View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

DRAFT DAY - 2014

Excited at the prospect of seeing all our draftees becoming good players ... they're all coming into a good environment and they'll have every chance to prove themselves.

On the surface of it, we've had another good off season ...

Lumumba

Frost

Newton

Garlett

Stretch

Petracca

Brayshaw

Oscar McDonald

Neal-Bullen

Any of the above 9 players can be terrific acquisitions. Jetta's promotion makes it 10 changes to the primary list.

Last year we brought in ...

Salem

Tyson

Michie

Riley

Hogan

Cross

Vince

Hunt

JKH

King (rookie)

Harmes (rookie)

Georgiou (rookie)

The overall list has a much more solid look about it. Our depth is much better which will help with the last 6 players chosen in each selected team. We just need a few stars to emerge and some others to step up to very good and we're well on our way ...

So Melbourne takes five picks to the draft. We use 2 and 3 on the players most regarded as the best in the draft, with the exception of the unavailable Heeney. With our next three picks we take players who by consensus in mock drafts were rated at least 15 spots higher than where Melbourne took them. I doubt that has happened in Melbourne's draft history. The Dees also had sentimental wins with a father-son and the brother of a current player. Even if as a Melbourne supporter you're tempering your enthusiasm and not breaking out the bubbly, you can at least crack open the Maison tonight. It looks on paper to be Melbourne's sharpest, most sensible draft on record.

Excited at the prospect of seeing all our draftees becoming good players ... they're all coming into a good environment and they'll have every chance to prove themselves.

On the surface of it, we've had another good off season ...

Lumumba

Frost

Newton

Garlett

Stretch

Petracca

Brayshaw

Oscar McDonald

Neal-Bullen

Any of the above 9 players can be terrific acquisitions. Jetta's promotion makes it 10 changes to the primary list.

Last year we brought in ...

Salem

Tyson

Michie

Riley

Hogan

Cross

Vince

Hunt

JKH

King (rookie)

Harmes (rookie)

Georgiou (rookie)

The overall list has a much more solid look about it. Our depth is much better which will help with the last 6 players chosen in each selected team. We just need a few stars to emerge and some others to step up to very good and we're well on our way ...

If you don't want to argue semantics I would suggest we have a new draftee in hogan with 2 years in the club environment.

Incredible result.

FB: Jetta, Dunn, Howe

Hb: Lumumba, Garland, Grimes

C: Watts, Tyson, Vince

Hf: Salem, Dawes, Toumpas

Ff: Gawn, Hogan, JKH

Fol: Jamar, Jones, Viney

Int: Petrecca, Brayshaw, Neal-Bullen, Cross

Emg: Pederson, Kent, McDonald, Garlett

Developing: Frost, o.McDonald, Stretch, Spencer, Fitzpatrick, Hunt

Happy happy days Demonlanders. No more holes in our list. A perfect balance of skill, hardness, flare, aggression, talls and smalls.

2015, it is on!

FB: Jetta, TMcD, Dunn

Hb: Lumumba, Garland, Grimes

C: Brayshaw, Tyson, Vince

Hf: Petracca, Dawes, Howe

Ff: Pedersen Hogan, Garlett

Fol: Jamar, Jones, Viney

Int: Salem, Watts, Kent, Cross

Emg: Gawn, JKH,Neal-Bullen

I just have that feeling with Brayshaw and Petracca, they have the bodies to step straight into the fray.

It already looks like they have done a pre season.

It would be great one upmanship to have Petracca in for the game against the saints, to let them know what they missed out on.

Great draft would have liked Reece McKensie to fall to rookie pick 2 for it to be a perfect draft

If you don't want to argue semantics I would suggest we have a new draftee in hogan with 2 years in the club environment.

I had the same thoughts ... same deal for Toumpas in my eyes.

Those 2 in particular just need a clear run at it.

Edit: ... haven't given up on Trengove either ... really hope he makes it back.

A footy journalist (Sam Landenberg) just said this about us. A journalist has never said this about us! It begins...

MELBOURNE
Melbournes midfield is starting to look seriously, seriously good. Petraccas explosive breakaway power and high-marking perfectly complements Brayshaws ferocious clearance and tackling game. Inside midfielder Alex Neal-Bullen looks a bargain at 41.

Edited by The Song Formerly Known As

I know it's early on but when do the new draftees start training with the rest of the team?

From Paige Cardona

The winners in this draft......

1 .MELBOURNE

2 Daylight.....

Hedging our bets a bit with Oscar McDonald and Frost, by the looks. I expect them to be competing for the same spot in the next couple of years.

Frost is ready to go, Oscar is an embryo.

A footy journalist (Sam Landenberg) just said this about us. A journalist has never said this about us! It begins...

MELBOURNE

Melbournes midfield is starting to look seriously, seriously good. Petraccas explosive breakaway power and high-marking perfectly complements Brayshaws ferocious clearance and tackling game. Inside midfielder Alex Neal-Bullen looks a bargain at 41.TT

Translation: Melbourne midfield is starting to look seriously good. Petraccas explosive breakaway and high-marking perfectly compliments Brayshaws ferocious clearance and tackling game. Inside midfielder Alex Neal-Bullen looks a bargain at 41.

Edited by Moneider96

From Paige Cardona

The winners in this draft......

1 .MELBOURNE

2 Daylight.....

Definitely an Oscar winning performance by our recruiting staff - at least on paper.

The guy almost everyone regarded as the No.1 pick - Petracca

The guy we wanted most of all because he complements the club style and a great mate of Petracca's - Brayshaw

The guy our recruiting staff saw heaps of because they were always checking up on Billy and a great mate of Billy's - Neal-Bullen

The guy almost all supporters wanted and who fits the whole family club theme and is also a big - Oscar Mc.

But whilst I'm elated, let's just wait and see whether they look the part when it comes to the real thing.

One final comment - the big losers from tonight were JKH and Kent - they now have to beat Garlett and Petracca for small forward spots.

Translation: Melbourne midfield is starting to look seriously good. Petraccas explosive breakaway and high-marking perfectly compliments Brayshaws ferocious clearance and tackling game. Inside midfielder Alex Neal-Bullen looks a bargain at 41.

tumblr_mgvfbwPCxW1rgrk0bo1_400.gif

Definitely an Oscar winning performance by our recruiting staff - at least on paper.

The guy almost everyone regarded as the No.1 pick - Petracca

The guy we wanted most of all because he complements the club style and a great mate of Petracca's - Brayshaw

The guy our recruiting staff saw heaps of because they were always checking up on Billy and a great mate of Billy's - Neal-Bullen

The guy almost all supporters wanted and who fits the whole family club theme and is also a big - Oscar Mc.

But whilst I'm elated, let's just wait and see whether they look the part when it comes to the real thing.

One final comment - the big losers from tonight were JKH and Kent - they now have to beat Garlett and Petracca for small forward spots.

NO, DON'T STOP, KEEP GOING, TELL ME MORE, MORE, KEEP GOING, MORE, DON'T STOP, THAT'S IT

lloyd-pleasure-pee-o.gif

Edited by The Song Formerly Known As

We've just added 5 babies to our list; I'd be putting the declarations of a complete list away for a while. If any more than two of them are in or near the side in round 1 I'll be surprised. One or zero more likely I'd think.

I'd say both CP and AB are big chances.. mainly because they have the size. They'll only need to prove themselves in the pre-season to be more valuable than M.Jones, Michie, Riley et al.

Melbourne's sharpest, most sensible draft on record.

Seriously helped by some very good luck, something that has eluded this club too much in recent years

It's a bit early picking a team but here goes:

B: Jetta, Frost, Dunn
HB: Lumumba, McDonald, Garland
C: Vince, Viney, Watts
HF: Petracca, Dawes, Howe
F: Garlett, Hogan, Kent
Fol: Jamar, N. Jones, Tyson
I/C: Cross, Brayshaw, Salem, Toumpas
Em: Michie, Gawn, Pederson

Great for the MFC - not to shabby for Casey either ... someone should put up a Round 1 Casey team.

How long before the first intra-club?

Edited by bing181

I still cant believe that the saints coach said petracca was the best player in the draft - then they picked paddy. Position over best player recruiting.

I hope the saints players will give paddy some time