1 hour ago, Petraccattack said:

Wow.   Did anyone see that coming?

No Mr Neeld, we didn't.

2 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

May be he’s a mole planted by Eddie

Do you mean like Malthouse at Carlton? :-(

Interesting the wide diversity of opinions here, from disgust to ecstasy.

Don't know really what to think, though presumably Peter Jackson has endorsed the appointment, which would give me some confidence.

1 minute ago, timbo said:

In the old days you'd have had money on some far flung destination like Mt Gambier or Mallacoota or Manangatang but these days hopefully closer 

maybe brunswick street oval?

Didn’t see that coming!

50 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Last year Collingwood was a shambles:  Gubby was suspended, Eddie was under pressure on many fronts and nearly cost CFC major sponsors.  Pert fell on his sword.

There are no secrets in the AFL.  Any dirty laundry Pert had would have been well aired and the club would have quizzed him as they did Goodwin when he came from Ess. 

We have come too far and too much work still to do for our Board to take the chance with someone who can't deliver and keep the solid culture PJ et al have created.

Trust Jackson.  Trust the Board.  They haven't let us down yet.  I don't think they have this time.

Spot on, mate.

Hoping one of the first items on his agenda is to dump the NT or, at the very least, negotiate a minimum 7 day break. Queen's  Birthday negotiations  could be very interesting!

10 minutes ago, A F said:

I'm excited. PJ would not have endorsed a candidate that he didn't trust or think could do the job.

Are you sure he's been endorsed by PJ?

1 hour ago, Wrecker45 said:

Just read that too. I'm normally glass half full on anything MFC but very concerned about this.

I was told by a passionate Collingwood supporter who both he and wife had independent professional dealings with Pert that Pert was toxic at Collingwood. When I was told this Collingwood had just done it's review and Pert left. he even said to bet on Collingwood to make finals after he left because rifts would be healed.

Was it an Eddie vs Pert clash? Would be hard to come out on top in that situation Pert would be Trotsky to Eddies Stalin.

6 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

Age article says PJ had no input into the decision

29 minutes ago, Mach5 said:

I'd be staggered if the AFL's man wasn't consulted on Pert's appointment. Staggered.

28 minutes ago, drysdale demon said:

You don't know anything about the details regarding his departure from collingwood, more hysterics on demonland.

What I do know was that he resigned around the time they appointed Peter Murphy to do an external review of the club.

That indicates to me that the results concerning him coming from that review may not have been particularly flattering. I don't know particulars but that alone is worrying.

As a Demon, I don't know who else fell on their sword in that review but I knew that he was of the highest consequence.

I'm not a sky is falling type concerning every move we make. I hope also that the move works out. But I would be lying if I said it didn't make me raise an eyebrow.

1 minute ago, Demonland said:

Interesting. 

What often happens in a corporate setting like this is that when the bloke who has done the hard yards internally is passed over, he goes somewhere else to get the promotion.

If you thought you were ready for a CEO role, and obviously got close this time around, why would you hang around for 10 years until Pert retires?

There will be fallout from this, no doubt.

9 minutes ago, A F said:

I'd be staggered if the AFL's man wasn't consulted on Pert's appointment. Staggered.

I think that it is a misrepresentation of the reality, but the man himself said he will not be involved in the decision.

Pros:
- Knows how to get a facility built, especially in the Olympic Park precicnt
- Experienced in football
- Experienced in media relations

Cons:
- The Balme/Gubby Allen/Buckley etc fiasco. Collingwood's footy department has been a mess the last few years
- Very prominent in the media on a range of issues including on drugs where I thought his attitude and understanding was limited
- Losing money on the pub deals

Tom Browne's tweet raises an interesting point.

I got the feeling that we would be promoting internally. Maybe I was mistaken. 

I hope Perty isn't in the change for change's sake camp. While I'm sure he has his own ideas and is entitled to them, we don't need major change off field. That part of the club has been purring like a well oiled machine.

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

I believe this is equally as  Jake Lever’s recruitment.Needs strength and experience  at the top.

well done to all.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

Featured Content

• GAMEDAY: West Coast

It's Game Day and the Demons have a chance to notch up their third consecutive win — something they haven’t done since Round 5, 2024. But to do it, they’ll need to exorcise the Demons of last year’s disastrous trip out West. Can the Dees continue their momentum, right the wrongs of that fateful clash, and take another step up the ladder on the road to redemption?

• Thanks
    • 463 replies
  • FEATURE: 1925

A hundred years ago today, on 2 May 1925, Melbourne kicked off the new season with a 47 point victory over St Kilda to take top place on the VFL ladder after the opening round of the new season.  Top place was a relatively unknown position for the team then known as the “Fuchsias.” They had finished last in 1923 and rose by only one place in the following year although the final home and away round heralded a promise of things to come when they surprised the eventual premiers Essendon. That victory set the stage for more improvement and it came rapidly. In this series, I will tell the story of how the 1925 season unfolded for the Melbourne Football Club and how it made the VFL finals for the first time in a decade on the way to the ultimate triumph a year later.

• Love
      • Thanks
    • 0 replies
  • PREVIEW: West Coast

Saturday’s election night game in Perth between the West Coast Eagles and Melbourne represents 18th vs 15th which makes it a tough decision as to which party to favour. The Eagles have yet to break the ice under their new coach in Andrew McQualter who is the second understudy in a row to confront Demon Coach Simon Goodwin who was also winless until a fortnight ago. On that basis, many punters might be considering to go with the donkey vote but I’ve been assigned with the task of helping readers to come to a considered opinion on this matter of vital importance across the nation. It was almost a year ago that I wrote a preview here of the Demons’ away game against the Eagles (under the name William from Waalitj because it was Indigenous Round).  I issued a warning that it was a danger game, based on my local knowledge that the home team were no longer easybeats and that they possessed a wunderkind generational player in Harley Reid who was capable of producing stellar performances playing among men a decade and more older than he.  At the time, the Eagles already had two wins off the back of a couple of the young man’s masterclasses and they had recently given the Bombers a scare straight after their Anzac Day blockbuster draw against the then reigning premiers.

• Thanks
    • 1 reply
  • NON-MFC: Round 08

Round 08 of the 2025 AFL Season kicks off on Thursday with a must-win game for the Bombers to stay in touch with the top eight, while the struggling Roos seek a morale-boosting upset. Friday sees the Saints desperate for a win as well if they are to stay in finals contention and their opponents the Dockers will be eager to crack in to the Top 8 with a win on the road. Saturday kicks off with a pivotal clash for both sides asthe Bulldogs look to solidify their top-eight spot, while Port seeks to shake their pretender tag. Then the Crows will be looking to steady their topsy turvy season against a resurgent Blues looking to make it 4 wins on the trot. On Election Night a Blockbuster will see the ladder-leading Pies take on the Cats, who are keen to bounce back after a narrow loss. On Sunday the Sydney Derby promises fireworks as the Giants aim to cement their top-eight status, while the Swans fight to keep their season alive. The Hawks, celebrating their centenary, will be looking to easily account for the Tigers who are desperate to halt their slide. The Round concludes on Sunday Night with a top end of the table QClash with significant ladder implications; both Queensland teams are in scintillating form. Who are you tipping this week and what are the best results for the Demons?

• Thanks
    • 181 replies
  • PREGAME: West Coast

The Demons hit the road in Round 8, heading to Perth to face the West Coast Eagles at Optus Stadium. With momentum building, the Dees will be aiming for a third straight victory to keep their season revival on course. Who comes in and who goes out?

• Thanks
    • 563 replies
  • REPORT: Richmond

The fans who turned up to the MCG for Melbourne’s Anzac Day Eve clash against Richmond would have been disappointed if they turned up to see a great spectacle. As much as this was a night for the 71,635 in attendance to commemorate heroes of the nation’s past wars, it was also a time for the Melbourne Football Club to consolidate upon its first win after a horrific start to the 2025 season. On this basis, despite the fact that it was an uninspiring and dour struggle for most of its 100 minutes, the night will be one for the fans to remember. They certainly got value out of the pre match activity honouring those who fought for their country. The MCG and the lights of the city as backdrop was made for nights such as these and, in my view, we received a more inspirational ceremony of Anzac culture than others both here and elsewhere around the country. 

• Love
      • Thanks
    • 0 replies