Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Demonland said:

I hope young Jaden can really put focus on the Wing position...  and also from the goal square, where he would be running straight lines at the ball...  then turn to come back the other way.

Edited by DV8

Posted

I will be taking a keen interest in 2 players. Hunt and Garlett. One of these 2 up and firing of which the most likely would be Hunt. It will put us in good shape.

Posted

Hunt was so good in 2017, I thought we had a star on our hands.  Let's hope he can get back to it. So quick, hard at it and a good kick once he slows down enough to pick a target. An in-form Hunt off half back or a wing makes us a better team

Posted

Good luck Mike!!

Posted

I love jayden's run off half back when he is breaking the lines at the blink of an eye and kicking that magic 50 metre goal on the run it really can get the team pumping. His tackles are hard and they stick and that his acceleration off 20 meters is very quick.                               Yes his form in 2017 warranted his place in the best 22 and l still consider him at something near his best he would make us even a much  better team with him there.

2018 is a year to forget with leg injuries and loss of confidence and he is better than that.  Bring on 2019.

Posted
2 hours ago, DubDee said:

Hunt was so good in 2017, I thought we had a star on our hands.  Let's hope he can get back to it. So quick, hard at it and a good kick once he slows down enough to pick a target. An in-form Hunt off half back or a wing makes us a better team

I reckon Hunts half back days are finished.. behind him.   He isn't reliable enough by foot.

I see hunt playing, starting within 60Mtrs from the goal line.

I think he can replace 'tracca', in the deep forwardline.  His speed... akka DeGoey...  I reckon could be his role, if can emulate that style.

Posted
2 hours ago, Salems Lot said:

Run! Jayden Run!

Maybe you've stumbled onto a nickname for Hunty. ?

'Forest' Hunt.

Run! Forest. Run !    ?

Posted
1 hour ago, DV8 said:

Maybe you've stumbled onto a nickname for Hunty. ?

'Forest' Hunt.

Run! Forest. Run !    ?

I shout it whenever he has the ball; I reckon if everyone did it would be a hoot!

Posted
1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said:

He desperately needs to improve his lateral movement, without this he won’t improve.

If he can improve this he’ll become a very valuable asset for us like he was a couple of years ago.

His speed is such a weapon... a huge advantage, his game has developed around that alone... burning off opponents out in acreage.

47 minutes ago, Salems Lot said:

I shout it whenever he has the ball; I reckon if everyone did it would be a hoot!

Run! Forest, Run!...   Or Run!  'deGump',  Run!

Posted

I think that if we are going to take that next step, it will be because some of our blokes who have regressed get back to what they were.

Jayden and Jeffy are exhibit A and B on that front. Jayden especially could be one of the line breakers we need (along with Kolo).  

Posted
13 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

He desperately needs to improve his lateral movement, without this he won’t improve.

If he can improve this he’ll become a very valuable asset for us like he was a couple of years ago.

Lateral movement is the key for him.

Posted

His barrel on the 3/4 time siren in Alice Springs was one of the best kicks for goal after the siren I have ever seen....

Posted
44 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

His barrel on the 3/4 time siren in Alice Springs was one of the best kicks for goal after the siren I have ever seen....

That was all time

Posted
4 hours ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

I think that if we are going to take that next step, it will be because some of our blokes who have regressed get back to what they were.

Jayden and Jeffy are exhibit A and B on that front. Jayden especially could be one of the line breakers we need (along with Kolo).  

Hunt has so much dash. Hopefully he is bringing a high level of professionalism and discipline to his mental and physical preparation and will bring that forward on match day. 

Like others, he is probably going to have play some exceptional footy with Casey early in the season. 

Posted (edited)
53 minutes ago, hemingway said:

Hunt has so much dash. Hopefully he is bringing a high level of professionalism and discipline to his mental and physical preparation and will bring that forward on match day. 

Like others, he is probably going to have play some exceptional footy with Casey early in the season. 

I'd like to see him use that dash from F/F... leading up to win ball in some space, then turn & steady, to either give by hand or to spot the short option.

I don't mind if he lead up to the wing, dragging his opponent with him.  He has a long leg and would be a scoring danger for opponents.

Edited by DV8

Posted
16 minutes ago, DV8 said:

I'd like to see him use that dash from F/F... leading up to win ball in some space, then turn & steady, to either give by hand or to spot the short option.

I don't mind if he lead up to the wing, dragging his opponent with him.  He has a long leg and would be a scoring danger for opponents.

An interesting and unusual suggestion DV8.

Can't see it happening but stranger things have happened.  

A throwback to Barry Bourke in 1963/64.  A very fast lead to win the ball but often used as a decoy.

Posted
28 minutes ago, hemingway said:

A throwback to Barry Bourke in 1963/64.  A very fast lead to win the ball but often used as a decoy.

Barry Bourke!  Another of my favourite players!  Played the role of decoy FF to perfection!

Posted (edited)
53 minutes ago, hemingway said:

He has the speed at the feet of the talls... to arrive at the loose ball before many...  And then also he can create space as he leads at the ball carrier...  with skilled players falling in behind...  and/or gains possession around or outside 50M, to continue out to either give to our skilled mids/backs coming thru...  or to prop, look for the short give off. 

As he goes back toward goal, he could also be dangerous on the return.

I prefer our quick smalls around half forward, so they can lend a hand to the active ball in the midfield zone... or to come back deep to the talls,  depending on how they read the play-set.

So our talls start deeper and spread a bit, including Hunt.

This puts pressure of 'tracca',  to fire up to earn his H/F spot, or to get fit so he's in the starting mids setup.

Edited by DV8
Posted (edited)
26 minutes ago, durango said:

He was more than a decoy because in 1963 he kicked 48 goals which by today's standards is dam good for a small forward.

its the deGo'y style... speed kills, in footy.

Edited by DV8
Posted
1 hour ago, Vagg said:

Barry Bourke!  Another of my favourite players!  Played the role of decoy FF to perfection!

And prior to that Alan Rowarth, Athol Webb and Norm Smith himself. Norm also used Big Bob Johnson as a tall decoy in the forward pocket. And regarding ruckman, Norm usually only used one key ruckman. Graham Wise, Terry Gleeson to name two. Wise would ruck all day. Despite hardly ever taking a mark or getting a kick, Wise was a great tap ruckman. In later years, he used Tassie Johnson as a ruckman at centre bounce despite his lack of height.

Like other great coaches and leaders,  Norm was ahead of his time and set new standards at the senior level. 

Posted
1 hour ago, durango said:

He was more than a decoy because in 1963 he kicked 48 goals which by today's standards is dam good for a small forward.

Indeed. Played for the big V with distinction on several occasions.