View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Issues off the field killing the game

Posted

Sick to death of watching this game getting hijacked by off field matters were all the pre game & footy shows taking up the majority of air time.... We watch these shows to hear about the opinions from experts on actually on field performances etc..
The media is obsessed with controversial matters to a point were there are press conferences on every issue........I understand these matters are serious etc but they need to stop giving these idiots air time & fuelling it!

The issues only get air time because they know us idiots will pay attention

I don't think the half-wits commentating the game have the capacity to communicate more than the coarsest details of what's become a far more subtle and complex game.

Switching to vaudaville with off field comment, where again any idiot can have a coarse opinion, give them an out.

Would like to see more in depth analysis of footy, tactics, trends, etc... during calls and in general.

If there weren't so many off field issues, they wouldn't hijack the game.

Drugs is an important story, as is racism.

If you're talking about the constant coverage of coach's contract status though, I agree. Do the story then leave it unless something actually happens.

I don't think the half-wits commentating the game have the capacity to communicate more than the coarsest details of what's become a far more subtle and complex game.

Switching to vaudaville with off field comment, where again any idiot can have a coarse opinion, give them an out.

Would like to see more in depth analysis of footy, tactics, trends, etc... during calls and in general.

So true mate

As if i would seek out Mark Robinson's, Matty Thompson or Andy Maher's opinion on anything!!

And these are just 3 morons who push their opinions on radio TV & Internet

We the financial fan should demand better.

Killing the game?? Richmond is 9th and on the verge of sacking another coach. The game is doing fine.

Yet they still talk up Richmond as having a bad game rather than the Dees killing their chances by suffocating their key players at both ends of the ground (Hogan v Rance and TMac v Crywoldt).

This week against the undermanned/ageing Cats providing the perfect stage. Loose this and there's no where to hide.

The Mark Fine/Robert Shaw show on Sunday morning is probably the only one that deals strictly with footy. I think sometimes we are short changed but at least they don't get involved in the sideshow.

On 360 last week, Buckley when pressed gave a more detailed summary of the Pies issues and what he does to identify and remedy them, but also was scornfull of the media, saying along the lines of "you wouldn't understand this"...

exactly right

I reckon you could get more insight from a footy-crazed 12 year old than you get with Brian Taylor.. but I suppose we are supposed to be compensated with his wacky, oafish behaviour.. hilarious, Brian... the media is a complete disgrace these days

The media is saturated with Footy shows. The personalities continue to pump themselves up at the expense of footy time. You just have to listen to some of the introductions and how long they go on. I switched off 3AW on the weekend because it was taking too long to go through all the awards etc that Caro has or how many GFs Dermie has played in etc. Then on SEN last week, it was all about how drunk some of the commentators had been on a recent trip to the U.S and what a great time they had then what they got up to.... I couldn't care less about what they get up to in their private lives, how about some sports comments ?

I don't think there is enough news to go round all the media shows so any little thing is now blown out of proportion.

The show on Saturday mornings, Off the Bench on SEN (which is made by Crocmedia, not SEN) is just drivel.

You can tell Dr Turf is uncomfortable on this show as he has more class than that.

what is killing the game for me at the moment or at least reducing my enjoyment of the game is the new electronic signage around the ground. It relentlessly pours out advertising and slogans for the home team. On Friday night viewing the game from the Northern side at least for the first quarter was almost unbearable to the eye. What is particularly annoying is that it goes on continuously during game time. Not even any relief at half-time with the sound of announcements making discussion almost impossible. Headache materail and just another example how these things distract from the game.

Given the tech is there to multi-channel, Clubs should be able to put forward their own commentated audio option that targets their fans and can be both more in-depth and humourous in a way appeals to the one eyed supporter.

what is killing the game for me at the moment or at least reducing my enjoyment of the game is the new electronic signage around the ground. It relentlessly pours out advertising and slogans for the home team. On Friday night viewing the game from the Northern side at least for the first quarter was almost unbearable to the eye. What is particularly annoying is that it goes on continuously during game time. Not even any relief at half-time with the sound of announcements making discussion almost impossible. Headache materail and just another example how these things distract from the game.

Agreed.

The constant gambling advertising is also completely out of hand. I'm so sick of hearing the odds on every single little thing.

I stopped tipping because it was a relentless feed of odds and line odds, and THEN there's the ads for sportsbetting.

I go to 'dry' statistics site footywire for match coverage and live scores because the AFL website is loaded with nuff-nuffs and pronouncements on high from the likes of hopeless Barrett, the nosy vicar of the AFL. How do they have money for that when they can't even have someone do more than auto-add 'goal to x' on the game's live feed?

It's just like Sun Tzu explains with his parable of the four kingdoms. The land (media space) has been parceled out into too many small fiefs, each petty lord clamoring to be grand, over-taxing the peasants and becoming lazy and indulgent in the absence of greater responsibility.

The fourth kingdom kept its estates large and its lords few, and promptly conquered the other three.

What the AFL community needs is a new media epicenter led by the very select few, those few media people genuinely informed and genuinely interested in the game.

So, that's... Emma Quayle, Titus O'Reily and... I'm running out of names here.

The show on Saturday mornings, Off the Bench on SEN (which is made by Crocmedia, not SEN) is just drivel.

You can tell Dr Turf is uncomfortable on this show as he has more class than that.

...but it's not nor pretending to be a footy show. It is a show of drivel with a little of sport thrown in occasionally.

that must be why i don't bother watching - lol

Its bloody funnier than anything on free to air TV. Hutchy's a [censored], we know that and Pickers isn't much better. 3 blokes sitting around talking a bit of footy, talking a bit of crap. I go straight from there to The Saturday Rub on Tripple M. Feel free to judge because I don't care.

Is there any decent footy TV show? they all seem a waste of time, particularly with so much stuff on the net these days most of which satisfy the needs. I am just not watching anything anymore only vision of the games.

I never said it was pretending to be anything. It's just full of ego and backslapping.

The only thing ruining the game for me is Dwayne Russell.

The rest I can overlook.

Statements of the obvious kill it for me...

Team A is four goals down...

Commentary "Team A really need to kick the next goal!"

OMG really! kills me. :huh:

The only thing ruining the game for me is Dwayne Russell.

The rest I can overlook.

dwayne is an absolute shocker. everything that is bad about the modern medial commentator, loud, opinionated, arrogant, matey with fellow commentators, and lacking any objectivity or considered analysis. Lowers the median IQ of all bogans. should be calling the country races on one of those dedicated racing stations where opinion is not required.