Coup Cooper 610 Posted February 16, 2015 Posted February 16, 2015 crikey, late run at it. Robbie Grey didn't start playing footy until he was 16.. Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted February 16, 2015 Posted February 16, 2015 Kieran Jack would be another example. Quote
Watts the matter 1,235 Posted February 16, 2015 Posted February 16, 2015 Robbie Grey didn't start playing footy until he was 16.. Not true at all....... 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted February 16, 2015 Posted February 16, 2015 It would be strange watching Lyon, Stretch, Lovett and Viney line up together - back to the future 2 Quote
jnrmac 20,375 Posted February 16, 2015 Posted February 16, 2015 crikey, late run at it. Hardly. Stef Martin, Nik Nat and plenty others didn't start until a late age - 17or 18 I believe.... Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted February 16, 2015 Posted February 16, 2015 I hope he makes it. Just so we can have two Christians and a Lyon in the one team. And while we're talking about players not picking up the game until they're 16 or so, don't forget Jim Stynes, Mike Pyke and all the other successful imports. At least Josh Lyon has grown up around football and will understand the game unlike those who grow up overseas. 6 Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 Well i believe he is going to try train for the Xavier College 1sts, if not Oekleigh Chargers. He is a natural athlete, with amazing power and strength and can run like the wind. All i can say i think he will be a very promising player and I will make sure to go watch him play every week and keep you updated. Yes, please keep us informed demonking. Great work. 1 Quote
Jumping Jack Clennett 1,825 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 I saw Lyon at the movies a couple of weeks ago. He was with his sons. They looked pretty porky...not like sportsmen at all. They're by Lyon from Brett Lovett's sister, correct? Perhaps they've inherited Brett's body shape. I hope they can play like him or the Loin chop! Quote
nutbean 8,838 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 It would be strange watching Lyon, Stretch, Lovett and Viney line up together - back to the future Makes me feel way too old. I have a picture taken at Echuca of Todd Viney with my two girls when they were 12 and 10 taken many moons ago. As i took the photo I had a very young Jack Viney standing next to me. Even at the tender age of 7 he looked like he could steam roll me. 4 Quote
Good Times Grimes 2,396 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 Hardly. Stef Martin, Nik Nat and plenty others didn't start until a late age - 17or 18 I believe.... I hope he makes it. Just so we can have two Christians and a Lyon in the one team. And while we're talking about players not picking up the game until they're 16 or so, don't forget Jim Stynes, Mike Pyke and all the other successful imports. At least Josh Lyon has grown up around football and will understand the game unlike those who grow up overseas. These players are all ruckmen, the position that I believe would be easiest to pick up as skills are not as important as sheer size, athletic ability and strength. There's a reason that clubs are scouting in the USA for former basketball giants like Mason Cox, and it's because the easiest position for a player new to the game to learn is the ruck. I'm not saying that Lyon's son will be no good if he's not a ruckman, I just hope that he already has the basic skills required for footy, because after a certain age they become VERY hard to learn. Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 These players are all ruckmen, the position that I believe would be easiest to pick up as skills are not as important as sheer size, athletic ability and strength. There's a reason that clubs are scouting in the USA for former basketball giants like Mason Cox, and it's because the easiest position for a player new to the game to learn is the ruck. I'm not saying that Lyon's son will be no good if he's not a ruckman, I just hope that he already has the basic skills required for footy, because after a certain age they become VERY hard to learn. Maybe...but I could also have named Tadgh Kenneally, Pierce Hanley, Zac Tuohy, Sean Wight and others. (Hopefully I haven't butchered the spelling of all those names too much. Apologies to the aforementioned if I have.) 2 Quote
Good Times Grimes 2,396 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 Maybe...but I could also have named Tadgh Kenneally, Pierce Hanley, Zac Tuohy, Sean Wight and others. (Hopefully I haven't butchered the spelling of all those names too much. Apologies to the aforementioned if I have.) The difference with them is that they're all Irish and have come from Gaelic footballing backgrounds. I have played footy in several countries around the world, and can tell you for a fact that it is VERY rare to see an international player that is not Irish pick up the basic skills of the game and look like a natural. I've also seen many Australians pick up the game for the first time since childhood, and it doesn't take too long for their skills to return. I'd compare it to learning a language; relatively easy if you're young, and increasingly difficult as you get older. Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 The difference with them is that they're all Irish and have come from Gaelic footballing backgrounds. I have played footy in several countries around the world, and can tell you for a fact that it is VERY rare to see an international player that is not Irish pick up the basic skills of the game and look like a natural. I've also seen many Australians pick up the game for the first time since childhood, and it doesn't take too long for their skills to return. I'd compare it to learning a language; relatively easy if you're young, and increasingly difficult as you get older. Or in my case, impossible 1 Quote
Good Times Grimes 2,396 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 Or in my case, impossible Let's just hope that Lyon's son learnt the skills when he was young and is able to pick them up again quickly! Quote
jnrmac 20,375 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 I saw Lyon at the movies a couple of weeks ago. He was with his sons. They looked pretty porky...not like sportsmen at all. They're by Lyon from Brett Lovett's sister, correct? Perhaps they've inherited Brett's body shape. I hope they can play like him or the Loin chop! They are not racehorses or greyhounds you know.... 2 Quote
Wrecker45 3,381 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 They are not racehorses or greyhounds you know.... That's a shame because I had some nice mares waiting for Odwyer and Tingay Quote
Demonstone 23,573 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 G. Lyon and B.Lovett married sisters. Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 G. Lyon and B.Lovett married sisters. that is an old tasmanian custom and gary was born in tassie 8 Quote
Demonstone 23,573 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 Errr ... not their own sisters DC! Although it does remind me of the old joke about what basic expectations Tassie parents have for their kids. Things like food, clothing and a roof over their mouth. 9 Quote
demonking 8 Posted February 17, 2015 Author Posted February 17, 2015 I saw Lyon at the movies a couple of weeks ago. He was with his sons. They looked pretty porky...not like sportsmen at all. They're by Lyon from Brett Lovett's sister, correct? Perhaps they've inherited Brett's body shape. I hope they can play like him or the Loin chop! He looks porky, but that is just because he has a massive rugby chest, no worries about his shape Quote
Demon Jack 7,194 Posted February 17, 2015 Posted February 17, 2015 crikey, late run at it. Karmichael Hunt started at 24.....oh wait..... 1 Quote
thailand-demon 26 Posted February 18, 2015 Posted February 18, 2015 The difference with them is that they're all Irish and have come from Gaelic footballing backgrounds. I have played footy in several countries around the world, and can tell you for a fact that it is VERY rare to see an international player that is not Irish pick up the basic skills of the game and look like a natural. I've also seen many Australians pick up the game for the first time since childhood, and it doesn't take too long for their skills to return. I'd compare it to learning a language; relatively easy if you're young, and increasingly difficult as you get older. Brad Green turned out okay! 1 Quote
jabberwocky 2,301 Posted February 18, 2015 Posted February 18, 2015 (edited) Brad Green turned out okay! Yeah after we prised him out of the hands of Man U. Edited February 18, 2015 by jabberwocky Quote
Supreme_Demon 4,140 Posted February 18, 2015 Posted February 18, 2015 Didn’t Garry Lyon have about 3 or 4 sons? Good news if at least one of them ends up playing for the Demons. Quote