Posted
On 8/25/2019 at 5:18 PM, Vineytime said:

I spoke to an AFL recruiter today, his thoughts:

1. Rowell

2 Young

3. Anderson 

he said Young is a beautiful kick and that Anderson has power but can burn the ball, also mentioned top 3 relatively close then a small gap to next few prospects. 

Interesting on Anderson. I sorta got a recollection his father butchered it a bit too.  I am not in the camp 1 and 2 are locked in after the Scully Trengove draft. Due dillegence due dillegence.

Posted

34 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Knightmare’s AFL Draft Power Rankings for September.

Interesting to read a couple of the youngsters are compared to a couple of our players.

Hayden Young plays like Salem and Sam Flanders plays like Petracca. To those with expertise in the upcoming draft, would that be an accurate assessment on those 2 players?

Posted
23 minutes ago, Dee Zephyr said:

Interesting to read a couple of the youngsters are compared to a couple of our players.

Hayden Young plays like Salem and Sam Flanders plays like Petracca. To those with expertise in the upcoming draft, would that be an accurate assessment on those 2 players?

It’s fairly accurate.

Flanders is a bulky half forward type who’s done stints in the midfield this year. His best work is up forward where he uses strength to outmark his opponents.

Young is an elite kicking half back with average pace who’s done stints in the midfield too, more inside when in midfield. He’s competent inside, but is better off as a distributor coming out of the backline.

Ending the year with pick 2 and winding up with only one of them to show for it would be a disappointment IMO. If that picks is pushed back to pick 3, we’d be better off trading it for Ben King or splitting it and taking advantage of the split picks to secure a Rory Laird type and a youngster.

• 4 weeks later...

Posted

Elijah Taylor at pick 30. That’s a bargain.  Exactly the elusive indigenous forward type that MFC needs.  Perhaps as suggested elsewhere (reluctantly Frost and pick 58 for Hawks pick 30) we could steal Hawks 2nd rounder which is around this pick. 

Posted

Good to see Darcy Cassar get a mention.  Has AFL class written all over him. Saw him as a 17yo and thought of a similar edge to Mitch Duncan.  He’s not your primary mid but is very classy, strong runner, determined and skilled.  If available at a pick 32-35, he’d definitely be worth a call out.  

Posted

If Sharp, Weightman and Taylor are all still available at those picks, expect to see some live trading occurring.

I'd hope we look at live trading if any of them were available at those picks, fill a number of needs

Posted

Flanders has a Petracca feel about him. Certainly wouldn't be disappointed with him. 

Not feeling serong, get the impression he would struggle to have an impact at afl Level 

Has anyone seen Schoenberg play?  Seems to have a good write up

Also won SA MVP for the under 18 carnival. 

Posted

With picks 3,26,50 as we stand with today

3- choices down to Young (Skilled tall half back) Serong (smart ball winning small midfielder) Ash (Running half back with burst of pace) or Kemp (the Dangerfield type wildcard who was super impressive as a tall mid but injured his knee and will miss most of 2020).  Enough said about the variety here   

26- a small forward may drop here so we could grab either Cody Weightman or Elijah Taylor at this pick.  Miles Bergman could still be here and would be impossible to pass up. 

50 - A punt here.  Not sure if JT would look for a key position player project type here with height or the best available types. 
Brodie Smith (Power U18s skipper) is a competitive youngster and his intensity + smarts reminds me of a cross of Castagna and Rampe  OR we could pickup a bargain in Charlie Dean, Dragons U18s, a classy agile CHF who trained with the Dees in preseason 2019. 
Darcy Cassar the Western Jets halfback/half can be a real player with a Mitch Duncan type game. Gets the footy and uses it.  
Campbell Hustwaite, the 2018 Stingrays skipper who played for Collingwoods VFL team and showed ability as a defensive mid but also get the footy (like Tigers Kane Lambert but a left footer) 

Posted
5 minutes ago, The Third Eye said:

We have picks 3 and 8.

That puts us in a strong position when we go to the draft.

546AADC0-28E5-4F1E-B055-EFCCDFF97F38.gif

Posted

On 10/12/2019 at 8:11 PM, spirit of norm smith said:

With picks 3,26,50 as we stand with today

3- choices down to Young (Skilled tall half back) Serong (smart ball winning small midfielder) Ash (Running half back with burst of pace) or Kemp (the Dangerfield type wildcard who was super impressive as a tall mid but injured his knee and will miss most of 2020).  Enough said about the variety here   

26- a small forward may drop here so we could grab either Cody Weightman or Elijah Taylor at this pick.  Miles Bergman could still be here and would be impossible to pass up. 

50 - A punt here.  Not sure if JT would look for a key position player project type here with height or the best available types. 
Brodie Smith (Power U18s skipper) is a competitive youngster and his intensity + smarts reminds me of a cross of Castagna and Rampe  OR we could pickup a bargain in Charlie Dean, Dragons U18s, a classy agile CHF who trained with the Dees in preseason 2019. 
Darcy Cassar the Western Jets halfback/half can be a real player with a Mitch Duncan type game. Gets the footy and uses it.  
Campbell Hustwaite, the 2018 Stingrays skipper who played for Collingwoods VFL team and showed ability as a defensive mid but also get the footy (like Tigers Kane Lambert but a left footer) 

Pick 3 As per prior, it’s Young, Ash,Serong or Kemp  

pick 8 Kemp might still be available here as his knee injury may scare off clubs. It could be likely Dylan Stephens (SA) or Sam Flanders. I’m not as sold on Weightman but can see how he might appeal (thought he’d still be a 20-25 pick). 

pick 96- speculative here as I think we will have a 3rd pick.  It’s likely to be the last active pick so might be pick 70-73 as others clubs pass or await later rookie selections.  Who could be the last pick as a smoky or a mature 21-23 yr old out of the VFL. I’d look at any sliders who were being missed (Lachlan Potter, pacy half back from the Knights or Charlie Sprague,19yr old utility from Falcons) but some names could be VFL types Sam Lowson (Coburg) or Will Fordham (Frankston, ex NMFC). 

Posted

An update on some WA boys.

Without starting another couple of threads about young prospects, I got a lift home from a party on Saturday night by Jake Pasini. I played some Masters footy with his Dad years ago and Jake would come down and train with us - a really nice kid.

He couldn’t participate in the combine due to a shoulder but he did mention Melbourne interviewed him “twice” and in his modest opinion showed a “bit” of interest. He reckons he’ll go around the 40’s in the draft so unless we wheel and deal the hell out of lower picks I can’t see how we were really that interested in the first place - unless of course this was pre pick swaps with the Roos where he may have been in calcs.

His good mate Riley Garcia who’s Dad is a mate of mine will probably end up at the Dogs going by how they interviewed him but a chance of the Suns they reckon.

Jake also reckons that Deven Robertson will be the steal in this draft. Reckons as far as X factor goes, he’s the one.

Posted
On 10/19/2019 at 7:19 AM, Elwood 3184 said:

This from the profile on Brodie Kemp

CLUBS looking for a player who can do just about anything need look no further than Brodie Kemp.

A very good description.  Hopefully gets through to pick 8

Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, McQueen said:

An update on some WA boys.

Without starting another couple of threads about young prospects, I got a lift home from a party on Saturday night by Jake Pasini. I played some Masters footy with his Dad years ago and Jake would come down and train with us - a really nice kid.
He couldn’t participate in the combine due to a shoulder but he did mention Melbourne interviewed him “twice” and in his modest opinion showed a “bit” of interest. He reckons he’ll go around the 40’s in the draft so unless we wheel and deal the hell out of lower picks I can’t see how we were really that interested in the first place - unless of course this was pre pick swaps with the Roos where he may have been in calcs.

His good mate Riley Garcia who’s Dad is a mate of mine will probably end up at the Dogs going by how they interviewed him but a chance of the Suns they reckon.

Jake also reckons that Deven Robertson will be the steal in this draft. Reckons as far as X factor goes, he’s the one.

I'm kind of hoping clubs worry about Garcia's knee that he slides to 97. Bit wishful I know.

Robertson's best attribute is his leadership. and desire which is in the Joel Selwood mould 

Edited by Pennant St Dee
Posted
36 minutes ago, Pennant St Dee said:

I'm kind of hoping clubs worry about Garcia's knee that he slides to 97. Bit wishful I know.

Robertson's best attribute is his leadership. and desire which is in the Joel Selwood mould 

Yeah I loved the one game I saw of Robertson (vs Vic Country) but x factor definitely wouldn't be how I described him as a player.