View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Changes for Round 3

I also can't fathom the hate for Cross. Has a reputation for iffy disposal but in reality it has been ok in both games, just being judged harsher because he has had the most disposals of any of our players. His defensive work, leadership and manic attack on the ball make him one of the first picked imo.

I do wonder whether I'm watching the same game as other posters at times...

Of course you do. On Demonland, the less games you have played the more of a superstar you are. If he follows suit, by the time he reaches 50 games he will have been involved in a lot of failures and pathetic losses and be held with the same contempt that most of his 'senior' teammates are.

You're an unusual campaigner.

It's OK for Heeney to be playing (and countless others every year), but somehow Brayshaw at 19 isn't ready.

There are some strange views emanating from the bleaches.

Newton is quite slow.....

Newton is an inside mid with a beautiful left foot being played out of position.

There are some strange views emanating from the bleaches.

Bleachers.

For the idiots who want Cross out of the team, can I remind you that he is our leading possession winner after the first 2 games.

Vs GC. 24d 8m 4t

Vs GWS. 23d 4m 1t

Leg speed is not everything.

Cross isn't creative, not overly damaging with possessions and it's not as if his numbers are huge.

Bontempelli 20 tackles in 2 games ~ Cross 5.

Footscray haven't regretted moving him on 18 months ago. I like Cross, but he's far from a staple and to suggest supporters are "idiots" for suggesting he makes way for speed (JKH) merely shows footy ineptitude.

I'll be blunt: I really enjoyed watching our forward line in Round 1. The inclusion of Dawes ruined this. I don't know if he's capable of being much better but I don't know what he was doing out there on Saturday, especially after the standard the 22 set in Round 1. (This also applies to Vince)

Not to mention Dawes' inclusion seemed to misplace Watts who had a great game inside 50 a week earlier. I see us having better mobility and speed by building our forward line around Hogan, Watts and Garlett.

I'll be blunt: I really enjoyed watching our forward line in Round 1. The inclusion of Dawes ruined this. I don't know if he's capable of being much better but I don't know what he was doing out there on Saturday, especially after the standard the 22 set in Round 1. (This also applies to Vince)

Not to mention Dawes' inclusion seemed to misplace Watts who had a great game inside 50 a week earlier. I see us having better mobility and speed by building our forward line around Hogan, Watts and Garlett.

Agreed. Dawes isnt in oiur best 22

Hopefully Roos corrects things this week

You are a dead set mate..

Thought you would have learnt from round 1 when Brayshaw was very impressive first up.

Time and time again you are made to look like a silly old fool with such absurd comments.

When do you think he will tell us to drop Hogan?

Agreed. Dawes isnt in oiur best 22

Hopefully Roos corrects things this week

Dawes is the new Miller. Undropable it doesn't matter if he plays 15 bad games in a row (he must be close to it by now) we will persist with him until we are the laughing stock of the competition and then we wonder why we never improve.

We pretty much relied on him the last year or two just to fill the spot in the forward line. Now with Hogan looking good, Saturday's performance proved we just don't need him anymore. He's only 26 but plays like he's 32. He's just too slow and ineffective. Should be dropped, although the corresponding game last year V Adelaide was his best (20 possessions, 3 goals and 2 brownlow votes)

Yeah you guys are correct. Dawes is the reason we got smashed in the midfield on Saturday. (Sarcasm)

Do we need a scapegoat each week? He wasn't great but only 3 players can really hold their heads up after that loss. Give him the chance that others are getting

Miller went on to be quite an asset for the Tiges if I remember correctly

Roos has flagged there won't be major changes for this week. He rattled of a few names of people getting a kick in the VFL but stated when looking at those players you ask the question where can they play? And how can they help us? Those questions would of been asked prior to round 1 hence certain players not making the team for reasons other than suspension or injury. Some of the people that find themselves in the VFL have had years to prove themselves, if they were playing would we even have a lead to begin with.

In respect to this weeks game and Adelaide's form and massive crowd advantage, what we do at selection is just shifting deckchairs. I fear a mighty thumping on its way, and a further slide back into the abyss. The last half on Saturday was the worst football played by any club this year, and indicative of our fragility. The Adelaide game looks very scary! Then again, Footy's a funny old game, particularly this year.

Did it look scary after round 1?

I retract my earlier decision to leave out Cross, however I do think we need to drop out one of the tall backs so Frost can play on Jenkins all game and just go in the ruck when he does. That way we can still have the extra mid playing. Possibly VB or Newton out for Michie though I'd imagine Roos may stick with a pretty similar team.

I'd like to see one or two from JKH, Toump and Michie come in. One of the talls to be omitted, Dawes, Frost or Garland, though I like Frost's speed. We need speed (not the banned type). Adelaide will run rings around us if we go with the same talls, particularly tall forwards.

I would like to see Toumpas given a big assignment in front of his home crowd. Challenge him to absolutely bust his gut for the club and play with flair. Maybe some reverse phycology like. Jimmy the club needs you and your skill, lets show them what you got mate. Imagine the boost to his confidence if he could get a few clearances around the ground

Did it look scary after round 1?

That's the thing about round 1, it's a very unreliable indicator to the way things settle. We now know Gold Coast are substantially less than the team we thought they were, and the Kangaroos are not the whipping boy they appeared after round 1. All up, our effort in round 1 looks far less impressive than it seemed then, and Adelaide's even better.

I reckon last week is just as unreliable an indicator to the way things settle. We were absolutely putrid in the second half last week, and I'll be staggered if we are even close to that bad again this week. You'll never see Nathan Jones have another 11 possession game again, for starters.

Just think we need to be careful of the "last week is the only thing we remember" syndrome.

I reckon last week is just as unreliable an indicator to the way things settle. We were absolutely putrid in the second half last week, and I'll be staggered if we are even close to that bad again this week. You'll never see Nathan Jones have another 11 possession game again, for starters.

Just think we need to be careful of the "last week is the only thing we remember" syndrome.

Agreed, and the first 2 rounds of the AFL this year are a very odd series of contradictory results. However, our worst is THE worst in the league, and indicates a weakness which is as comprehensive as you'll see. The best teams are the most skilled at exposing it. I've seen our improvement, and it's game winning at its best. Our worst is like an avalanche of ineptitude, and still more likely. That's the fear.

The only problem 'Nasher' is that last weeks game mirrored some of our NAB form.

In a sample of 5 games we had 3 good q's against Freo, 2 against the Dogs, I against Ess, an even performance but with some down periods (pretty normal in footy) against GCS and a q and 1/2 against GWS.

If we are not switched on for the whole game we are not good enough to win. We can't afford to coast at any time.