RyanD 290 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 minute ago, 3Dee said: 3pm game - hopelessly optimistic, still waiting official word Kidding surely? not a chance.
sue 9,277 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 (edited) Saw a fleeting banner on ABC saying No professional sport. Can't confirm so far Update: from 4pm. "There will be no football matches. So, no community sport, no professional sport, nothing for the next three days. Starting as of 4:00pm today. But I would hope that anyone who's out there concludes whatever they're doing and goes home." Short game coming up... Edited July 31, 2021 by sue 1
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Second hand info, but heard out flight got turned around back to Melbourne.
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Of course the season is derailed and this impacts us directly. Of course. Nothing more obvious. 1
whatwhat say what 23,823 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 https://twitter.com/TomBrowne7/status/1421271431468371968?s=20
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Well season derailed again. Wonderful news. Who starts a lockdown at 4pm? 3
3Dee 1,153 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Well I guess this calls for a snap end to my Dry July. 2 7
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Bit of a sketchy rumour the Suns are trying to get on a plane to Melbourne. Coincidentally, Marvel is free tomorrow... 1 4
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Surely get GC on a plane now and we play them at Marvel tomorrow? 1 1
GCDee 3,202 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 minute ago, Jaded said: Well season derailed again. Wonderful news. Who starts a lockdown at 4pm? Was sitting here watching the presser and said exactly the same thing. Every lockdown we have had starts at 6pm. Cannot see the reasoning to start at 4.
dazzledavey36 56,274 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 (edited) The AFL are [censored] id iots. This game should have been moved to Marvel for this afternoon during the week instead of Metricon. Gold Coast play Carlton next week in Melbourne so it made sense that GC stay in Melbourne for this week and play in Melbourne again Bunch of amateurs. Edited July 31, 2021 by dazzledavey36 10
GCDee 3,202 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 17 minutes ago, Jaded said: Of course the season is derailed and this impacts us directly. Of course. Nothing more obvious. To be fair it will directly impact Port, swans, giants and bombers all vying for finals/top 4.
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 8 minutes ago, Lord Nev said: Bit of a sketchy rumour the Suns are trying to get on a plane to Melbourne. Coincidentally, Marvel is free tomorrow... So is the G and Kardina 3 games scheduled in Qld should be played in melb tomorrow to get the games away 2
Engorged Onion 10,224 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 (edited) 2 minutes ago, GCDee said: To be fair it will directly impact Port, swans, giants and bombers all vying for finals/top 4. . Edited July 31, 2021 by Engorged Onion
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 minute ago, Bates Mate said: So is the G and Kardina 3 games scheduled in Qld should be played in melb tomorrow to get the games away Absolute stupidity to schedule so many games in QLD when they’ve had some many breaches this last week. 1
BDA 23,048 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: The AFL are [censored] id iots. This game should have been moved to Marvel for this afternoon during the week instead of Metricon. Gold Coast play Carlton next week in Melbourne so it made sense that GC stay in Melbourne for this week and play in Melbourne again Bunch of amateurs. Did you know there was going to be a snap lockdown in South Queenland today? I'm no great fan of the AFL but they've done a great job keeping the show on the road this season so far 6
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 13 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: The AFL are [censored] id iots. This game should have been moved to Marvel for this afternoon during the week instead of Metricon. Gold Coast play Carlton next week in Melbourne so it made sense that GC stay in Melbourne for this week and play in Melbourne again Bunch of amateurs. Haha you're always so feisty on game day mate! 2
old55 23,860 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 (edited) Whately on SEN Crunchtime says MFC plane diverted mid-route on the way to GC on to Perth but needs to refuel somewhere ... Edited July 31, 2021 by Pollyanna 2 1
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,062 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 1 minute ago, BDA said: Did you know there was going to be a snap lockdown in South Queenland today? I'm no great fan of the AFL but they've done a great job keeping the show on the road this season so far I generally agree, but I actually think the AFL should have bitten the bullet and hubbed all teams in Melbourne. Puss off this Perth Stadium grand final [censored] as well. 1
Garbo 1,567 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Any bet it gets moved to pre finals bye week now along with Essendon and swans 1
dazzledavey36 56,274 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Just now, BDA said: Did you know there was going to be a snap lockdown in South Queenland today? I'm no great fan of the AFL but they've done a great job keeping the show on the road this season so far Its not about the lockdown. I was just as frustrated at the scheduling. We fly to QLD on game day, play a full game of footy then jump on a plane again and fly 5 hours across the country? How is that deemed fair? Had we played in Melbourne, GC would have had to fly down, play footy and stay for another week. We also get to stay in town, play our game then jump on a plane to QLD. That's as reasonable and fair for both clubs. AFL run by a bunch of simpletons. 1 1 1
Rodney (Balls) Grinter 11,062 Posted July 31, 2021 Posted July 31, 2021 Living in South East Queensland, I was originally quite happy when our game Vs the Suns was switched last week, as I'd inadvertently double booked myself with a camping trip. Was stoked when I booked my tickets for today's game on Thursday night. Really flat about things being cancelled this morning. Guess I was really fated not to watch this game in person. 2