The Song Formerly Known As 6,479 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Just announced the Mitch Clark has announced his retirement. Please leave your commiseration's and support below people, he was a beauty.
praha 11,267 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 What does this mean about his contract? I understand it is a sensitive issue but with a year remaining and on big coin, how does that work? Is there insurance policy? Does the pay-out come under the salary cap?
Pennant St Dee 13,461 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Sad end Mitch loved your intensity when you were playing in the red and blue and would loved for it to have ended differently. I hope the rest of your life works out for the better
Dr. Gonzo 24,468 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Not unexpected but wow that sucks. How many kicks in the nads can this club take? So long Mitch and all the best, your time at MFC was brief but you gave your all for the jumper and club when you were here and your talent will be sorely missed.
Arrow 1,257 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 What does this mean about his contract? I understand it is a sensitive issue but with a year remaining and on big coin, how does that work? Is there insurance policy? Does the pay-out come under the salary cap? The meeting was in regards to that. He will accept a far smaller payment as a payout, however I'm led to believe the money will still count to the salary cap. That said given the issues resulting in the retirement, you'd hope they'd make an exception.
Gipsy Danger 1,067 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Just thought I would log on to see if Demonland had gone into meltdown and or exploded
praha 11,267 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 The meeting was in regards to that. He will accept a far smaller payment as a payout, however I'm led to believe the money will still count to the salary cap. That said given the issues resulting in the retirement, you'd hope they'd make an exception. Towards the cap for 2014, correct? Because I imagine he won't be listed next year?
The Song Formerly Known As 6,479 Posted April 8, 2014 Author Posted April 8, 2014 So long Mitch Clark. You came to us under a siege of doubt, disbelief and mockery from other AFL club supporters and some MFC fans. But within a few games you completely blew them all out of the water and showed more heart, spirit and guts than i had seen at the MFC for a very long time (bar N. Jones). All the best with your recovery, and it goes to show how minuscule a thing football is, in context to life and it's challenges. Look forward to following your photography career, ya' got talent son.
hardtack 11,107 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Let's keep the talk of money, contracts etc in the other thread.... this should be, as stated by the OP, an appreciation thread... so thanks Mitch, you were a flash of inspiration and I think that despite the fact you weren't on the field much, your influence extended way beyond that. Here's hoping that you can get to a better place mentally soon and that your photography flourishes and you make something of yourself in that field.
Demon Jack 7,196 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Always gave his all when he played. Shame he only played a limited number of games for us. Sad day for the club, but a good day to remember the hope, football ability and leadership he provided during his time with us.
The Song Formerly Known As 6,479 Posted April 8, 2014 Author Posted April 8, 2014 Let's keep the talk of money, contracts etc in the other thread.... this should be, as stated by the OP, an appreciation thread... so thanks Mitch, you were a flash of inspiration and I think that despite the fact you weren't on the field much, your influence extended way beyond that. Here's hoping that you can get to a better place mentally soon and that your photography flourishes and you make something of yourself in that field. other thread has been locked i believe.
jazza 1,323 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 good mate of mine{working at collingwood and friend of MN}came along to a dees game with me and remarked at quarter time,wow this bloke is a beauty,cant believe every other club missed out on him.thought he would carry us into the future and should have been captain asap. not a sad day for mitch,but the start of his life. hope he grows old and has a ripper life. thanks mate.
hardtack 11,107 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 other thread has been locked i believe. Oh, ok... but my comment still stands... this should be an appreciation thread.
Daz's Dee's 113 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Sad and I wish him well but from an mfc point of view it's shattering and I believe the afl should grant us the ability to draft a replacement immediately I'm sure other clubs would agree we are non compedative and lost our best player we are truly at rock bottom
Daz's Dee's 113 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Sad and I wish him well but from an mfc point of view it's shattering and I believe the afl should grant us the ability to draft a replacement immediately I'm sure other clubs would agree we are non competitive and lost our best player we are truly at rock bottom
DeeZee 7,496 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Another year from Hell.......well we are the Demons.
Ted Lasso 19,586 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 I hope in a year or two he feels abit better and may decide to give it another crack, he is a real talent
Mr Steve 3,820 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Good luck Mitch, sad to see you go but your health comes first.
bandicoot 1,395 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 I presume we have negotiated it in a way whereby any cost inst counted towards our salary cap. We are currently only paying 95% of the cap which leaves us with a spare $450,000. Mitch would be on app $650,000. If the club had the spare money then it would give us $1million to poach a top recruit. I think its time to start raiding GWS and GC.
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Bugger. Big loss. I wish him well in the future, health is far more important than footy.
Little Richard 6,265 Posted April 8, 2014 Posted April 8, 2014 Best of luck to Mitch with his recovery - it's an absolute [censored] of a condition. Anyway, could we wrangle some kind of compensation from the AFL for this in the way of a pick, simply because we're the MFC?