1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

Wow.   Did anyone see that coming?

No Mr Neeld, we didn't.

2 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

May be he’s a mole planted by Eddie

Do you mean like Malthouse at Carlton? :-(

Interesting the wide diversity of opinions here, from disgust to ecstasy.

Don't know really what to think, though presumably Peter Jackson has endorsed the appointment, which would give me some confidence.

1 minute ago, timbo said:

In the old days you'd have had money on some far flung destination like Mt Gambier or Mallacoota or Manangatang but these days hopefully closer 

maybe brunswick street oval?

Didn’t see that coming!

50 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Last year Collingwood was a shambles:  Gubby was suspended, Eddie was under pressure on many fronts and nearly cost CFC major sponsors.  Pert fell on his sword.

There are no secrets in the AFL.  Any dirty laundry Pert had would have been well aired and the club would have quizzed him as they did Goodwin when he came from Ess. 

We have come too far and too much work still to do for our Board to take the chance with someone who can't deliver and keep the solid culture PJ et al have created.

Trust Jackson.  Trust the Board.  They haven't let us down yet.  I don't think they have this time.

Spot on, mate.

Hoping one of the first items on his agenda is to dump the NT or, at the very least, negotiate a minimum 7 day break. Queen's  Birthday negotiations  could be very interesting!

10 minutes ago, A F said:

I'm excited. PJ would not have endorsed a candidate that he didn't trust or think could do the job.

Are you sure he's been endorsed by PJ?

1 hour ago, Wrecker45 said:

Just read that too. I'm normally glass half full on anything MFC but very concerned about this.

I was told by a passionate Collingwood supporter who both he and wife had independent professional dealings with Pert that Pert was toxic at Collingwood. When I was told this Collingwood had just done it's review and Pert left. he even said to bet on Collingwood to make finals after he left because rifts would be healed.

Was it an Eddie vs Pert clash? Would be hard to come out on top in that situation Pert would be Trotsky to Eddies Stalin.

6 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Age article says PJ had no input into the decision

29 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

I'd be staggered if the AFL's man wasn't consulted on Pert's appointment. Staggered.

28 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

You don't know anything about the details regarding his departure from collingwood, more hysterics on demonland.

What I do know was that he resigned around the time they appointed Peter Murphy to do an external review of the club.

That indicates to me that the results concerning him coming from that review may not have been particularly flattering. I don't know particulars but that alone is worrying.

As a Demon, I don't know who else fell on their sword in that review but I knew that he was of the highest consequence.

I'm not a sky is falling type concerning every move we make. I hope also that the move works out. But I would be lying if I said it didn't make me raise an eyebrow.

1 minute ago, Demonland said:

Interesting. 

What often happens in a corporate setting like this is that when the bloke who has done the hard yards internally is passed over, he goes somewhere else to get the promotion.

If you thought you were ready for a CEO role, and obviously got close this time around, why would you hang around for 10 years until Pert retires?

There will be fallout from this, no doubt.

9 minutes ago, A F said:

I'd be staggered if the AFL's man wasn't consulted on Pert's appointment. Staggered.

I think that it is a misrepresentation of the reality, but the man himself said he will not be involved in the decision.

Pros:
- Knows how to get a facility built, especially in the Olympic Park precicnt
- Experienced in football
- Experienced in media relations

Cons:
- The Balme/Gubby Allen/Buckley etc fiasco. Collingwood's footy department has been a mess the last few years
- Very prominent in the media on a range of issues including on drugs where I thought his attitude and understanding was limited
- Losing money on the pub deals

Tom Browne's tweet raises an interesting point.

I got the feeling that we would be promoting internally. Maybe I was mistaken. 

I hope Perty isn't in the change for change's sake camp. While I'm sure he has his own ideas and is entitled to them, we don't need major change off field. That part of the club has been purring like a well oiled machine.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

I believe this is equally as  Jake Lever’s recruitment.Needs strength and experience  at the top.

well done to all.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• CASEY: Sydney

The Casey Demons were always expected to emerge victorious in their matchup against the lowly-ranked Sydney Swans at picturesque Tramway Oval, situated in the shadows of the SCG in Moore Park. They dominated the proceedings in the opening two and a half quarters of the game but had little to show for it. This was primarily due to their own sloppy errors in a low-standard game that produced a number of crowded mauls reminiscent of the rugby game popular in old Sydney Town. However, when the Swans tired, as teams often do when they turn games into ugly defensive contests, Casey lifted the standard of its own play and … it was off to the races. Not to nearby Randwick but to a different race with an objective of piling on goal after goal on the way to a mammoth victory. At the 25-minute mark of the third quarter, the Demons held a slender 14-point lead over the Swans, who are ahead on the ladder of only the previous week's opposition, the ailing Bullants. Forty minutes later, they had more than fully compensated for the sloppiness of their earlier play with a decisive 94-point victory, that culminated in a rousing finish which yielded thirteen unanswered goals. Kicks hit their targets, the ball found itself going through the middle and every player made a contribution.

• 1 reply
  • REPORT: St. Kilda

Hands up if you thought, like me, at half-time in yesterday’s game at TIO Traeger Park, Alice Springs that Melbourne’s disposal around the ground and, in particular, its kicking inaccuracy in front of the goals couldn’t get any worse. Well, it did. And what’s even more damning for the Melbourne Football Club is that the game against St Kilda and its resurgence from the bottomless pit of its miserable start to the season wasn’t just lost through poor conversion for goal but rather in the 15 minutes when the entire team went into a slumber and was mugged by the out-of-form Saints. Their six goals two behinds (one goal less than the Demons managed for the whole game) weaved a path of destruction from which they were unable to recover. Ross Lyon’s astute use of pressure to contain the situation once they had asserted their grip on the game, and Melbourne’s self-destructive wastefulness, assured that outcome. The old adage about the insanity of repeatedly doing something and expecting a different result, was out there. Two years ago, the score line in Melbourne’s loss to the Giants at this same ground was 5 goals 15 behinds - a ratio of one goal per four scoring shots - was perfectly replicated with yesterday’s 7 goals 21 behinds. 
    This has been going on for a while and opens up a number of questions. I’ll put forward a few that come to mind from this performance. The obvious first question is whether the club can find a suitable coach to instruct players on proper kicking techniques or is this a skill that can no longer be developed at this stage of the development of our playing group? Another concern is the team's ability to counter an opponent's dominance during a run on as exemplified by the Saints in the first quarter. Did the Demons underestimate their opponents, considering St Kilda's goals during this period were scored by relatively unknown forwards? Furthermore, given the modest attendance of 6,721 at TIO Traeger Park and the team's poor past performances at this venue, is it prudent to prioritize financial gain over potentially sacrificing valuable premiership points by relinquishing home ground advantage, notwithstanding the cultural significance of the team's connection to the Red Centre? 

• 4 replies
  • PREGAME: Collingwood

After a disappointing loss in Alice Springs the Demons return to the MCG to take on the Magpies in the annual King's Birthday Big Freeze for MND game. Who comes in and who goes out?

• 163 replies
  • PODCAST: St. Kilda

The Demonland Podcast will air LIVE on Monday, 2nd June @ 8:00pm. Join Binman, George & I as we have a chat with former Demon ruckman Jeff White about his YouTube channel First Use where he dissects ruck setups and contests. We'll then discuss the Dees disappointing loss to the Saints in Alice Springs.
    Your questions and comments are a huge part of our podcast so please post anything you want to ask or say below and we'll give you a shout out on the show.
    Listen LIVE: https://demonland.com/

• Sad
      • Clap
    • 44 replies
  • POSTGAME: St. Kilda

After kicking the first goal of the match the Demons were always playing catch up against the Saints in Alice Spring and could never make the most of their inside 50 entries to wrestle back the lead.

• Thanks
    • 328 replies
  • VOTES: St. Kilda

Max Gawn still has a massive lead in the Demonland Player of the Year award as Christian Petracca, Jake Bowey, Clayton Oliver & Kozzy Pickett round out the Top 5. Your votes please. 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 & 1

• Sad
      • Clap
    • 31 replies