View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Sam Mayes

Ps He is a Melbourne supporter too.

Very talented, but quality young players won't choose Melbourne as their destination club.

At the end of next year Prestia may be interested due to the family connection and there's always the chance of perhaps a GWS player who's not getting much of a look in, but other than that you can forget it.

I think the same would probably apply for Mayes, as it would Whitfield. He was Melbourne too, wasn't he?

Prestia's family (Father and Uncle) are supposedly still linked to the club after years of coterie membership and a business arrangement, which is more powerful than a kid just being a supporter. I hold zero weight in the latter.

mayes and aish for our first rounder...that's an interesting suggestion.

it's two unproven commodities for one unproven one. both have positives and negatives.

i'd prefer bennell plus ideally something else for our first rounder (and howe?), but otherwise this has my votes thus far.

trade pick 25 (round 2) obtained as MFC compo for Colin Garland leaving... fair deal

Take that in a heartbeat, but it won't happen!

I liked Mayes back when he was drafted and he had a decent first year, but I must admit I haven't noticed him much since. Has he had injuries? What would Brisbane realistically want for him? Is he worth it?

trade pick 25 (round 2) obtained as MFC compo for Colin Garland leaving... fair deal

We won't get pick 25 for Garland. That is not even remotely realistic.

Would anyone entertain trading our first pick for Mayes and Aish? Would it be possible?

No chance.

Would anyone entertain trading our first pick for Mayes and Aish? Would it be possible?

Food for thought, one of the more sensible suggestions I've seen. Brisbane might (what are their needs - draft picks?), Melbourne might (our needs, outside pace & skills), would the players though? If Aish is truly looking at Carlton as an option then we would have to be an option too - depending on the size of the contract. Definitely in the realm of blue sky mining.

Edited by grazman

Brisbane certainly won't, and Melbourne would take Brisbane's hand off accepting the offer.

Wonder why though - do you think they will get better offers elsewhere or simply refuse to trade them? Both out of contract and murmurings that Aish might consider going to Carlton in the PSD. Things are crook in Tallarook Brisvegas.

A single first round pick for both of Mayes AND Aish?

You'd have to be dreaming.

Whitfield was a Hawthorn fan.

Mayes and Redden for pick 6 might get a conversation started though. Something else would probably need to go back in that scenario.

Ok, I get it now, it's not about the theoretical possibility, just the price. The price is always negotiable. Like real estate the price the seller wants and the buyer is prepared to pay is framed by the market.

Edited by grazman

I was more throwing it out there seeing if people here think it would be worth our first pick for both?

Or would we rather use that pick in the draft.

Whitfield was a Hawthorn fan.

Mayes and Redden for pick 6 might get a conversation started though. Something else would probably need to go back in that scenario.

Gee reckon you're onto something there and think Brisbane would certainly look to start a conversation with that offer.

Pretty interesting proposal, don't mind it.

PS: Love the signature 'fork'.

Sam Mayes - born and raised in Port Pirie, South Australia. Has been a long time MFC supporter. Comes from a very 'athletic' family - well known in the district. Definitely worth considering as believe he still has a lot of upside - quick and skillful.

I don't recall seeing him play over the last couple of years, but he was a very enticing draft possibility back when we were desperate for HB runners.

I'd like to see us chase him. maybe we can do a swap of some players or other.

Pick 6 for mayes and redden would be nice

I liked Mayes back when he was drafted and he had a decent first year, but I must admit I haven't noticed him much since. Has he had injuries? What would Brisbane realistically want for him? Is he worth it?

Injuries - Yes

Want for Him - Heaps

Worth It - Bloody Oath

Love the way he runs (smart and quick) and has excellent skills.

I can understand the Crows making some noise behind the scenes if Danger is going. They will be movers and shakers in the trade period if danger goes.

Brisbane are struggling. Maybe one of the senior players has to start shouting the younger ones some drugs like they do on the gold coast to keep the group together.