Posted

He often runs out of puff in the second half. Or some strange phenomenon where the game opens up and he stops finding space The alternative is the bombers put someone on him to shut him down.

The biggest concern is he can have 15 to half time and not made any significant impact on the game with them.

There's a reason for that.... he can't play!

Posted

Just watched the 1st half. I would have to say out of all the MFC players Toumpas was best on ground for me so far. He used his pace and broke the lines, something we have rarely seen from him. His kicking was exceptional as well. About to watch the 2nd half.

Riley: Tough bugger! puts his head over the ball and wins the hard contested footy.

ANB: First glimpse and thought he was actually quite impressive. Another inside midfielder that will just get better and better as each game goes by. Needs to tidy up on his kicking but 2st game in the ones will do that to you.

Fitzy: A gun backman at this level. If he could now make the step up and bring this sort of effort into AFL level we could have a surprise packet here.

Terlich: Got his pants pulled down by Hardingham.. Long way back I would have thought.,

Jones: Wins the ball but his disposal by foot is just what lets him down unfortunately..

Gawn: Took some great marks in the last line of defence in the 2nd qtr.

Spencer: He is seriously a monster of a bloke. I have been a big critic of him but I wouldn't be against giving him a fair go in the ruck at AFL level.. I think he is next in line after Jamar and we need to seriously consider giving him some games to see if he has what it takes. Looks more nimble this year.

White: Quite half so far. hopefully I see a bit more in the 2nd half.

OMAC: A development year for McDonald. You would rather the ball in his hands then his Brother lol. Has a great kick on him.

Bail: Just another battler for me to be honest. Didn't impress me at all.

Do you have a link to the replay Dazzler?

Posted

I expect ANB and Stretch to make the step up to AFL, they are quality types.

Blokes like Matt Jones, Jack Grimes, Jimmy Toumpas, Rohan Bail, while they try hard, they aren't at that (AFL) level - and I suspect never will be.

MFC has gone through a mediocre phase where a lot of players get games, where in a successful side, they'd be no where near AFL level.

Posted

There's a reason for that.... he can't play!

He was BOG in the 1st half mate. I would much rather him in the side then Watts or McKenzie.

Posted

Do you have a link to the replay Dazzler?

I've tried looking for it and can't find it either. Apparently we are on TV next week which is good!

Posted

Mackenzie getting a gig over Toumpas last round, then being made sub and not even tagging Fyfe the entire game, is one of the most perplexing decisions made by this coaching regime (It also speaks volumes about where Jimmy is rated by the coach.)

What possible purpose did Jordie serve EXCEPT perform a hard tag on Fyfe? He proved, again, his disposal will never be AFL standard (and he should've had fresher legs than anyone else playing at that point!) and adds very little value on the field.

Posted

Mackenzie getting a gig over Toumpas last round, then being made sub and not even tagging Fyfe the entire game, is one of the most perplexing decisions made by this coaching regime (It also speaks volumes about where Jimmy is rated by the coach.)

What possible purpose did Jordie serve EXCEPT perform a hard tag on Fyfe? He proved, again, his disposal will never be AFL standard (and he should've had fresher legs than anyone else playing at that point!) and adds very little value on the field.

Agree

and for those asking for Bail to come in are kidding themselves aswell. Turns it over way too much even at VFL level as I am currently watching.

The McKenzie's and Bail's il give them a pat on the back for putting in the effort during those tough times. But now with our young talent coming through we just cannot afford to give these guys any more AFL games. The likes of Toumpas ANB Stretch are ones we should now be looking for depth and giving them plenty of experiences.

Posted

Yep nailed it! ! I think his first kick slewed of the side of the boot straight into a freo player!

Posted

He was BOG in the 1st half mate. I would much rather him in the side then Watts or McKenzie.

I would rather have Riley!

Posted

Positive: jimmy can get the ball..

Negative: he can't seem to do anything with it.

to me that suggests that alot of his issues are probably related to confidence, the belief he can do more than a ten meter chip pass, and that he can run and carry and actually create for his team.

i'd say his stats are almost totally irrelevant until he can show a capacity to use the ball with more impact

Posted

so what happened to toumpas in the second half?

Could be anything, especially at VFL level. He could have been given a run-with role, moved back (where the ball/game wasn't by all reports), rested ... maybe someone has some more specific info, but by anyone's standards, 15 disposals in a half of footy is more than decent. Follows up on being the highest possession-getter the week before, so he seems to be responding.

Certainly rather that than a Harmes getting only 9 possessions (might also be a story behind that of course ...)

Just feel Jimmy T will turn out fine, maybe even more than fine. It takes some players longer than others for it all to click, especially mentally. Of course, I could well be wrong ...

Posted

Through the first half. Could get used to watching ANB to Toump. Working really well together. Worried about the second half - how did Toump disappear. He is having a blinder. Fitz looks great as well. The closing speed he has and the reach is fantastic. Oscar Mac looks like he'll be a player.

Spence and Gawn are going well. I like out big man depth.

Posted

Harmes is playing pocket / outside man. He's being used as a link up and we're just not using him. It's going through bail, Jones much more

Posted

Could be anything, especially at VFL level. He could have been given a run-with role, moved back (where the ball/game wasn't by all reports), rested ... maybe someone has some more specific info, but by anyone's standards, 15 disposals in a half of footy is more than decent. Follows up on being the highest possession-getter the week before, so he seems to be responding.

Certainly rather that than a Harmes getting only 9 possessions (might also be a story behind that of course ...)

Just feel Jimmy T will turn out fine, maybe even more than fine. It takes some players longer than others for it all to click, especially mentally. Of course, I could well be wrong ...

I remember Cam Bruce taking an age before he could get into the side and once he did had a good career.

Posted

I remember Cam Bruce taking an age before he could get into the side and once he did had a good career.

Are you serious. Debuted in round 1 of his 1st season, and was a late withdrawal for the GF.

Posted

What I think Roosey is thinking is that Toumpas' development is the most important thing at the moment. It was telling that he wasnt even named in the emergencies - and Stretch was. I reckon they are giving him 8-10 weeks at vfl and if he can start dominating week in week out, he will get in the ones and stay there.

So then the question is, who was playing better than Mckenzie at casey? riley, jones? . much of a muchness

Posted

Toump - almost finished the 3rd. Yes he's gone missing. Went to half back for a little but it's like the Essendon game in the pre season. He's always on the opposite wing to the play and of there was an option to handball to Toump or another player, in the first half it always went to Toump - second half to the other guy. The other thing is that they gave Riley and jones and ANB more time in the centre in the second half. Toump has continued to run but he needs to get his hands on the ball much more and work out how he can get into the game again. Blocked well but he needs to distribute much more. Another couple of weeks but I'm not worried now. He has a bright future - runs all day and presents an option.

Posted

Are you serious. Debuted in round 1 of his 1st season, and was a late withdrawal for the GF.

And pick 64 as well, not 4!

Posted

Apologies to Saty for doing a review from the replay rather than being there. In order of best players:

Spencer - Dominated the ruck and got plenty of it around the ground. Missed 2 regulation shots at goal.

Fitzpatrick - Scorps had a loose man in the backline, so Fitz and Pannoza were able to dominate in the air. Fitz was really good at ground level, but as usual his disposal when under some pressure was average.

Riley - Won plenty of the ball but only on few occasions does he impact the game.

Jones - Won plenty of the ball but rarely hit a target with his disposal.

ANB - A lot to like with his awareness and creative handball. Like Brayshaw, loves to tackle. Knows how to find the ball, but a question mark on his kicking. Missed a sitter from 25m out in the 3rd.

Gawn - Far better this week, and was able to beat his shorter opponent in marking contests up forward. His ruckwork was also effective.

Toumpas - Outstanding 1st half, and showed rare awareness with every possession. Disappeared in the 2nd half. Not sure why.

Bail - Refer to Jones' comments. Missed 3 gettable goals.

Harmes - Great start with 2 classy goals, and his disposal is really good. Got caught a couple of times trying to do too much. Injured during the 3rd quarter, and didn't play in the last.

O. Mac - Really liked what I saw. Just looks like a footballer, with clean hands and a good kick. Couple of years in the weights room, and I think we'll have a player.

Terlich - Knows had to get an easy kick, but one of the few who was beaten by his direct opponent.

White - Seemed to struggle and was rarely sighted.

The Bombers lacked the intensity of Footscray the week before, and Casey were able to move the ball with little pressure. Forward pressure from the Bombers was non-existent, so I wouldn't get too carried away with individual performances.

Posted

Jakey Spencer was the bug surprise for me. Couldn't believe a bloke his size is actually quite nimble and not the dinosaur ruckman like Jamar.

I am very surprised he wasn't named in the best.. In fact I couldn't believe Bail did..

At some point Roosy seriously needs to consider giving Spence a fair go. While Jamar has been serviceable he won't be there next year and now we need Jake in the team as a number 1 ruckman. His chasing and 2nd efforts are first class for such a big guy.

I don't want another Darren Jolly / Stefan Martin scenario again...

Posted

yeah cos all ruckmen are the same

talking up spencer

i expect the knife will be out if he ever gets picked and plays poorly

Posted

Jakey Spencer was the bug surprise for me. Couldn't believe a bloke his size is actually quite nimble and not the dinosaur ruckman like Jamar.

I am very surprised he wasn't named in the best.. In fact I couldn't believe Bail did..

At some point Roosy seriously needs to consider giving Spence a fair go. While Jamar has been serviceable he won't be there next year and now we need Jake in the team as a number 1 ruckman. His chasing and 2nd efforts are first class for such a big guy.

I think the pace of VFL footy suits Spencer. And I can't see him being effective as a resting ruckman up forward. If Jamar is out, Spencer plays.