Posted

Some of Gawn's hitouts are sublime too!

If Gawn held on to a few of those marks then we would be calling it a breakout game, and one of very high quality. He found himself in some very useful spaces, got his hands on the footy and used it well. And I agree that his tap work was first rate!!

He was taking marks down at Casey, seems to fairly regularly down there so I'm guessing its a mental thing at AFL level. So I'm hoping it will come with more exposure, and if it does then he will be a terrific player.

Posted

Tuesday, May 19 was the cut off day for 'nominated' rookie elevation. ie one elevated regardless of # of players on senior list.

As we did not use that option nor put Trengove on the LTI it seems unlikely that any rookies upgrades will happen this season.

In keeping with good development of our youth I prefer it this way.

BTW not only are Stanley and Clark out, Kelly is out and Bartel will not be returning this week.

Not that it will help our cause much...too much talent at the cattery for us to counter.

Lets hope we stay in touch with them.

Posted

Pederson goes out through injury, but beyond that I don't know that we'll see wholesale changes. Jamar comes in for Pederson, play him predominantly as a forward and rucking every now and then.

I saw that Brayshaw looked proppy in the last quarter, hopefully he'll be right. He been one of our best in recent weeks. Perhaps one of ANB or Stretch to go out and bring in some seasoned bodies. I reckon Geelong will try to monster the players with rough play and big tackles, we need guys that can give it back.

I'm heading up the freeway for this game, hopefully it's not a massacre.

Posted

Pederson goes out through injury, but beyond that I don't know that we'll see wholesale changes. Jamar comes in for Pederson, play him predominantly as a forward and rucking every now and then.

I saw that Brayshaw looked proppy in the last quarter, hopefully he'll be right. He been one of our best in recent weeks. Perhaps one of ANB or Stretch to go out and bring in some seasoned bodies. I reckon Geelong will try to monster the players with rough play and big tackles, we need guys that can give it back.

I'm heading up the freeway for this game, hopefully it's not a massacre.

hopefully it is not a massacre but you are clearly a masochist.

Posted

So far it Michie seems better when he plays from the start (rather than coming on as sub) & Riley seems better as sub (rather than playing from the start).

Yeah, I know it's a small sample, but is it possible that some are better when they sub & some are worse?

Posted

So far it Michie seems better when he plays from the start (rather than coming on as sub) & Riley seems better as sub (rather than playing from the start).

Yeah, I know it's a small sample, but is it possible that some are better when they sub & some are worse?

Akum we are best served by them playing at Casey.

They are not up to senior level

Posted

If Geelong play with the same intensity and dash as they did against Port and we play like we usually play, it will be very ugly indeed. Call me a coward but I will not watching or listening. Just hurts to much. Last night, I opted for a beautiful roast dinner with my wife and elderly father in law over the cave like qualities of the Jihard. My wife was surprised with my decision and encouraged me to go (this is unusual) as she was sure the Demons would have a famous victory. Quietly, I told her that a family dinner with the father in law was a much better thing to do. In fact the truth was that the mental scars of going to watch all the ignoble defeats over the years at the Jihard was a pain to deep to articulate. I did not tell her I no longer believed in the possibility of victory or in honorable defeat. That going to the football was a [censored]. When I told her the final score, she looked at me with pity and shared sadness. For the rest of the night she showered me with love and affection. That was some compensation. I am glad to have chosen dinner over indigestible defeat.

Posted

If Geelong play with the same intensity and dash as they did against Port and we play like we usually play, it will be very ugly indeed. Call me a coward but I will not watching or listening. Just hurts to much. Last night, I opted for a beautiful roast dinner with my wife and elderly father in law over the cave like qualities of the Jihard. My wife was surprised with my decision and encouraged me to go (this is unusual) as she was sure the Demons would have a famous victory. Quietly, I told her that a family dinner with the father in law was a much better thing to do. In fact the truth was that the mental scars of going to watch all the ignoble defeats over the years at the Jihard was a pain to deep to articulate. I did not tell her I no longer believed in the possibility of victory or in honorable defeat. That going to the football was a [censored]. When I told her the final score, she looked at me with pity and shared sadness. For the rest of the night she showered me with love and affection. That was some compensation. I am glad to have chosen dinner over indigestible defeat.

I just wish i had a similar story Ernest.

Sadly it was just sad with no compensation

Posted

Some of Gawn's hitouts are sublime too!

Watts as third man up has also been extremely effective and I think he even did a couple of centre bounce ruck taps, one he put down vince's throat, I think Bernie was more shocked that this happened then he hand passed direct to Stevens for a goal

Posted

... When I told her the final score, she looked at me with pity and shared sadness. For the rest of the night she showered me with love and affection. That was some compensation. I am glad to have chosen dinner over indigestible defeat.

Hey Ern, what's the best way to get from a kind of manic derision to "love and affection" when you tell 'em the final score? Do I have to go through "pity and shared sadness" to get there?

And how much does it rely on sucking up to the in-laws???

(who'd have thought Hemingway would be the go-to guy for relationship advice!)

Posted

I just wish i had a similar story Ernest.

Sadly it was just sad with no compensation

Yup, I woke up to the news after a heavy night out in Addis Ababa, and then my lady friend left early so no chance of compensation....

Posted

Hey Ern, what's the best way to get from a kind of manic derision to "love and affection" when you tell 'em the final score? Do I have to go through "pity and shared sadness" to get there?

And how much does it rely on sucking up to the in-laws???

(who'd have thought Hemingway would be the go-to guy for relationship advice!)

Where do I start Akum? Supporting Melbourne, it should come easily to you.

Its a bit like asking how does one write a realistic novel based on historical fact with a narrative about the juxtaposition of human joy and suffering. More of the latter than the former.

By the way I am quite good on relationships particularly those ending in separation and tragedy.

Posted

Where do I start Akum? Supporting Melbourne, it should come easily to you.

Its a bit like asking how does one write a realistic novel based on historical fact with a narrative about the juxtaposition of human joy and suffering. More of the latter than the former.

By the way I am quite good on relationships particularly those ending in separation and tragedy.

Looks like you are the perfect fit for a dees supporter Ernest.

Posted

Blood more youngsters. Now is the time! Harmes must be elevated and given a go! Next season maybe King will get a game for Melbourne. Play Dawes in place of the injured Pedersen (he has to kick a few goals sometime). I am so looking forward to Trengove and Petracca playing next year. Alex Neal Bulleen will definitely be ready for next season if we keep playing him in the starting 21. Stretch plays well for us because he is motivated like Viney. I think we need to establish who wants to be at the club and will work hard for the team and the Club and who won't! No more passengers!

Posted

Sorry I think you need to re-read chook fowler. I did not call ANB a passenger. Max King can play as a forward so he would not necessarily replace Gawn. You and I and the players know who the passengers are so what is the point of naming them.

Posted

Sorry I think you need to re-read chook fowler. I did not call ANB a passenger. Max King can play as a forward so he would not necessarily replace Gawn. You and I and the players know who the passengers are so what is the point of naming them.

I apologise- I obviously got it wrong.

I think ANB showed enough to be given another chance.

Posted (edited)

Very tough call.

May be tough but there is reason we could not beat St Kilda

We have a number of players who are not good enough.

We have to acknowledge who they are.

Unfortunately Mitchie is one of them, far from alone but NGE just the same.

The bigger problem is there is no one at Casey at present who is any better.

Posted

Out: Pederson, Michie

In: Dawes, Bail

I would prefer we stuck with ANB and Stretch with one as sub instead of just bringing in others who we know what they will give at this level. Bail for more run against Cats and because Michie probably played the least impacting game as a sub I have seen. Dawes needed to reduce chances of Taylor, Rivers zoning off to Hogan.