View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Training - Friday 12th February, 2016

Big crowd expected at next training session.

Monday 15 February - Gosch's Paddock - 1.45am

45 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Is it a full moon?

10 hours ago, Courtney_Fish said:

Wiseblood, are you sure you're not a Collingwood supporter that's logged in to the wrong site?

I don't remember 'Wise' ever being so cynical & vindictive from years back???? 

maybe something has happened to wise over the lat 12 - 18 months, which may have banged him up a bit. changed him?    lets cut him some slack.

• Author
2 hours ago, dee-luded said:

I don't remember 'Wise' ever being so cynical & vindictive from years back???? 

maybe something has happened to wise over the lat 12 - 18 months, which may have banged him up a bit. changed him?    lets cut him some slack.

Maybe he should give himself a rest from the site now and again like I do

For the regular track watchers at this time of year, to assuage those concerned with the size of the rehab group at the moment,  if Round 1 was next week,  who would realistically be unavailable for selection? 

I assume it would be Lamumba, Dawes, Trengove and Petracca? 

7 hours ago, Tough Kent said:

Was talking to Max King during the week. He cops heaps from the boys because he is forced to eat 3/4 steaks for dinner every night. He has to eat to the point of making himself sick to put on size. Not much fun he reckons.

Wish I had that problem! 

3 hours ago, Akum said:

Is it a full moon?

Especially for the insomniacs.

7 hours ago, Tough Kent said:

Was talking to Max King during the week. He cops heaps from the boys because he is forced to eat 3/4 steaks for dinner every night. He has to eat to the point of making himself sick to put on size. Not much fun he reckons.

Why doesn't he just eat a whole steak ? :rolleyes:

4 hours ago, Redleg said:

Saw that.  I like the commitment. 

I also saw Saty say that the intraclub will be Friday.  Good thing we're supporting Collingwood so none of us have jobs we need to be at or anything.  Sorry, Anyfink. 

48 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Especially for the insomniacs.

I was thinking more of the werewolf & zombie crowd. The Demons would be the natural club to support for the undead. They embody our "never-say-die" spirit.

A part of our supporter group we don't often get to see.

8 hours ago, Gorgoroth said:

Depth players I believe if we are to become a top 8 side.

I believe we need depth players if we are to become a top 8 side.

10 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

That said, I've never had Matt Jones and Terlich in the same category. I reckon Matt Jones is a good player who can perform a role in the seniors. Think he's unfairly maligned by many here.

Agreed. Some posters should re-watch our win over Geelong last season. Matt Jones was one of our best.

Also wish people would remember that neither of these players can be faulted for their effort, endeavor or comittment. These things matter. They do not deserve the venomous attacks that are all too often made against them on these forums.

1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Yep, and when they are third-fourth choice at depth then we will be challenging for a flag.

On 12 February 2016 at 4:04 PM, Wiseblood said:

If Matt Jones and Dean Terlich are even close to our best 22 then we've gone backwards.

I don't give a toss what they do at training, they've already proven they aren't capable AFL players in any way, shape or form.

It's great they are training the house down, under no pressure, which they've done for years.  I'm glad they are having a dip, but if they are anywhere near our side this year (unless we have no choice due to injuries) then every single supporter should be worried.  Very worried.

Same goes for Grimes then.

35 minutes ago, wretched.sylph said:

Agreed. Some posters should re-watch our win over Geelong last season. Matt Jones was one of our best.

Also wish people would remember that neither of these players can be faulted for their effort, endeavor or comittment. These things matter. They do not deserve the venomous attacks that are all too often made against them on these forums.

I also recall Terlich was pivotal in a game where we upset the Crows at home. Maybe our coaches have ironed out some of their issues. They will have to prove themselves in the NAB and at Casey but if they are knocking on the door it will be a good thing. Hopefully any game they get will be on merit and not because they are the last standing because of injuries.

4 hours ago, bing181 said:

No, we need A-graders to become a top 8 side.

Your best players determine your fortunes far more than your also-rans.

Btw, this isn't an argument against depth, more-so a recognition that it's quality players that make the difference in any climb up the ladder.

23 hours ago, fndee said:

It is highly unlikely to happen but I'm barracking for both Terlich and M. Jones to show significant development and become top 15 players in a rising Melbourne side this year. Some on here have been particularly unkind about these two. For whatever their failings both are competitors who have played well above the pay scale in the past. It would be nice if they could shut up some of their harsher critics

Be careful what you wish for. If those 2 become top 15, we will be lucky to win a game

Edited by DavidNeitz9
spelling

It is kinda funny that Terlich having a great game in a match sim can cause a minor freak out. Players can elevate their game at almost any stage of their career. He no doubt knows it's now or never and full credit to him.  If his training and performances warrant selection, he gets selected. It's not a cause for panic or necessarily a sign of the team going backwards.

• Author
8 hours ago, P-man said:

It is kinda funny that Terlich having a great game in a match sim can cause a minor freak out. Players can elevate their game at almost any stage of their career. He no doubt knows it's now or never and full credit to him.  If his training and performances warrant selection, he gets selected. It's not a cause for panic or necessarily a sign of the team going backwards.

Agreed, this year I am slightly more upbeat, we have depth finally across all areas, and some real young talent being allowed to develop, whoever is in the 22 each week will be there because they are consistently performing at a very high standard and deserve to be there

So anyone getting up at 1:45am as the website says for training on Monday? Haha

It will have to be a massive turn around for Terlich - he was rarely mentioned in the best players for Casey last year, and his match reports were hardly glowing, often criticising his positioning and decision making. Will keep an open mind, hoping to be pleasantly surprised.

• Author
19 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

It will have to be a massive turn around for Terlich - he was rarely mentioned in the best players for Casey last year, and his match reports were hardly glowing, often criticising his positioning and decision making. Will keep an open mind, hoping to be pleasantly surprised.

He has to perform this year, who knows whether he can crack a spot in the 22, but he is giving it his best shot, which is good on him, interestingly he was very good on Friday, with the main culprit for turnovers being Viney, so you can never tell..........last year because of the mass of injuries we had, he played with a couple of hampering minor injuries, ankle and hand.....he is hard and competitive, and yes some of skill errors in the past have been horrible, but who knows we may have fixed those

4 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Agreed, this year I am slightly more upbeat, we have depth finally across all areas, and some real young talent being allowed to develop, whoever is in the 22 each week will be there because they are consistently performing at a very high standard and deserve to be there

I'm not going to do it Saty because I don't really mind but I reckon you said the same thing last year.

Last year McKenzie was very good for Casey week after week and was overlooked while Lumumba was disappointing week after week.  Lumumba wasn't dropped and McKenzie wasn't elevated because the coaches knew that Lumumba had a future and McKenzie didn't (I'm not suggesting one for the other BTW).  The same thing will happen this year I reckon and Jones and Terlich will only get games if things are very bleak as they fit firmly into the McKenzie situation given a normal run of injury.

• Author
3 minutes ago, Baghdad Bob said:

I'm not going to do it Saty because I don't really mind but I reckon you said the same thing last year.

Last year McKenzie was very good for Casey week after week and was overlooked while Lumumba was disappointing week after week.  Lumumba wasn't dropped and McKenzie wasn't elevated because the coaches knew that Lumumba had a future and McKenzie didn't (I'm not suggesting one for the other BTW).  The same thing will happen this year I reckon and Jones and Terlich will only get games if things are very bleak as they fit firmly into the McKenzie situation given a normal run of injury.

But we got ravaged by injury las year BB if Kent vandenBerg and Salem had stayed fit hopefully this year we have a better standard of cover