Changes v Hawthorn

29 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Why? 8 disposals, gave away a goal via a stupid 50m penalty, missed an easy shot. Has given very little for his $500,000 a year.

Actually chook, the $500,000 of the salary cap he's eating up, may come in handy down the track in 2018 for the, elite coup', we want to come in.

Maybe we should keep dawesy till the end of 2017,  to hold some salary cap space for that time?  we should have some space up our sleeves at this time,  even if  Eliza Beth Hurley & her man come over.

Surely we can find cap space for this year, easy enough?

1 minute ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

When it comes to Matt Jones, I am biased

Edited for clarity.

IN: Kennedy, Spencer (only game he'll play for the year), White (Hawks small forwards)

OUT: Dawes, M. Jones, Wagner

Get Vince to run a hard tag on Rioli

Viney run with Mitchell

Garlett has a chance to make up for the last Hawks game and today's game.

Gawn & Spencer to do a 70/30 split between ruck & deep forward to try and stretch Hawks defence. Also need the two rucks against McEvoy & Ceglar.

Tempted to debut Weideman or Hulett, however would hold that off for a week against opposition where we don't need two genuine rucks.

Bugg emergency for Harmes if he doesn't recover.

Garland emergency for Hogan if he doesn't get up. That would involve Tommy Mac going forward and Garland taking Gunston down back.

Will likely be the first time since Round 3 we slip under a percentage of 100.   

3 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Will likely be the first time since Round 3 we slip under a percentage of 100.   

We've been in every game this year.  We have had some poor losses, but we've never been smashed.  I see no reason why that can't continue next week.

28 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

90% would count an effective disposal as being the one that landed just before Dawes, who was 15m in the clear (at time Jones was 20m in the clear). His disposal is not up to AFL standard, never has been and never will be IMO. When it comes to Matt Jones, I am biased, to me he is a plodder who makes far too many skill errors when under no pressure or gives away clumsy free kicks. Doesn't deserve a game to me

He certainly made some horrible decisions on the outside today.

In: Jake Spencer

Out Chris Dawes

Spencer cannot be worse than Dawes down forward and can give Max Gawn a much needed chop out. Let's not burn out big Maxy.

Watts has been good in the ruck but let's not expose him to potential injury and batter his body uneccerily.

Max can spend much more time forward where he is dangerous with a proper backup ruck.

2 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

We've been in every game this year.  We have had some poor losses, but we've never been smashed.  I see no reason why that can't continue next week.

I agree but we are only .9 of a percent over 100.  Not saying we will get smashed.. it will probably only take a 15 point loss to fall a bit under 100.  Irrelevant in the scheme of things, but interesting nonetheless. To last 15 consecutive rounds over 100% is unheard of for this club in the last 10 years.

Just now, Petraccattack said:

I agree but we are only .9 of a percent over 100.  Not saying we will get smashed.. it will probably only take a 15 point loss to fall a bit under 100.  Irrelevant in the scheme of things, but interesting nonetheless. To last 15 consecutive rounds over 100% is unheard of for this club in the last 10 years.

Ah, fair enough mate, didn't realise we were only just above it.

Mates throwing his 40th that arvo/evening and I'm absolutely stoked I won't be able to make it.

Try all the changes you want, if we fluff around with the ball like we have been we will get smacked.

15 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Mates throwing his 40th that arvo/evening and I'm absolutely stoked I won't be able to make it.

Try all the changes you want, if we fluff around with the ball like we have been we will get smacked.

My film is playing at MIFF. Doing the intro, racing to the ground to watch the first and a bit of the second quarter, then back for the Q&A and then back to the footy for the end of the third and the fourth quarters. I think we'll put up a much better show next week than we did today.

Edited by AdamFphlebeb

2 minutes ago, AdamFphlebeb said:

My film is playing at MIFF. Doing the intro, racing to the ground to watch the first and a bit of the second quarter, then back for the Q&A and then back to the footy for the end of the third and the fourth quarters. I think we'll put up a much better show next week than we did today.

Is it a porno Adam?

Terlich for Hogan (injured)

2 hours ago, Dockett 32 said:

Need some goal kickers next week . 

When was the last time 9 goals was enough to beat Hawthorn.

Terlich! :ph34r:

18 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Is it a porno Adam?

Debbie does Melbourne.

3 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Vince is the first out that comes to mind.

Kennedy and Oliver in. 

Vince out????

3 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Think Hogan might struggle to get up with his knee. Dawes must go as should Garlett. Think it might be time to try the Weed or Huelett. Maybe Terlich should get a game as a forward. Kennedy and Clarry will also be considered.

Yeah let's play Weed and Hullett against the Hawks, great move 

If Hoges doesn't get up I'd like to see Hullett get a run before the Weed as I think he's done a bit more this season.

Cant drop Vince as he is still is one of our most important players but I'm sure he will get a solid talking to about minimum acceptable actions for next week.

Matt J genuinely spreads well and if he could kick he'd be a genuinely decent winger. But continually missing targets uncontested 25m away is unforgivable and he never hits the scoreboard. At his age it's not going to click now. He's given his all but for the rest of the season is rather see if Kennedy or Neal-Bullen can play that role.

1 hour ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Saw young Weed up close in the Betty Cuthbert bar today RTG. I reckon his build is almost identical to Jack Watts when he came to the club.

I don't think a debut against Hawthorn would be healthy for him!

As Weed's build doesn't appear to be quite ready yet, how about Hulett?   He looks a monster from his photos and has done some good things by all reports.

3 hours ago, Clint Bizkit said:

Terrible trolling.

Not at all, I thought he was far from our worst. 

1 minute ago, monoccular said:

As Weed's build doesn't appear to be quite ready yet, how about Hulett?   He looks a monster from his photos and has done some good things by all reports.

He is certainly a decent sized unit mono, but I don't know whether he is ready for a call up. Perhaps one of the regular Casey watchers could comment.

52 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

ins. Newton Kennedy Garland Grimes Michie Pedersen Oliver

outs. Wagner O.mcd Dawes Garlett m.jones hunt vince (inj)

jetta t.mcd garland

grimes frost michie

Harmes Viney stretch

Kent Pedersen Petraccccccccca

Kennedy Hogan Watts

Gawn Tyson N.Jones

Oliver Newton Brayshaw Vandenburg

Todays team was poor. 7 changes demonstrates how sub standard the performance was.

I passed this on to Patrick Smith for the gibberish of the week award.  If you're lucky you might take out the grand prize 

1 hour ago, AdamFphlebeb said:

Wow. What game were you watching? He barely hit a target.

I don't reckon this is a factor in selection - otherwise why would Matt Jones ever get a game?  

Harmes works his backside off, he's tough as nails, and he's an above average contested mark.  I think so long as he is bringing those aspects (which he did), he'll be in.  As much as Harmes really does make me want to cry with his ball use, generally I think Roos accepts a few skill errors when the player is otherwise clearly doing most things right.  

I'm yet to see a player dropped this year when they've turned it over a few times when they were otherwise good.  Don't reckon it will start this week.