Col, as I normally skim your posts because they are sooooo long winded, but every single word of that was 100% on point.

Well said.

You probably don't read many of my posts then I guess :pj:

The dribble from the commentary box tonight was atrocious. 5 minutes on LJ and 3 minutes on stucko. Call the game!

Pearls of wisdom such as…

Taylor: “wow the ball spun and bounced backwards. If that bounced over the line if would have been deliberate. What do you make of that?

Brayshaw: “I guess it’s the oval shape of the ball…”

Enoughs enough. Get rid of these idiots.

3 minutes ago, binman said:

You probably don't read many of my posts then I guess :pj:

Mate, I normally take more time to read the posts of people who I would normally disagree with because I might learn something. Yourself included.

Who reads every single post an 'Land?

Now, what was it that you said pre-game that everyone is congratulating you for?

Edited by faultydet

3 minutes ago, faultydet said:

Mate, I normally take more time to read the posts of people who I would normally disagree with because I might learn something. Yourself included.

Who reads every single post an 'Land?

Now, what was it that you said pre-game that everyone is congratulating you for?

He said we would unload, so to speak, on Freo.

He was right, but so was everyone saying we needed to get back to our pressure suffocating best.

God, we were intimidating.

22 minutes ago, AmsterdamDeesFan said:

Sam Weideman’s contributions are keeping my aspirations of one day getting a game for the Dees alive.

He is Olympic level quality at judging exactly how far to move, and at what speed to ensure he runs under the ball in every contested marking contest.

Blood boiling.

Just now, ANG13 said:

Well alright I will have a go but I dare say as soon as I see the Dogs slime ball coach or the first throw by the dogs that isn’t paid a free kick I will be off them. So I might last five minutes. 

Five minutes?! What part of I barracked for Essendon do you not understand! And I held on for the entire match. I was mere seconds away from calling Jake stringer ‘Jakey’ ffs. 
Besides, surely having to see Chris Scott is worse than having to see Bevo coz Chris Scott. 
Do it for the Dees, Ang!

Just now, rpfc said:

He said we would unload, so to speak, on Freo.

He was right, but so was everyone saying we needed to get back to our pressure suffocating best.

God, we were intimidating.

[censored] love it.

I had almost written us off, but that was Premiership quality footy tonight.

Thank you.

1 hour ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Go Bulldogs tomorrow night!!!!

Do we have to?

1 hour ago, Hampton 22 said:

Pretty poor coverage with replays often taking precedence over live action, overlaid by commentary box prattle. 

Dreadful directing and editing.

45 minutes ago, P-man said:

Nothing takes the gloss off a win quite like a 10 minute Joel Selwood montage. Thanks Fox.

Extraordinary wasn’t it.? 🤮

He is not getting huge numbers but Tommy Sparrow is bringing some serious physicality to the team. Great signs for him!

Another young bloke JJ just seems to make the right decision and play such high percentage football. 
I am a big fan of both!

Great performance.

Good comeback game for Hunt. Hopefully he keeps up that form.

I think the wet conditions helped ... it meant that we weren't continually outmarked in F50. 

Most of us knew Spargo would kick the goal on his left foot near the point post in the third yeah? He’s very skilful our Charlie. 

Just now, Lord Nev said:

It was right in front of where we were sitting and I don’t think the footage does how hard he went at the ball the justice it deserves…it was reckless!

Viney has taken his game to another level this year. He might be up there in the Bluey imo.

I love the bloke

2 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Most of us knew Spargo would kick the goal on his left foot near the point post in the third yeah? He’s very skilful our Charlie. 

As SWYL has said,,,,

Charles

51 minutes ago, Sigil said:

I reckon Hibberd should get another run around next year. 

Gus in the midfield let's Salem do his job too (as the half back link up). If we absolutely have to wouldn't mind him going back to a defensive wing position.

We have the cattle it's just putting them in the right paddock.

Yep spot on. With Gus playing half back interceptor, it undermined Salem's quarterback role IMO.

I reckon Rivers and Hunt back there is a really good mix. Hunt still worries me, but he does have the pace to go with the dangerous smalls that basically no one else on our list does (aside from Smith maybe or potentially Bowey).

I was convinced Gus would play on the wing tonight, but I was wrong there. Didn't see the midfield move coming.

I wonder who comes out for Harmes or is he the unlucky one next week? I wouldn't go tweaking behind the ball again unless we have to RE injury from now onwards. The only move I'd consider is Bowey for Hunt.