Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Huge upside ~ an Under 18 All Australian. ESPN’s Chris Doerre (aka Knightmare) had him at 16 in his October power rankings:- Harrison Petty (VIC) Best position: Key defender Height, weight: 195cm, 82kg Recruited from: Norwood Projected draft range: Second round Similar to: Robbie Tarrant October Ranking: 16 Rationale: Named South Australia's MVP during the Under-18 Championships. Petty is a relatively untapped talent who has improved significantly this season and is still growing, having shot up 5cm this season. Petty's potential as a still growing key defender with a late-year birthday sees him hold firm despite others rising. Strengths: Intercept marking Reads the flight of the ball early Takes marks at highest point Clean at ground level Effective ball user Composure with ball in hand Rate of improvement Strong performances from limited exposure Weaknesses: Keeping balance in one-on-one contests Strength solid but not as advanced as some of his peers Capable but not a freakish athlete According to Snoop Dog:- “HARRISON PETTY – NORWOOD / KEY DEFENDER / 195cm Tall defender from SA that wasn’t really on my radar leading into Champs but was super impressed with him through them and in the subsequent games I saw. Just reads the footy so well and happy to peel off and intercept. His hands are assured and his ball skills are very good to. Seems to play the game with a lot of composure and could be a steal this late.” 10 Quote
Demonland 74,431 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Tall defender who is strong overhead and provided strong rebound for South Australia in the NAB AFL U18 Championships. Won the South Australia MVP award as well as U18 All Australian honours. Player bio Former club: Norwood Age: 18 Height: 195cm Weight: 82kg Position: Defender 2017 U18 Stats Games: 4 Goals: - Avg Kicks: 6.3 Avg Marks: 4.3 Avg Hballs: 6 1 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 I trust Taylor but we have a lot of key defenders now. 3 Quote
Demonland 74,431 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Harrison Petty – South Australia’s MVP for the carnival. The key defender reads the play well in defence and remains composed with ball in hand. Kept his feet and his positioning was good. 2 Quote
Demonland 74,431 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/local-footy-sa/sanfl/boy-from-the-bush-harrison-petty-goes-from-unknown-to-hot-draft-property/news-story/534ede5c46e64d9f649286812a448d99 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 4 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said: I trust Taylor but we have a lot of key defenders now. Only two are actually proven quality. That’s not a lot. 9 Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Don't mind this pick. We tend to gravitate towards mids and forwards but like this kid. Reckon he may be pretty tough. 2 Quote
Mt. Dee-Maaan 608 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 already coming round to this kid...could be the fourth furphy though. definitely rather him in the side than o-mac.. and maybe even frost by the end of 2018/9. he looks good. would've liked garner or houlahan though. annoyed the bombers took houlahan. grrrrr. he'll be a player! 1 Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Let's just hope he's not a heartbreaker. 5 1 6 Quote
KingDingAling 3,758 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Adelaide had a pick inside the top 10. Then neither Adelaide or Port had another pick before we selected Petty. I suspect that is why we were able to land him. 1 Quote
Wiseblood 24,637 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Good selection. Outside of Lever you could argue our other tall defenders (T Mac not included) are still projects as well, and selecting Petty not only gives us insurance but also gives him time to develop as well. 7 Quote
Demonstone 23,579 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 7 minutes ago, Return to Glory said: Let's just hope he's not a heartbreaker. Harrison? Petty? Are we trying to re-unite the Travelling Wilburys here? 4 4 Quote
DaveyDee 421 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 I have this feeling we hope he is going to be Levers partner in crime for around 8 year. 3 Quote
Watts Jurrah Dunn? 735 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Petrucelle the next pick? Best available before needs. Given the plethora of key and medium sized defenders we already have developing, I'm not sure about this one. Quote
deelete my account 1,194 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said: Petrucelle the next pick? Best available before needs. Given the plethora of key and medium sized defenders we already have developing, I'm not sure about this one. We all collectively decided that he has a kick on him like John Butcher and our voices were heard Edited November 24, 2017 by Deeprived Childhood 3 Quote
RalphiusMaximus 6,112 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said: I trust Taylor but we have a lot of key defenders now. This one is going to take a few years before we really consider giving him games I would think. The great advantage of having a strong line-up with some depth behind it is that you can take your time with the kids and not play them until they are ready. 4 Quote
jackaub 1,402 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 OOOOO hh Great another pick that will take a few years Just what we neeed wow over whelemed\ Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,679 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 Agree he is big and strong. I still shudder at the Luke Molan big and strong selection from 2001. I thought we would pick a Ruck like Hayes or runner like Wooller or Garner. He might actually develop into a ruck as he is apparently still growing. Quote
jackaub 1,402 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 hayes will be better such a poor choice Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 (edited) 1 hour ago, Rocky said: already coming round to this kid...could be the fourth furphy though. definitely rather him in the side than o-mac.. and maybe even frost by the end of 2018/9. he looks good. would've liked garner or houlahan though. annoyed the bombers took houlahan. grrrrr. he'll be a player! So, Rocky, you already prefer a totally unproven teenager to OMc and possibly Frost. Dont sit down too heavily: crystal balls ? tend to be fragile. Edited November 24, 2017 by monoccular 6 1 Quote
Beetle 4,739 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 (edited) Was pick 16 in Knightmare’s phantom draft. Appears highly rated, could have done well here.. edit- apologies that was an earlier phantom draft from Knightmare. His final phantom draft had him at 28. Edited November 24, 2017 by Beetle 3 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,680 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 2 members of the Wilburys. It will be the end of the line for opposition key forwards. He'll handle them with care. 2 1 1 Quote
DeeSpencer 26,680 Posted November 24, 2017 Posted November 24, 2017 1 hour ago, Watts Jurrah Dunn? said: Petrucelle the next pick? Best available before needs. Given the plethora of key and medium sized defenders we already have developing, I'm not sure about this one. What plethora? Tom is a forward now. Years of turnovers = no more backline. Oscar, Frost and Lever are our starters. Joel Smith the back up medium, Wagner a 3rd tall option if needed but really a flanker type. Keilty a rookie list mature back up. That's it. Frost is a bit out of favour, Oscar isn't solidfied as a genuine long term option, Joel Smith limited experience, makes a lot of sense to bring in another one. 3 Quote