14 minutes ago, djr said:

Where is Carlton on the ladder and Essendon are the same with us. So if we were hard nosed there and no trades were done would you be happy? I bet not. And don't say that Adelaide would have buckled and given what we originally put forward. It wasn't going to happen. The market said Lever was valued at 2 1st round picks. Same with JW. His market value was only a 2nd round pick.

As for next years 1st round pick we can deal with that later. No doubt we will try trade up into a 1st round pick. But as for now we have traded exactly the way we wanted. Have done so for the past 3 years. Forget the unders and overs.

Rubbish .. of course Adelaide would have buckled ...the market did not say 2 1st rounders ... most industry types have been quoted sayimg we paid over given he is uncontracted. Would have been acceptable to me if he was a contracted player

Edited by Demons1858

1 hour ago, Demons1858 said:

Rubbish .. of course Adelaide would have buckled ...the market did not say 2 1st rounders ... most industry types have been quoted sayimg we paid over given he is uncontracted. Would have been acceptable to me if he was a contracted player

You don't know that.  How's it going with the Gibbs and Cameron trades?  Adelaide could have forced him into the draft on principle and North, Collingwood or St.Kilda could have selected him.  They are crazy enough.  Better to get the deal done for less than a 1st + 2nd and live up to our promise to Lever.

On 14/10/2017 at 10:55 AM, SFebey said:

I'm all for your Schache idea, email the club and get it happening would ya! :lol:

Yeah....I am certain that the club would never have give that any thought at all ?

9 hours ago, monoccular said:

Yeah....I am certain that the club would never have give that any thought at all ?

Your comment is unnecessary, if you couldn't tell it was tongue in cheek from that emoji then go for a holiday dude. 

So now that Adelaide have paid the same price we did for Gibbs, a 28yr old past his prime can the whiners and hand wringers finally accept we paid a fair price and move on?

probably not

12 hours ago, Fifty-5 said:

You don't know that.  How's it going with the Gibbs and Cameron trades?  Adelaide could have forced him into the draft on principle and North, Collingwood or St.Kilda could have selected him.  They are crazy enough.  Better to get the deal done for less than a 1st + 2nd and live up to our promise to Lever.

Carlton is doing just fine I'd say having started their list rebuild after us. Thanks for reinforcing my point - Carlton just held firm on Gibbs (29 yrs old next year) and guess what Adelaide buckled and paid ridiculous overs. That's what you get for being hard nosed:

Under the deal: 

- Carlton received pick Nos.10, 16, and 73 in this year's draft and the Crows' 2018 second-round pick.

- Adelaide received Gibbs, No.77 and Carlton's 2018 second-round and third-round picks.

Edited by Demons1858

1 minute ago, MrReims said:

So now that Adelaide have paid the same price we did for Gibbs, a 28yr old past his prime can the whiners and hand wringers finally accept we paid a fair price and move on?

probably not

I wouldn't say he is passed his prime at all - he had a ripper of a season this year.

The difference is they paid essentially the same price for a bloke who will be 29 when next season starts, while Lever is 21 and has a decade of great footy ahead of him.  We paid a fair price.

3 minutes ago, Demons1858 said:

Carlton is doing just fine I'd say having started their list rebuild after us. Thanks for reinforcing my point - Carlton just held firm on Gibbs (29 yrs old next year) and guess what Adelaide buckled and paid ridiculous overs. That's what you get for being hard nosed:

Under the deal: 

- Carlton received pick Nos.10, 16, and 73 in this year's draft and the Crows' 2018 second-round pick.

- Adelaide received Gibbs, No.77 and Carlton's 2018 second-round and third-round picks.

Carlton have 4 number 1 draft picks in their side. They don't appear to be doing too well to me,

5 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Carlton have 4 number 1 draft picks in their side. They don't appear to be doing too well to me,

Your recent observations appeal to masses but are simplistic jnrmac

Edited by Demons1858

13 minutes ago, Demons1858 said:

Under the deal: 

Geeez that is a good deal for Carlton. Gibbs has played 231 games. In all likelihood he only plays another 70 or 80, and that is if he gets a good run with injury. Smart trading by Carlton, they were patient, and they didn't rush into a bad deal. Good on them. They obviously have people in charge who know what they are doing.

gibbs could easily play another 6 or 7 seasons

he's never had massive fitness issues and has never been 'quick' so is unlikely to lose his pace

both lever and gibbs are win-win deals for mine

21 minutes ago, Demons1858 said:

Under the deal: 

I've come to accept that clear thinking and analysis is not your strong point.

The commonality in the deals is not that Adelaide is involved in both, it's that YOU think that both MFC and Adelaide paid overs.

If Adelaide paid less then it would support your argument.

The fact that picks 73 and 77 had to be involved in this deal shows what petty campaigners Reid and SoS are.

2 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

I've come to accept that clear thinking and analysis is not your strong point.

The commonality in the deals is not that Adelaide is involved in both, it's that YOU think that both MFC and Adelaide paid overs.

If Adelaide paid less then it would support your argument.

The fact that picks 73 and 77 had to be involved in this deal shows what petty campaigners Reid and SoS are.

You asked how the Gibbs trade was going for Carlton as you indicated being hard nosed doesn't work. Now that it has been an overwhelming success for Carlton you try and flip it the other way ...  hypocritical and convenient

2 minutes ago, Demons1858 said:

You asked how the Gibbs trade was going for Carlton as you indicated being hard nosed doesn't work. Now that it has been an overwhelming success for Carlton you try and flip it the other way ...  hypocritical and convenient

Very keen for you to quote where I mentioned Carlton in any post related to this topic?

Look the trades are done and I'm very happy with them.  You and @DeeSpencer can continue to sook and gnash your teeth about them.

Let's see if PJ and TV agree with you and sack Mahoney ...

5 minutes ago, Fifty-5 said:

Very keen for you to quote where I mentioned Carlton in any post related to this topic?

Look the trades are done and I'm very happy with them.  You and @DeeSpencer can continue to sook and gnash your teeth about them.

Let's see if PJ and TV agree with you and sack Mahoney ...

Prefer you don't put words in my mouth. My comments are very measured.

Mahoney has done an outstanding job with others to rebuild our list.

Am critical of the Lever deal only. We made a rare 'trade' mistake which cost us a 1st rounder. Off to talk about something else.

47 minutes ago, Demons1858 said:

Under the deal: 

Carlton's 2018 second rounder may not be too many picks later than the 2017 Pick 16 in a more highly rated draft.

3 hours ago, Fifty-5 said:

How's it going with the Gibbs and Cameron trades?

You said I could quote you. Don't think I need to answer that one.

Just now, Demons1858 said:

You said I could quote you. Don't think I need to answer that one.

The Crows didn't buckle.  Another one to support my position.  Keep them coming.

Just now, Fifty-5 said:

The Crows didn't buckle.  Another one to support my position.  Keep them coming.

This is pointless if you are going to flip things all the time ... over it

1 minute ago, Demons1858 said:

This is pointless if you are going to flip things all the time ... over it

Lever trade - IMO fair market value - but you said the Crows would eventually buckle

Cameron trade - the Crows held firm and didn't buckle

Fully consistent with my position and reality while you're tilting at windmills

Brings genuine appetite for the contest in the same mold as: Petracca, Viney, Oliver, Hogan.

IMO he is an absolute star in the making.