Posted
14 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

From what I understand triple jab + having had Covid provides decent long term immunity.

I might be wrong tho. The variants move and mutate so quickly these days. 

I am still waiting to get Covid. Fairly shocked it hasn't happened yet. 

Go tonight that will greatly increase your chances. 

Posted

None of the vaccines provide great immunity after 60 days but the third dose (especially for those over 55) pretty well guarantees (99%+) that you won't get seriously ill.

TBH Omicron for even double dosed under 50 is rather benign

Posted
18 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

From what I understand triple jab + having had Covid provides decent long term immunity.

I might be wrong tho. The variants move and mutate so quickly these days. 

Out of curiosity does anyone personally know anyone who has had Omicron twice? Not COVID twice as in the original and Delta or Original/Delta and then Omicron but Omicron over Christmas/New Year and then Omicron again since then.

I know a heap of people in my wider circle (including friends of friends etc) that have had COVID but have not heard of anyone being reinfected.

Not talking about anecdotally off of Twitter etc but if anyone personally knows someone that has had Omicron twice and what their jabbed status is.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

Unfortunately I'm missing tonight with this thing that I wouldn't know I had if I didn't test .( I'm doing the right thing)

I'm willing to bet there will be people over this weekend that knowingly go to the footy with COVID just to go to the footy.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Out of curiosity does anyone personally know anyone who has had Omicron twice?

You'd have to be very unlucky as it's only been around since early December and it's generally accepted that you get minimum immunity of 8 weeks.

There is some anecdotal evidence that people can catch Omicron twice, and possibly become infected with the new BA.2 Omicron subvariant shortly after catching the original BA.1 strain. But scientists caution that such reinfections appear rare, especially over a short period of time, and may be overestimated as a result of confusion over testing.

Posted (edited)
23 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

TBH Omicron for even double dosed under 50 is rather benign

Based on what evidence?

Most of the science says it's as impactful as the original strain.

Anecdotally, the majority of my family had Omicron over the last 2 weeks, ages varying from 1 through to 35, all of them had a period of 2-3 days where they were totally bedridden and struggled to even walk to the bathroom. Borderline call with the 1 year old having to get an ambulance, but fortunately his mother (a nurse) was able to get the kid through the night.

All adults had had 3 shots.

Edited by Lord Nev
Posted
19 minutes ago, old dee said:

Go tonight that will greatly increase your chances. 

I am triple vaccinated and have N95 mask at the ready to wear on the train and in the toilets. I don't plan on going to any bars or getting any food. I also sit in the open air, not undercover.

Going tonight is a risk. So is driving a car, eating cheese and drinking alcohol. But life is for living and I am willing to take calculated risks in order to do the things that bring me joy.

Totally understand if some people feel differently, especially older people or those with comorbidities. Unfortunately though it doesn't appear as if Covid is ever going away. 

11 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Out of curiosity does anyone personally know anyone who has had Omicron twice? 

Nope. Half my friends work in healthcare, and none of them have encountered reinfections either. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Based on what evidence?

Most of the science says it's as impactful as Delta.

Anecdotally, the majority of my family had Omicron over the last 2 weeks, ages varying from 1 through to 35, all of them had a period of 2-3 days where they were totally bedridden and struggled to even walk to the bathroom. Borderline call with the 1 year old having to get an ambulance, but fortunately his mother (a nurse) was able to get the kid through the night.

All adults had had 3 shots.

I am so sorry to hear that. Sounds awful.

I think the 'mild' connotation of Omicron is that much like a flu or a bad cold, most people will feel nasty for a couple of days and then make a full recovery. Long Covid is less likely and if you are vaccinated, the chances of you ending up in ED or dying are very very low. That makes it 'mild', even if people who get it do feel absolutely woeful. The rate of short term recovery is what makes it mild in medical terms.

With Delta we were seeing heaps more complications and long Covid, but with Delta we also had a far lower rate of vaccinations, so perhaps Delta isn't more deadly, it's just that our population was less protected from it. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

I am so sorry to hear that. Sounds awful.

I think the 'mild' connotation of Omicron is that much like a flu or a bad cold, most people will feel nasty for a couple of days and then make a full recovery. Long Covid is less likely and if you are vaccinated, the chances of you ending up in ED or dying are very very low. That makes it 'mild', even if people who get it do feel absolutely woeful. The rate of short term recovery is what makes it mild in medical terms.

With Delta we were seeing heaps more complications and long Covid, but with Delta we also had a far lower rate of vaccinations, so perhaps Delta isn't more deadly, it's just that our population was less protected from it. 

Sorry, I meant the original strain not Delta, my bad there. Edited my post, but you beat me to it!

Just think the whole 'mild' thing has been totally oversold. How do we know the long term effects are mild when it's only a few months old? Agree the evidence says if you're vaccinated the chances of severe disease or death are low, I just don't agree with it being labelled mild or benign when that's not been the experience of most people I know and we still have people dying from that strain.

I mean, we have to find ways to move forward and get on with things, but for mine, I don't think labeling it as mild is helpful to the people dealing with it.

Posted (edited)

i'll toss in another anecdotal story for what it's worth

neighbour's sister's daughter (who we have know well for years) just recently turned 21 and had her third jab (moderna).

was rushed to hospital with heart problems, nearly lost a leg, had 2 heart operations and is now in an induced coma (1 week now), prognosis grim with only one side of heart working. fingers crossed.

the only pre existing medical condition she had was lupus and the specialist doctors have said this wasn't the reason.

i don't know what to think about it but i'll not get moderna for my next jab

Correction: she didn't get covid, just the moderna booster, sorry for any confusion

Edited by daisycutter
  • Sad 2
Posted
25 minutes ago, Jaded No More said:

Going tonight is a risk. So is driving a car, eating cheese and drinking alcohol.

Especially if doing all three at the same time.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, daisycutter said:

i'll toss in another anecdotal story for what it's worth

neighbour's sister's daughter (who we have know well for years) just recently turned 21 and had her third jab (moderna).

was rushed to hospital with heart problems, nearly lost a leg, had 2 heart operations and is now in an induced coma (1 week now), prognosis grim with only one side of heart working. fingers crossed.

the only pre existing medical condition she had was lupus and the specialist doctors have said this wasn't the reason.

i don't know what to think about it but i'll not get moderna for my next jab

Correction: she didn't get covid, just the moderna booster, sorry for any confusion

Edited by daisycutter

Posted
3 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Sorry, I meant the original strain not Delta, my bad there. Edited my post, but you beat me to it!

Just think the whole 'mild' thing has been totally oversold. How do we know the long term effects are mild when it's only a few months old? Agree the evidence says if you're vaccinated the chances of severe disease or death are low, I just don't agree with it being labelled mild or benign when that's not been the experience of most people I know and we still have people dying from that strain.

I mean, we have to find ways to move forward and get on with things, but for mine, I don't think labeling it as mild is helpful to the people dealing with it.

The whole ‘mild’ thing has been so misinterpreted. The message was that it was ‘mild’ in the sense it was milder relative to delta. But some knobs ended up twisting that and now we have people saying it’s almost completely harmless, which it is not.

On the bright side, on a case-to-fatality ratio, omicron is now less deadly in Australia compared to the flu thanks to the immunity we’ve built up against it. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

How do you know, if you have Covid, which variant it is, let alone know if you've had the same variant twice? I haven't had Covid, so don't know what I'm looking for.

you need to ask an epidemiologist....and there seem to thousands of them, judging by the media over the last 2 years

Posted
2 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

you need to ask an epidemiologist....and there seem to thousands of them, judging by the media over the last 2 years

Wouldn't that mean that most people wouldn't know which variant they've caught? It might be different for footballers, though, with the presence of club doctors and access to all sorts of medical specialists.

Posted
1 hour ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Wouldn't that mean that most people wouldn't know which variant they've caught? It might be different for footballers, though, with the presence of club doctors and access to all sorts of medical specialists.

pretty sure most people who check +ve have no idea, especially now where the majority of tests are self tested rats

think i read somewhere that one of the variants (not all) was picked up fairly easily in normal pcr lab testing, but don't quote me on that

also i think they still do a lot of sewerage testing which indicates overall ratios but no good for individuals obviously 

Posted
On 3/16/2022 at 4:41 PM, daisycutter said:

My God dc ! That sounds horrible. My worst nightmare. 

Posted
On 3/16/2022 at 2:36 PM, Jaded No More said:

I had it last week. I don't recommend it. 

Posted
On 3/17/2022 at 11:22 AM, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

How do you know, if you have Covid, which variant it is, let alone know if you've had the same variant twice? I haven't had Covid, so don't know what I'm looking for.

They can identify which variant you have with a PCR test. If you've only done a RAT, you won't/can't know.

Posted
10 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Don't know anything more than this tweet from Rohan Connolly. I'm certainly curious as to what he means by "huge logistical issues". For the competition? For the AFL? For the MCG?

image.png.1d6a1ac836a07b1064abeb5cda194af0.png

The MCG has covid?! Games to be played at Casey surely...