Posted
34 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Not likely. Possible, but unlikely. Turner’s on the shorter side and Tomlinson can’t move, both have physical impairments to being as good as Petty has been.

Shorter side? Lol...

He's 194cm tall which is taller then Steven May and Tom Stewart and same height as Alex Rance.

You say some weird things.

Posted
27 minutes ago, RedLegs23 said:

We didnt try it because it wouldnt work. We complain at times about the lack of mobility of Tmac but then suggest trying Tomlinson. I know we were desperate but couldnt think of a worse player to be even think of playing in that half of the ground.

So rather then trial and error you reckon just assuming it wouldn't work is the better solution and persisting with an unfit B Brown, and Melksham was better??? Good work.

He played forward at times with GWS sharing the forward line with the likes of Cameron, Patton and Lobb and kicked 35 goals and was a main stay in their team.

Posted
1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Shorter side? Lol...

He's 194cm tall which is taller then Steven May and Tom Stewart and same height as Alex Rance.

You say some weird things.

And if he had May or Rance’s speed and power he’d be great. Or if he plays as the third tall like Stewart and gets 20 touches a game and kicks it unbelievably well.

Petty’s height and reach makes him the perfect complement to May and allows Harry to take genuine pack intercept marks. 

Turner’s a good prospect. I expect him to play a lot of AFL footy. But if we want an elite backline we need him as the 2nd or 3rd tall.

And he’s your friend, cousin, significant other or all or the above. But he’s on the shorter side for key defenders 

Posted

trade baker, weid, brown, chandler, abn
retire hibbo melksham

Straight Sets in 2 home Finals is not acceptable 

Goodwin got outcoached by a lot of his peers this year. 
It must be a long ruthless summer

Posted
2 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

retire hibbo melksham

Thats quite a few very late draft picks required/incoming to delist all of those players.

Let's hope our recruiters have some decent smokies on the books.

Posted
1 minute ago, faultydet said:

Thats quite a few very late draft picks required/incoming to delist all of those players.

Let's hope our recruiters have some decent smokies on the books.

I like ANB but he just makes too many mistakes, and gets caught to often

We have to make changes NOW otherwise last year will mean nothing 

Posted
11 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

retire hibbo melksham

What’s so funny Nev??

I ain’t laughing today. Straight Sets on our home Ground 

Both games we were in winnable positions and Failed 

Posted
6 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

What’s so funny Nev??

Just classic you to roll with the massive changes based on your emotions.

You're a good fella, love your passion.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

What’s so funny Nev??

He normally carpet bombs the place with facepalms.

Consider yourself fortunate to have elicited a different response.

• Haha 7

Posted
14 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Just classic you to roll with the massive changes based on your emotions.

You're a good fella, love your passion.

Massive Changes?? Yep

Totally outclassed in the 2nd Half of both Finals on our Home Ground 

Posted
41 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

And if he had May or Rance’s speed and power he’d be great. Or if he plays as the third tall like Stewart and gets 20 touches a game and kicks it unbelievably well.

Petty’s height and reach makes him the perfect complement to May and allows Harry to take genuine pack intercept marks. 

Turner’s a good prospect. I expect him to play a lot of AFL footy. But if we want an elite backline we need him as the 2nd or 3rd tall.

And he’s your friend, cousin, significant other or all or the above. But he’s on the shorter side for key defenders 

Haha don't go changing your narrative to suit just because I've called you out on it.

Now you're adding speed and power into it which absolutely has nothing to with your first argument which was he was on the short side as a defender.

I clearly pointed out that he's got the perfect height as some of the best full backs in the last decade. 

And how do you know he doesn't have the power off the mark? You CLEARLY way off the mark in this because its his power and speed off the mark is the reason why our recruiting staff were so quick to get him into the club.

Add that to his intercept marking and defensive ability and I can guarantee he'll be playing a lot more AFL gamed next year.

He's got the frame to put on enough size to play as a 2nd key back and potentially as a full back later down the track.

Posted (edited)

Depends what you mean by massive changes and to what end/where @Sir Why You Little.

If we'd had a fit McDonald this year, who we went 10-0 with and then 6-8 without, we're having a different conversation now.

We need to have a genuine back up or player that takes Tom's position and relegates Tom to the back up, but can play that hard transition running game from deep to the half back and forward again. Our game falls over otherwise.

I do think we need changes, don't get me wrong, but I reckon without 24 hours passing, it's easy to throw the baby out with the bathwater.

And yes, I am gutted, [censored] off and embarrassed by going out in straight sets, but when half your team is clearly carrying major fitness concerns, it was probably only a matter of time this year.

It will be interesting to see the wash up of Griffith.

Posted
30 minutes ago, faultydet said:

He normally carpet bombs the place with facepalms.

Consider yourself fortunate to have elicited a different response.

I love the smell of facepalm in the morning…

• Haha 6

Posted
5 minutes ago, A F said:

Depends what you mean by massive changes and to what end/where @Sir Why You Little.

If we'd had a fit McDonald this year, who we went 10-0 with and then 6-8 without, we're having a different conversation now.

We need to have a genuine back up or player that takes Tom's position and relegates Tom to the back up, but can play that hard transition running game from deep to the half back and forward again. Our game falls over otherwise.

I do think we need changes, don't get me wrong, but I reckon without 24 hours passing, it's easy to throw the baby out with the bathwater.

And yes, I am gutted, [censored] off and embarrassed by going out in straight sets, but when half your team is clearly carrying major fitness concerns, it was probably only a matter of time this year.

A Key forward is an absolute must, yes, but the players i mentioned moving on, we need to find improvements 

Posted
15 minutes ago, A F said:

I also think Goodwin backed his 24 Players for too long, we needed to bring more fresh players at times  We went 6-8 from Round 10, the signs were there against Freo in Round 11  it’s not hindsight  

i am not bagging anyone  but Goodwin cannot just back his system next year  It’s been taken down  

Posted
2 hours ago, MadAsHell said:

I'm amazed we never tried Tomlinson forward to replace TMc. He has similar strengths in his running ability, so was shocked it wasn't tried even once.

Mate Goodwin cant think laterally

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Born to Run said:

Do we get pick 14 due to losing last night (ie we were the 5th best club for the year)?

No, Sydney have our first round pick this year. Pending confirmation from results tonight our first pick in draft this year will be 32.

Edited by Nascent
Posted
15 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Haha don't go changing your narrative to suit just because I've called you out on it.

Now you're adding speed and power into it which absolutely has nothing to with your first argument which was he was on the short side as a defender.

I clearly pointed out that he's got the perfect height as some of the best full backs in the last decade. 

And how do you know he doesn't have the power off the mark? You CLEARLY way off the mark in this because its his power and speed off the mark is the reason why our recruiting staff were so quick to get him into the club.

Add that to his intercept marking and defensive ability and I can guarantee he'll be playing a lot more AFL gamed next year.

He's got the frame to put on enough size to play as a 2nd key back and potentially as a full back later down the track.

Of course speed and power matter. Rance and May are elite in that area hence they don’t need height.

Turner stands out at Casey as a good mover which is why he has afl potential, but he’s not in the same ball park as May. And in terms of power he can’t be expected to be until he’s 23+. There’s a huge difference between having draft-able attributes and elite afl level attributes.

The question is not can he play at afl level, it’s whether he’s good enough to take over from a proven performer in Petty. Especially as May probably starts to decline. With the rise of the 2m key forwards I can’t see the coaches taking out a guy with the reach and overhead game of Petty for Turner who will be conceding multiple inches to the big boys. Not immediately next year anyway.

Posted (edited)

I love how last year our flag was built off the coaching of our assistant coaches and now when we don't win it, it's all Goodwin's fault.

• Like 16
  • Love 4