The Jesse Hogan Panic Room - all contract talk here

See you all in 12 months.

If I was Jesse Hogan, I would NOT be signing any long term deal right now with Melbourne.  My last half of the year has reduced my currency.  My kicking has suddenly become unreliable, and horrible at 45m out.  I want to prove that I am worth the bucks they are paying Boyd etc...  If I am to play footy 4000Km from home long term, I want the big bucks.  Any club official or simple supporter who wants to force an answer now is kidding themselves.  This simple supporter, who signs a 10 year mortgage for instance, would accept that bank asking for total repayment in year 9????  FFS.

If I was Melbourne, I would be seeing what Freo and WC can offer right now.  Freo has high picks (thanks to GWS refusal for the 2015 McCarthy trade) and the best player in the comp who wants September action soon.

It aint that hard is it?  120 pages of BS and unproductive time.

TGR

5 hours ago, Nasher said:

If there's anything particularly off or inappropriate, make sure to report it please.  Can't speak for other moderators, but I generally don't read this thread.

Wise move Nasher

Tim Smith would cost about half the coin and probably kick as many goals , maybe more and lay more tackles ie; forward pressure

5aa sports show had Caro on this arvo and as they were signing off the chat Stephen Rowe said "Caro, your mission this week is to dig around Nat Fyfe"

To which she replied "Hearing strong talk of him maybe moving to Victoria... In exchange for Hogan... It's seriously gaining momentum"

I can only report what I hear so there you go :cool:

39 minutes ago, TGR said:

If I was Jesse Hogan, I would NOT be signing any long term deal right now with Melbourne.  My last half of the year has reduced my currency.  My kicking has suddenly become unreliable, and horrible at 45m out.  I want to prove that I am worth the bucks they are paying Boyd etc...  If I am to play footy 4000Km from home long term, I want the big bucks.  Any club official or simple supporter who wants to force an answer now is kidding themselves.  This simple supporter, who signs a 10 year mortgage for instance, would accept that bank asking for total repayment in year 9????  FFS.

If I was Melbourne, I would be seeing what Freo and WC can offer right now.  Freo has high picks (thanks to GWS refusal for the 2015 McCarthy trade) and the best player in the comp who wants September action soon.

It aint that hard is it?  120 pages of BS and unproductive time.

TGR

But how do you know he hasn't been offered the contract that "yips free" Hogan would have been offered?

As sensible as your post is, we are all still guessing as to what is happening in the background. 

19 minutes ago, KrazyJay said:

5aa sports show had Caro on this arvo and as they were signing off the chat Stephen Rowe said "Caro, your mission this week is to dig around Nat Fyfe"

To which she replied "Hearing strong talk of him maybe moving to Victoria... In exchange for Hogan... It's seriously gaining momentum"

I can only report what I hear so there you go :cool:

I think the time is rapidly approaching for a "The Nat Fyfe thread"

this whole thing has me extremely conflicted.

he has had a bad year, but i am of the firm belief he will be one of the best forwards of the comp.

my first preference would be to keep him but if he needs to go home i want the kitchen sink for him without feeling ripped off.

fyfe? i just don't know... yes he was the best player in the league in 2015. but he has now had 2 broken legs. i I am just not confident you can come back from that and have the same athletic level.

even if fyfe comes back to his best will I be happy?     if hogan turns out to be carey-esque then the answer is probably no?

my biggest concern is the loss of forward power. with watts and weiderman (who needs another year at least) as our leading forwards, then pedo(assuming he is still there) I am not sure there will be enough goals there.

Just now, faultydet said:

I think the time is rapidly approaching for a "The Nat Fyfe thread"

Now I am salivating.

All you Hogan-lovers have wasted good saliva on here for years.  

Just now, TGR said:

Now I am salivating.

All you Hogan-lovers have wasted good saliva on here for years.  

Don't rate Hogan TGR?

Is Hogan a multi-dimensional mobile tall?  No.  Unlike Boyd, he can't play ruck.  Lynch at the Suns is a better grab, more mobile, and more reliable kick.  Hogan is good for his age, and super strong; but can he be as mobile or multi-positional say as a Roughead?  I don' think so.

Pidgeon-holed as a big forward.  Would have done well in the days of Lockett and Dunstall.

Lost it with me finally when he told VDB to PO at 3/4 time recently.  A sook and one-dimensional unreliable goal-kicker that we can get dividends for now.

1 minute ago, TGR said:

Lost it with me finally when he told VDB to PO at 3/4 time recently.  A sook and one-dimensional unreliable goal-kicker that we can get dividends for now.

Elaborate?

2 minutes ago, TGR said:

Is Hogan a multi-dimensional mobile tall?  No.  Unlike Boyd, he can't play ruck.  Lynch at the Suns is a better grab, more mobile, and more reliable kick.  Hogan is good for his age, and super strong; but can he be as mobile or multi-positional say as a Roughead?  I don' think so.

Pidgeon-holed as a big forward.  Would have done well in the days of Lockett and Dunstall.

Wow, enlightening. I Hadn't heard that before. And not many have been brave enough to label him with those terms either.

Personally, I'm a huge fan, but see him as a CHF, not a F.F

Fyfe if fit again, would be what I would expect if he moves on. At least you have the nuts to put your rep on the line. Kudos.

1 minute ago, schmuttt said:

Elaborate?

Look at my previous posts about him.  All there.  Caught on camera.

Hogan is what I have wanted for decades. He has arrogance, presence, amazing marking and great work rate. He will tear the Comp apart in a few years. 

I would take Fyfe. But anything else we lose and lose big. 

20 minutes ago, schmuttt said:

Elaborate?

If you have afl live, it's at the end of the third quarter against Port. 

4 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

The only other place I've read about this is Bigfooty, who's posters are embarrassingly quoting Demonland as the source. 

A poster posting simply "weeks not months" alluding to the time his father has left is disgustingly poor form. 

ET out. 

A big Demonland congratulation on your leadership ET. I'm with you.

35 minutes ago, schmuttt said:

Elaborate?

Just as they're grouping up into the 3 quarter time huddle. 

28:40 mark of the 3rd qtr replay

Had a terrible quarter with the boot and was probably more angry at himself than VDB... but still not a good look when the team is leading going into 3 qtr time...

51 minutes ago, TGR said:

Rono, did you consider Jono Brown to be a multi-dimensional tall ?

1 hour ago, red and blue forever said:

t

even if fyfe comes back to his best will I be happy?     if hogan turns out to be carey-esque then the answer is probably no?

Mate, Fyfe won the Brownlow last year. He polled 31 votes.

He is the bst player in the country when up and running.  Yes the leg is a worry but if he is cleared and we get him....  oh boy.

48 minutes ago, Go the Biff said:

Rono, did you consider Jono Brown to be a multi-dimensional tall ?

Actually GTB, Hogan reminds me of Jono without the full-on intimidation, and reliable kick, ridiculous courage (mark v. Hawks) and fluctuating body-language.  Hogan is better to listen to, if you ignore his left hand.

Put Hogan into Brisbane circa 2001-2004, yes, he would have achieved most of what Brown achieved.  Put Luke Breust or Josh Caddy in the red and blue over the past 4 years, and they would have done nothing.

To answer your question, probably not.  But Brown made up for it with A+'s in other areas I reckon.

27 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Mate, Fyfe won the Brownlow last year. He polled 31 votes.

He is the bst player in the country when up and running.  Yes the leg is a worry but if he is cleared and we get him....  oh boy.

yeah, i know, that is why i am conflicted... do you take he best mid in the league, or the best forward?

7 minutes ago, red and blue forever said:

yeah, i know, that is why i am conflicted... do you take he best mid in the league, or the best forward?

Having spent many years trying to build a team I'd personally rather the younger Jesse Hogan. 

Having said that Fyfe is a super player. 

Fyfe can do anything Hogan can do and be the best midfielder in the comp if he comes back from the breaks. I would swap them in a heartbeat. But only after an exhaustive medical, then on a long term deal.