RARE AIR

Posted

I haven't started a thread for some time... but did so quite regularly in the Daniher years. I'm feeling the warm & fuzzies that we have all been enjoying since Sunday's milestone performance, the best 120 minutes of team play that I can remember since 1987! I am now conVINCED that Bernie is the best recruit from another AFL/VFL team that I care to remember. I am also SHAW that Angus is the best first year addition I have seen in Blue & Red... Discuss

Gus and Hogan are both up there for me in terms of impressive debut seasons but people have short memories - Trengove's first season was awesome, but I suppose a little bit overshadowed by Scully's first year.

That just reminds me how quickly things can go pear shape - losing our talent to injury and defection!

Just reminds me that while we may be at a turning point we need to wait a while to see if the NSC is dead!

Sigh...

Really???

Really???

We all intensely dislike him, but tell me you weren't excited like everybody else when he racked up 39 possessions in a game as a fresh faced 18 year old.

We were all salivating at the prospect and then we all thought we'd been royally screwed over - little did we know, it would end up like this. Plus, I bet Phil has eaten plenty of Tom's cheques before he's had a chance to cash them.

We all intensely dislike him, but tell me you weren't excited like everybody else when he racked up 39 possessions in a game as a fresh faced 18 year old.

We were all salivating at the prospect and then we all thought we'd been royally screwed over - little did we know, it would end up like this. Plus, I bet Phil has eaten plenty of Tom's cheques before he's had a chance to cash them.

I thought he was overrated in that game. Pleased with his work rate but most of his possessions went back to the opposition.

I rated Trenners ahead of Scully and still do. I hope he gets back on the park soon.

I love the way Gus takes the game on, he has a rare awareness for a first year player, very natural. He has a spark that can change the flow of a game and rev the rest of the boys up. Exciting times indeed.

• Author

I'm not talking disposals (total) when I refer to Brayshaw... I'm talking about the complete competitive animal with the intuitive moves that Scully can only dream about and Trenners hasn't had the body to deliver.

I don't post much either: I find all the negativity a bit concerning. On Sunday night I was thinking of posting that the Grimes and Pederson injuries were obviously the fault of David Misson, as were all the other injuries according to some of the desperadoes who post their tears and fears here.

I spent Sunday afternoon and evening and most of the night in the emergency department of Box Hill Hospital with an ailment not many medicos seem to have a handle on. I was expecting the worst about my team - my team since 1958 when I was 8 - and when I dared to check the score on my iphone I nearly fell out of my seat. The guy next door had it on his ipad but it was delayed, Hawkins was lining up and missing a goal at that stage.

It felt good. Most of all I felt good for the players, those poor bastards who have done it so hard since the Daniher days. The next day I watched the replays which made my recovery extra sweet, especially when I recalled opening the bowling for Sunshine Cricket club in 1967 and being called for throwing at the same ground. I'd made 16 not out, driving sweetly through the covers, and I knew the ball I was called for was legit. I threw the next ball, the umpire let it go and I stood at the end of my run up and asked the square leg why he hadn't called that ball. That's the one I threw, I said, not the previous ball.

That's life, I guess.

I'm not talking disposals (total) when I refer to Brayshaw... I'm talking about the complete competitive animal with the intuitive moves that Scully can only dream about and Trenners hasn't had the body to deliver.

True about the mongrel in Brayshaw, we haven't seen that in a fresh starter before. Each player often has their own outstanding characteristics though and Trengove was very impressive in the air and tackled very well. Scully's was his running.

i considered JT the best of his class, thought he showed a lot more than Scully and said so then.

I don't post much either: I find all the negativity a bit concerning. On Sunday night I was thinking of posting that the Grimes and Pederson injuries were obviously the fault of David Misson, as were all the other injuries according to some of the desperadoes who post their tears and fears here.

I spent Sunday afternoon and evening and most of the night in the emergency department of Box Hill Hospital with an ailment not many medicos seem to have a handle on. I was expecting the worst about my team - my team since 1958 when I was 8 - and when I dared to check the score on my iphone I nearly fell out of my seat. The guy next door had it on his ipad but it was delayed, Hawkins was lining up and missing a goal at that stage.

It felt good. Most of all I felt good for the players, those poor bastards who have done it so hard since the Daniher days. The next day I watched the replays which made my recovery extra sweet, especially when I recalled opening the bowling for Sunshine Cricket club in 1967 and being called for throwing at the same ground. I'd made 16 not out, driving sweetly through the covers, and I knew the ball I was called for was legit. I threw the next ball, the umpire let it go and I stood at the end of my run up and asked the square leg why he hadn't called that ball. That's the one I threw, I said, not the previous ball.

That's life, I guess.

Great to hear your story Dieter! Please post more!

Cheers PF!

Yes Bernie is a few things in one.

Not only is he the experience to replace what we lost, he is icing on the cake.

Along with his own enjoyment ( he actually epitomises footy enjoyment ) he seems to have rejuvenated himself.

Take that left foot goal. It was like a hole in one. The smile said it all and that's infectious

That's life, I guess.

Hi dieter.

Need to talk to your family and friends network more I think. That post seems more about you, than anything the thread is about.

One thing, I'm now sitting here wondering what was wrong with you. I really hate that.

Happy for the win, and glad to see a Dees fan recover from whatever.

I still have the only pair I was born with.

Bragging again!

Yes Bernie is a few things in one.

Not only is he the experience to replace what we lost, he is icing on the cake.

Along with his own enjoyment ( he actually epitomises footy enjoyment ) he seems to have rejuvenated himself.

Take that left foot goal. It was like a hole in one. The smile said it all and that's infectious

I was sitting in my place in Philippines, with the missus and a couple of blow ins.

They learnt a few new "slang" words on the weekend. Bernies goal brought a few out, for sure. Epic moment in this season for me. Hole in one is a great description.

I haven't started a thread for some time... but did so quite regularly in the Daniher years. I'm feeling the warm & fuzzies that we have all been enjoying since Sunday's milestone performance, the best 120 minutes of team play that I can remember since 1987! I am now conVINCED that Bernie is the best recruit from another AFL/VFL team that I care to remember. I am also SHAW that Angus is the best first year addition I have seen in Blue & Red... Discuss

On a scale from "Tony Shaw" to "Bray Shaw", just how Shaw are you? And Watts it even matter?

Oh, forgot to mention the 'Rare Air' reference... bonus point to the first reply that gets it.

I thought it was going to be about those Jurrah Air t-shirts from a few years ago. Reckon there'd be a few posters here with them still in the bottom of their wardrobes....

That's life, I guess.

And let's look forward to future wins putting more smiles on all our faces dieter. Chin up mate, we will still have more obstacles to overcome, but for the first time in a long time we can clearly see the Dees turning the corner.