On 23/02/2021 at 07:14, Sir Why You Little said:

Irrelevent in today’s market OD

Why? Why would  a labour government  be keen to give money to a mainly  conservative voting football club who's members are spread all over Melbourne the majority of which won't vote for them anytime. Compare that to Geelong. Plenty of potential voters to persuade there. 

On 23/02/2021 at 07:13, old dee said:

Myth or not CD that is how we are viewed like it or not. I have numerous Pies,  Tigers and Bomber member friends,  they all call toffs from the MCC. The  MFC is viewed as an off shoot of the MCC we have had numerous Liberal party members / leaders as board members and Office holders over the years. A number of X players have been liberal members of parliament in Vic and TAS. Our members are predominately conservative. A Labour government would know there is hardly any votes in the MFC. 

For what it's worth OD when not furloughed I work in Armadale. Every second car in the back streets has the little Melbourne sticker we get in our membership pack. I walked into my go to cafe there one morning and the two baristas were talking to three other punters about the Dees prospects that week. I think we've certainly got our share of conservative leaning supporters but I'm less certain about that hampering our prospects of funding from Dan. 

On 23/02/2021 at 03:21, Lucifer's Hero said:

Thanks for the excellent summary.

So he wants to vet potential Board candidates.  mfc isn't his private law practice.  It is our club and he can't run it like a fiefdom.

The more info that is coming out about the Board election and the AGM the more concerned I am about Bartlett's appropriateness for the role and therefore the direction of our beloved football club.

I am genuinely concerned about the direction our football club is headed with Bartlett at the wheel. He is very proud of the Club Values that were introduced last year being TRUE (Trust, Respect, Unity and Excellence), however, can we observe his behaviour against these values as applied to the following:

Election process and results - Trust

Members - restricted AGM Q&A, ability to ask the question - Respect

Board members - Unity. Based on his comments last night around vetting individuals, only the individuals that will be compliant to Bartlett are welcome on the Board.

Diversity - From his infamous email in mid January, he referenced diversity, diversity in Bartlett's book must not apply to individuals that bring a different voice, think different and offer a different point of view - Excellence

How does this type of behaviour manifest itself down to the leaders in our Footy Department and the Administration team. The President referenced that he spent a day with the Football Department, I can only hope it was a short visit.

On 22/02/2021 at 23:31, Baghdad Bob said:

Did anyone see the question and answer section.  What was said (if anything) about the muzzling of Peter Lawrence?

I jotted down all the questions that were "asked". No reference to board election process change, in fact, I do not think Peter's name was referenced once for the entire night. 

Questions generally were about facilities, team performance/expectations for the year, diversity question, being an unassisted club, question about members attending games, bringing back the Proud to Belong jumper this year, who provided the fair value land valuation and there were 5 people on the ballot and why didn't you leave up to members to decide who to vote for, 

On 23/02/2021 at 07:41, Mika98_99 said:

I am genuinely concerned about the direction our football club is headed with Bartlett at the wheel. He is very proud of the Club Values that were introduced last year being TRUE (Trust, Respect, Unity and Excellence), however, can we observe his behaviour against these values as applied to the following:

Election process and results - Trust

Members - restricted AGM Q&A, ability to ask the question - Respect

Board members - Unity. Based on his comments last night around vetting individuals, only the individuals that will be compliant to Bartlett are welcome on the Board.

Diversity - From his infamous email in mid January, he referenced diversity, diversity in Bartlett's book must not apply to individuals that bring a different voice, think different and offer a different point of view - Excellence

How does this type of behaviour manifest itself down to the leaders in our Footy Department and the Administration team. The President referenced that he spent a day with the Football Department, I can only hope it was a short visit.

On 23/02/2021 at 07:23, old dee said:

Why? Why would  a labour government  be keen to give money to a mainly  conservative voting football club who's members are spread all over Melbourne the majority of which won't vote for them anytime. Compare that to Geelong. Plenty of potential voters to persuade there. 

Not all MFC Supporters and Members vote Liberal and go Skiing â›· every year OD

You are just reciting a Stereotypical view

Whorethorn are more Toffy than the Demons in 2021

On 23/02/2021 at 07:13, old dee said:

Myth or not CD that is how we are viewed like it or not. I have numerous Pies,  Tigers and Bomber member friends,  they all call toffs from the MCC. The  MFC is viewed as an off shoot of the MCC we have had numerous Liberal party members / leaders as board members and Office holders over the years. A number of X players have been liberal members of parliament in Vic and TAS. Our members are predominately conservative. A Labour government would know there is hardly any votes in the MFC. 

We should have struck when John Thwaites was deputy premier to Bracks.

On 23/02/2021 at 07:28, Rab D Nesbitt said:

For what it's worth OD when not furloughed I work in Armadale. Every second car in the back streets has the little Melbourne sticker we get in our membership pack. I walked into my go to cafe there one morning and the two baristas were talking to three other punters about the Dees prospects that week. I think we've certainly got our share of conservative leaning supporters but I'm less certain about that hampering our prospects of funding from Dan. 

I just think when things get hard they don't try as hard as they would for Dogs or cats. Add that to the fact we are putting up the hardest  case of  any club. Using public open green space in 2021for a football club is far from easy.

On 23/02/2021 at 08:15, Sir Why You Little said:

If you don't think that is not the way most football goes see us you are just seeing what you want. 

On 23/02/2021 at 06:55, deevotee said:

BDA : I have no issue with the relinquishment of an insidious revenue source of income from gambling. 

But it is no furphy raising alternative revenue streams when the equivalent to the forgone gambling income, based on the year before Covid is in the order of $200 for each financial voting member each year.     That is not going to happen.  So where is the alternative revenue stream ?   Any ideas welcome. The Board has had none so far.

When you say alternative revenue streams what are thinking of DV? Serious question. I don’t know of too many sporting clubs who derive income from non-football sources.

The below link details how Real Madrid re-structured their operations to clear debt and generate better profits. They essentially exploited their brand to the max and the strength of the brand is ultimately dependent upon on field success.  They’re obviously in a different stratosphere to us but the same principals apply to most clubs.

https://www.drandyfranklynmiller.com/1305-2/

On 23/02/2021 at 08:15, Sir Why You Little said:

That bloke with his bloody cheese plater has a lot to answer for. 

On 23/02/2021 at 08:29, old dee said:

If you don't think that is not the way most football goes see us you are just seeing what you want. 

Every club has its stereotypes OD. We all know the Range Rovers and Ski Weekends, it’s a dig. 
I know loads of Filth Supporters who ski and drive Mercedes AMG V8’s

On 23/02/2021 at 09:14, Sir Why You Little said:

Every club has its stereotypes OD. We all know the Range Rovers and Ski Weekends, it’s a dig. 
I know loads of Filth Supporters who ski and drive Mercedes AMG V8’s

Yeh but they stole them. 

Beat me to it Ethan, I was going to ask how to Hotwire an AMG

On 23/02/2021 at 01:46, Dannyz said:

They will have to think outside the box. Debt levels have ended 'community & leisure' funding handouts.

Some sort of medical hub is my shout.

It has to be Casey. We have to embrace Casey or else we’ll wither an die.

While we have a CEO that thinks Casey is lucky to have us rather than the other way around, we’ll struggle to make anything stick.

Wow, dinner of you guys really message a lot of sense. Maybe if enough of you contact the club with these concerns you may get some answers, especially if you hound them enough.

Edited by AzzKikA

On 23/02/2021 at 11:07, Mach5 said:

While we have a CEO that thinks Casey is lucky to have us rather than the other way around, we’ll struggle to make anything stick.

I believe we would wither and Die if we moved 100% to Casey. It is in the middle of Nowhere 

The Club needs to become more innovative, i get the impression now, that Bartlett just thinks it will all happen. 
If there are no announcements this year, i will be very disappointed 

On 23/02/2021 at 11:24, Sir Why You Little said:

I believe we would wither and Die if we moved 100% to Casey. It is in the middle of Nowhere 

The Club needs to become more innovative, i get the impression now, that Bartlett just thinks it will all happen. 
If there are no announcements this year, i will be very disappointed 

Casey is not in the middle of nowhere ... it's a huge area with hundreds of thousands of dwellings that is growing in huge numbers by the day.  The area needs a lot more infrastructure but the club will only need a proper facility (hasn't $5Million already been spent out there in recent times?)

It's in many ways a golden opportunity if the club was wanting to add on to the facility out there as we'd get State & Federal funding (IMO) as apposed to the pipe-dream that is the could-be inner City facility.  Can't see the latter happening anyway.  To me it's just hollow talk & rhetoric emanating from the board

It's not like we'd be playing out at Casey,  just training and admin etc.  Similar to Tulla & Dingley but further out.  And having a proper base out there gives the club a chance to grow its supporter base and membership

The players are supposed to be pro's so they'd get used to it.  They'd be going against the traffic in the morning and late in the arvo the same.  It's 9-5 these days as a player (with a day or 2 off per week and loads of holidays)

You can hold meetings anywhere,  gyms are gyms no matter where they are and the playing surface can be the best in the business (as the Junction Oval was historically)

Truth is that most Demon supporters are really only interested in watching the team play games on the MCG (or on the telly) so where our training base is, is quite irrelevant to the masses

I'd be angling at Casey whilst getting the State & Federal governments on board.  Take the money & opportunity whilst it's staring us in the face

It's all pointing towards Casey as I read it anyway

On 23/02/2021 at 08:32, Better days ahead said:

When you say alternative revenue streams what are thinking of DV? Serious question. I don’t know of too many sporting clubs who derive income from non-football sources.

The below link details how Real Madrid re-structured their operations to clear debt and generate better profits. They essentially exploited their brand to the max and the strength of the brand is ultimately dependent upon on field success.  They’re obviously in a different stratosphere to us but the same principals apply to most clubs.

https://www.drandyfranklynmiller.com/1305-2/

This is one example

https://alignedleisure.com.au/about-us/

The fact is the MFC decided to turn away millions because it was "the right thing to do". That's fine if they can replace that revenue but they haven't and members will rightly ask the question about how they plan to compensate for the shortfall in revenue. Can't keep re-evaluating the land they own every season.

On 23/02/2021 at 11:07, Mach5 said:

Out in the boondocks? No thanks

On 23/02/2021 at 12:07, Macca said:

Casey is not in the middle of nowhere ... it's a huge area with hundreds of thousands of dwellings that is growing in huge numbers by the day.  The area needs a lot more infrastructure but the club will only need a proper facility (hasn't $5Million already been spent out there in recent times?)

It's in many ways a golden opportunity if the club was wanting to add on to the facility out there as we'd get State & Federal funding (IMO) as apposed to the pipe-dream that is the could-be inner City facility.  Can't see the latter happening anyway.  To me it's just hollow talk & rhetoric emanating from the board

It's not like we'd be playing out at Casey,  just training and admin etc.  Similar to Tulla & Dingley but further out.  And having a proper base out there gives the club a chance to grow its supporter base and membership

The players are supposed to be pro's so they'd get used to it.  They'd be going against the traffic in the morning and late in the arvo the same.  It's 9-5 these days as a player (with a day or 2 off per week and loads of holidays)

You can hold meetings anywhere,  gyms are gyms no matter where they are and the playing surface can be the best in the business (as the Junction Oval was historically)

Truth is that most Demon supporters are really only interested in watching the team play games on the MCG (or on the telly) so where our training base is, is quite irrelevant to the masses

I'd be angling at Casey whilst getting the State & Federal governments on board.  Take the money & opportunity whilst it's staring us in the face

It's all pointing towards Casey as I read it anyway

But if the players have the option of playing for Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton hell even Saints, Bulldogs North and Essendon and there relatively central training bases why would they have to "get used to it"?

On 23/02/2021 at 12:36, Dr. Gonzo said:

Out in the boondocks? No thanks

'Personally' or are you thinking it hurts the club being partly based out there?

Does it really matter where we train? 

On 23/02/2021 at 12:39, Dr. Gonzo said:

But if the players have the option of playing for Collingwood, Richmond, Carlton hell even Saints, Bulldogs North and Essendon and there relatively central training bases why would they have to "get used to it"?

Because they're getting paid to do so.  They are professional sportsmen once contracted to the club

Truth is we're not a destination club anyway unless we entice with big amounts of dollars

Players get drafted to all sorts of places in Australia these days so I don't see the problem anyway

Take the money and then act like pro's is how I view it.  What's the average salary $400k?  Not too shabby

You really believe this inner City facility is ever going to eventuate?  And I'd take Casey over Gosch's paddock any day of the week

It's not like any of us supporters need to be there anyway.  Less training reports on this site - who cares?  What does it matter?

New and existing players can be encouraged to buy or move to the South East corridor so as to cut down on travel time.  30 minutes each way is nothing if living in Endeavour Hills,  Glen Waverley,  North Dandenong and the like

To my way of thinking its all pointing towards Casey anyway but the board probably doesn't know how to convey the message

And the players might only be at Casey 3 days a week.  2 days off per week isn't it?  Matchdays are obviously elsewhere and they might have another day in another location