Drop Hogan

I'm glad that whole "I'm not signing so I can focus on my footy" line is working as well for him as it did for Chip, Buddy, Danger....

We'll get screwed on any Hogan trade that's for sure. Prepare yourselves to accept an Ed Langdon or a Matt Taberner and some later round pick swaps. 

1 hour ago, solly21 said:

Jesse Hogan wants out anyway I have been told that if Jesse Hogan could get out of his contract he would Leave at the end of this year & he wants to play for Fremantle

And who told you this, Tiger ?

I'm not a scaremonger, but have 2 very good mates who work in the industry at other clubs both of whom are usually very reliable sources. They have both told me separately that he's gone. Has agreed terms with Freo and will seek a trade home at the end of the year. I sincerely hope they're wrong, although would seem to align with the body language issues and delaying of contract negotiations.  

He may as well go and shack up with McCarthey. What's the point?

9 minutes ago, adsy said:

I'm not a scaremonger, but have 2 very good mates who work in the industry at other clubs both of whom are usually very reliable sources. They have both told me separately that he's gone. Has agreed terms with Freo and will seek a trade home at the end of the year. I sincerely hope they're wrong, although would seem to align with the body language issues and delaying of contract negotiations.  

I don't trust "industry sources".

He's not a free agent and can't do a deal with anyone. 

i personally don't care if he stays or goes he is just 1 player, but If he does request a trade at seasons end then I hope the club finally grow a set and play hard Ball and if a deal can't be reached that suits us then the answer is no and we keep him too his contract I can't see him pulling a macarthy and leaving anyway 

There wasn't too many good players v Essendon.To single out a 2nnd year player is totally unfair. I havn't seen the Captain jump up and down after the poor showing.Nat is an honest player but not Captain material. If Freo get Hogan by any chance then Melbourne will probably get McCarthy possibly not a bad replacement.The coaching staff must take the blame/

3 minutes ago, brendan said:

i personally don't care if he stays or goes he is just 1 player, but If he does request a trade at seasons end then I hope the club finally grow a set and play hard Ball and if a deal can't be reached that suits us then the answer is no and we keep him too his contract I can't see him pulling a macarthy and leaving anyway 

I can, his on field sooking has all the hallmarks of a McCarthey style self imposed exile

6 minutes ago, ProDee said:

I'm aware of how the FA system works. However, if he comes to the club at the end of the season, 'I want a trade to Freo and I'm not going to sign a new contract next year,' then the club will have no choice but to oblige, despite him being contracted as the following year. The following year he could walk to them via the PSD and it's not in anyone's interest to keep him at the club if he doesn't want to be there. 

15 minutes ago, leucopogon said:

I can, his on field sooking has all the hallmarks of a McCarthey style self imposed exile

Sure now that it has happened it will happen again and again. The AFL should put a crippling price premium on clubs that steal these kind of players even if they go to the PSD. Is the only way to discourage this kind of back door dealing.

57 minutes ago, leucopogon said:

We'll get screwed on any Hogan trade that's for sure. Prepare yourselves to accept an Ed Langdon or a Matt Taberner and some later round pick swaps. 

Lauchie Weller plus top 10 draft pick (Freo will be average this year) and second round draft pick. Would you do that? I reckon that would be the trade if Hogan leaves at season end (or around the same value). We will get even less if he leaves once his contract expires.

4 minutes ago, Moneider96 said:

Lauchie Weller plus top 10 draft pick (Freo will be average this year) and second round draft pick. Would you do that? I reckon that would be the trade if Hogan leaves at season end (we will get even less if he leaves once his contract expires). 

Sold.

1 hour ago, stuie said:

I'm glad that whole "I'm not signing so I can focus on my footy" line is working as well for him as it did for Chip, Buddy, Danger....

He clearly wants to go to Freo who need a forward. He's missing home. 

27 minutes ago, adsy said:

I'm aware of how the FA system works. However, if he comes to the club at the end of the season, 'I want a trade to Freo and I'm not going to sign a new contract next year,' then the club will have no choice but to oblige, despite him being contracted as the following year. The following year he could walk to them via the PSD and it's not in anyone's interest to keep him at the club if he doesn't want to be there. 

He can say he's depressed and retire then reinvent himself.

13 minutes ago, Moneider96 said:

Lauchie Weller plus top 10 draft pick (Freo will be average this year) and second round draft pick. Would you do that? I reckon that would be the trade if Hogan leaves at season end (or around the same value). We will get even less if he leaves once his contract expires.

Wtong Lachie

Just now, Django said:

Already devising trade scenarios. Wow.

I must be the only person that think he will stay..  well not the only one but we are in the minority I feel

1 minute ago, Petraccattack said:

I must be the only person that think he will stay..  well not the only one but we are in the minority I feel

I'm more inclined to think he'll stay but not totally sold either way at this stage.

But facts are facts, and he is signed on with us for another 2 years and Freo will gain McCarthy at the end of this season. We will be able to pay him a hefty wage and he up until the last couple of match days, his body language has been very positive.

If this keeps happening Melbourne clubs will think very hard before drafting WA recruits. I am sure if we got Natanui he'd be gone by now. It's a problem that needs to be addressed by the AFL

4 minutes ago, Django said:

I'm more inclined to think he'll stay but not totally sold either way at this stage.

But facts are facts, and he is signed on with us for another 2 years and Freo will gain McCarthy at the end of this season. We will be able to pay him a hefty wage and he up until the last couple of match days, his body language has been very positive.

His body language last week vs the GWS in the 2nd half was fine, hell the guy was ecstatic when the siren sounded and he celebrated every goal we put through in the last quarter.

A week is a long time in footy and the AFL media are cretins with a 24 hour memory span.

5 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

This thread is turning into a disgrace. 

Both Hogan threads were a disgrace pages ago, and it will only get worse as people sprout their supposed inside knowledge and reputable sources that we all know are garbage. 

Its going to be a long 2 years... 

1 hour ago, ProDee said:

True, but GWS (Boyd) and Bris (Aish) are examples of clubs that might disagree. Of course, their circumstances aren't identical to ours, but young players who left early and demanded a deal be done.