Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Stormy Dee said:

Orthopaedic surgeon myth no. 25b

2 hours ago, chook fowler said:

don't think so hip impingement with labral tears due to femoral dysplasia is real and responds well to treatment, if indeed this is the problem.

I think it might be something like this ???

??????    femoroacetabular impingement    ?????

hip_FAI_medium.jpg

05d40cc3056fd61b2320a177ed256e2c--hip-im                                            images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRgSvicJp5xRWmYfzaQ_Th

Edited by DV8

Posted
17 minutes ago, DV8 said:

I think it might be something like this ???

??????    femoroacetabular impingement    ?????

hip_FAI_medium.jpg

05d40cc3056fd61b2320a177ed256e2c--hip-im                                            images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRgSvicJp5xRWmYfzaQ_Th

That’s the one - CAM impingement 

Posted
2 hours ago, Red and Blue realist said:

He came into his draft year with hip issues didn't he?? Or am I remembering wrong, I know he didn't play a huge amount in his draft year due to injury, which we knew and were happy to give him a lot of time to get right. 

Ankle injuries in his U18 year and some more since.

Posted
13 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

That’s the one - CAM impingement 

This is a tiny bit different, to how I originally understood it, from years ago. (perceptions)...   I imagined it was a born irregularity,  but maybe part right, in that it could be hereditary, as in a propensity to develop the issue,  later in life as an adult.?   

I imagined being born with a little spur on the Femoral head ball.

Posted
19 minutes ago, DV8 said:

This is a tiny bit different, to how I originally understood it, from years ago. (perceptions)...   I imagined it was a born irregularity,  but maybe part right, in that it could be hereditary, as in a propensity to develop the issue,  later in life as an adult.?   

still unknown

Posted
On 5/12/2019 at 10:22 AM, Lucifer's Hero said:

Not sure this is the right thread.

I'm a bit worried about Sam.  I can no longer find the tweet but a few days before last week's Casey game a footy scribe tweeted that Sam had closed his twitter and instagram accounts. 

Anyone have any info on Sam's 'soreness' from that Casey game as he is not on the latest injury list?

Coincidence?

Hope Sam is ok.  He is young and all the noise and negative attention around his contract could be quite disheartening.   Hopefully, he is back playing soon and can get some confidence up. 

And tells his manager to pipe down about the contract to media folk.  Change manager even!

Perhaps he is the sane one, realising that there can be a lot of harm from overusing antisocial media.

If that is what he has done and why, congratulations to him.

Posted
36 minutes ago, chook fowler said:
55 minutes ago, DV8 said:

still unknown

Aah, sorry  'c f'...   I wasn't talking about Sam Weideman in that post...  but about my Original perception...  how I interpreted hearing of  " femoroacetabular impingement",  from the beginning.

Posted

I’ll Leave this here cc sams manager

https://www.theage.com.au/business/consumer-affairs/dead-in-the-water-foxtel-austerity-drive-signals-end-of-sports-rights-boom-20190514-p51n3v.html

Posted
1 minute ago, Superunknown said:

With the kayo product delivering only sports there is no need for Foxtel to regard sports as a loss leader to get subscribers to sign up for the more expensive packages.

The math is relatively simple $300 per year per subscriber. Maximum subscribers 1.5 million ( think I'm generous) but let's say 3 million.

That makes a little under a  billion in total each year from which you need to deduct operating costs and profit before you come up with the money left for rights.

The present AFL deal is around $400M per year and the NRL around $250M. Add in cricket and you are at the end of the pot before they pay for the remaining sports. Sure Foxtel doesn't pay 100% of these rights fee but it pays a very sizeable chunk.

Of course Netflix etc could come along with a killer offer but they are around $15 a month at present so I can't see the return for those companies and they have no need to loss lead.

Then again you might get  a company like Uber that just pours money at the so called future without regard to profits in the short-medium term.

Getting back to Sam... he'll be paid what he's worth.

Posted
On 5/13/2019 at 7:01 PM, Diamond_Jim said:

Oh boy... I am having flashbacks to the last high draft pick that just needed a bit of hip surgery.

Come on down ... Jimma T

Hard to see how this season could get worse

Ahh Ive got a sore throat, I think its Rabies! 

I think I'm Cactus!

Season bottoming out!

Posted

Weed is fine and will play next week for Casey, does not need an operation according to Ryan Larkin SEN

Posted
12 hours ago, Superunknown said:

From the article "Rupert Murdoch's News Corp, which owns 65 per cent of Foxtel, flagged cuts to "non-marquee sports" .

The marquee sports in Australia would be AFL, NRL and Cricket

My reading of that is that they will focus on the marquee sports, this may mean more money. I for one only have Foxtel for the AFL in 4k. No AFL no Foxtel for me.

Posted (edited)
1 minute ago, chook fowler said:

probably tertiary syphilis.

Do you get that at university?

Edited by ManDee
Posted
57 minutes ago, DeeZee said:

Weed is fine and will play next week for Casey, does not need an operation according to Ryan Larkin SEN

Treatment for hip impingement should begin with:
  • Resting the affected hip.
  • Modifying your activities to avoid moving the joint in a way that causes pain.
  • Exercising as recommended by your doctor or physical therapist to strengthen the muscles that support the hip.
  • Taking anti-inflammatory and pain medications.

Posted
1 hour ago, SPC said:

So.. is Sam out for a while?

@trout heard from a family source that surgery may be required. According to @Satyriconhome he trained in the rehab group yesterday. According to @DeeZee the club has said Sam is fine and will play for Casey next week and does not require surgery.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Demonland said:

@trout heard from a family source that surgery may be required. According to @Satyriconhome he trained in the rehab group yesterday. According to @DeeZee the club has said Sam is fine and will play for Casey next week and does not require surgery.

sounds a bit like our gameplan... absolute chaos

Posted
5 minutes ago, Demonland said:

Sounds clear as mud.. Suspecting 4-6

Posted
10 minutes ago, Demonland said:

5 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

sounds a bit like our gameplan... absolute chaos

4 minutes ago, SPC said:

Sounds clear as mud.. Suspecting 4-6

All the above could indeed be correct.