Oliver is no 'stager'!

3 hours ago, willmoy said:

Just to take this a little further. Is this MFC GOOD ball player so good and so brave, and so much in Brownlow Medal contention that he is, much like two certain Geelong players, getting picked on on because of that very reason. I guess what i am saying is, like his counterparts from the Cats, he deserves, and it is about bloody time he received,the same degree of protection by the Umpires and indeed the support of the AFL, MRP, whoever.....  

Do we have to wait otherwise until all ball players are seriously injured before the penny drops!!!!!!

Perhaps a word from the right level of seniority within the AFL to the media could sort this out....

I didn't get the whole segment, but Johnno Brown -- anyone going to call him soft? -- on TV last week said something about being so pi55ed off at being elbowed and punched 100 times a game, rang someone at AFL and said if they didn't do something about it, he would.  

It must be just so draining physically and emotionally when every time you go near an opponent he jabs you the guts with an elbow.

Maybe if the maggots paid a free at the start of the game against anyone who was elbowing his opponent -- whoever they see first, and could get it wrong and grab the retaliator -- and a 50 if they complain, it would stop very soon.

BT just said on Talking Footy that Oliver was definitely staging for the free...... FMD....the rest of the panel didnt even pick him up on it. Unbelievable ..

3 minutes ago, Wadda We Sing said:

BT just said on Talking Footy that Oliver was definitely milking for the free...... FMD....the rest of the panel didnt even pick him up on it. Unbelievable ..

The old free kick in the half time break trick.

Just now, Clint Bizkit said:

The old free kick in the half time break trick.

Must have been..

He went down feeling for his teeth . That elbow flicked him on the way through he had his arms down wasn't clenching his jaw anticipating a contact situation . 

He obviously went back at the weagle [censored] with anger and it  looked real to me .

Garry Lyon should apologise for the criticism and more so after the mrp outcome . 

3 hours ago, ding said:

Give your workmate a copy of the MRP outcome showing Clarry didnt stage .

Then give him a summary of the WADA hearing.

Then hand him a Syringe

Then laugh in his face.

I know some who believe they were innocent they are a slow bunch ( not all of course ) 

Interesting aspect. So much upon a visual snippet... where's context ?

Schofield has form. Old school 'bully' . That was deliberate and concerted. If ppl had watched him , capable player he is, he's also thuggish. His role was to iron out Clarry. He did this.. quite well really given public reaction.

I wonder how many here have actually played competitive sport..it gets nasty...often

16 minutes ago, CityDee said:

He went down feeling for his teeth . That elbow flicked him on the way through he had his arms down wasn't clenching his jaw anticipating a contact situation . 

He obviously went back at the weagle [censored] with anger and it  looked real to me .

Garry Lyon should apologise for the criticism and more so after the mrp outcome . 

Hate to say it, since he gave me a lot of pleasure as a player, but Garry has sounded kinda weird lately.

6 hours ago, DaveyJones'sLocker said:

We are not blaming the victim we are discussing if he exaggerated contact. Because let's be honest if the siren had not gone, we would be discussing if the victim was in fact a cheat .

And yet, who is the bloke who got a week?

The bloke who threw an elbow. That week brought to us by the 'politically correct' AFL because the broad AFL community doesn't know any better.

We all agree a 19 year old was elbowed in the jaw by a 28 year old.

And what is the footy community stuck on?

Whether the victim made a meal of it...

Why did he have to make a thing of it?

I reckon there's a bit of "tall poppy syndrome" happening with Clayton Oliver. This kid is statistically one of the best under 20 year-old's of all time, so opposition supporters and the media are latching on to anything they can to drag him down.

Just do your thing mate. Serious rewards await you and the MFC if you do.

9 minutes ago, Jara said:

Hate to say it, since he gave me a lot of pleasure as a player, but Garry has sounded kinda weird lately.

I find it strange that he is really critical at times . After going through the mental health stuff I thought he would show more empathy . Maybe I'm out of line but I've thought this on many occasions. 

He looks like staging his way to a Brownlow .

Roll out the red carpet .

I just watched the Brains' Trust on Talking Footy say that they reckon that not only did Oliver stage, but also that our doctors overblew the medical report as some sort of weird revenge for Carlton doing the same to us when we played them. It just beggars belief!

7 minutes ago, Chook said:

I just watched the Brains' Trust on Talking Footy say that they reckon that not only did Oliver stage, but also that our doctors overblew the medical report as some sort of weird revenge for Carlton doing the same to us when we played them. It just beggars belief!

That's a dangerous road they are traveling down, questioning a doctors reputation I wouldn't be happy about that if I were the MFC Doctor 

11 minutes ago, Chook said:

Talking Footy... talking SHlT

11 minutes ago, Chook said:

I hope the club sends these morons a please explain. I watched it and it was worse than watching us lose to North, such was the injustice of their argument. 

They agreed with the suspension but thought Oliver staged his reaction. What the fudge?

43 minutes ago, Chook said:

I reckon there's a bit of "tall poppy syndrome" happening with Clayton Oliver. This kid is statistically one of the best under 20 year-old's of all time, so opposition supporters and the media are latching on to anything they can to drag him down.

Exactly, especially when his game revolves around contested possessions and clearances for people to now call him soft is laughable.

4 minutes ago, Jaded said:

I hope the club sends these morons a please explain. I watched it and it was worse than watching us lose to North, such was the injustice of their argument. 

They agreed with the suspension but thought Oliver staged his reaction. What the fudge?

If accurate, BT & Channel 7 can expect the same "go [censored] yourselves" treatment that Sydney gave them last Friday night. Deadset parasites.

And who even watches that dreck? Four knobheads sitting around a table pretending to be controversial for the sake of ratings and filling their pockets with money.

Save yourself the angst and spend an hour watching paint dry; it'll be more intellectually stimulating.

Not sure that Garry Lyon needed to have weighed in and fed the WA press ammunition to attack Oliver? ?

https://thewest.com.au/sport/afl/clayton-oliver-should-be-fined-for-diving-says-former-melbourne-captain-garry-lyon-ng-b88518083z

Just now, CBDees said:

Not sure that Garry Lyon needed to have weighed in and fed the WA press ammunition to attack Oliver? ?

https://thewest.com.au/sport/afl/clayton-oliver-should-be-fined-for-diving-says-former-melbourne-captain-garry-lyon-ng-b88518083z

Disgusting hypocrisy. One week the media is harping on about showing empathy for mental health, lest any players be going through a tough time.

The next, they're gleefully dragging a 19 year old through the mud for his reaction to being slugged in the chin with an elbow.

All for the sake of cheap headlines, clickbait and ad revenue. The media in this country is [censored].

I think Garry Lyon is now officially dead to me.

Irrelevance , in a ' jumped the shark' kinda way.

Ironic that it was against the most ducking and diving team going around too. Bit rich them getting up in arms about it whilst Darling and Shuey are flopping about like dying fish all year. 

Chew a bag and get over it [censored]. 

As for Garry, diving into your best mate's missus' bed is a tad more questionable. 

Pull your head in.