R23 - 2014

Posted

Demons take on Nth on Saturday Night at Etihad.

• Author

wouldn't you love to finish the year beating Nth and seriously disrupting September for them!

Probably helpful we're playing a finalist. Otherwise we'd have been slotted at 4.40 pm on the Sunday.

You are probably correct.

9 Sunday fixtures in the one season is more than enough though.

I reckon they should play all matches in the last round simultaneously on Saturday afternoon at 2pm which would be a blast from the past with the 'around the grounds' scores from radio coverage, particularly if finals positions were riding on the results. Remember the excitement of R22 in 1987?

It's possible too, with matches at MCG, Docklands, Geelong, Subiaco, Adelaide Oval, Gabba, SCG, Tassie and Canberra.

Of course, the TV broadcasters wouldn't want that and the tail does wag the dog unfortunately.

I hate Etihad.

Why? I love paying $9237820983740732 for a small coke. Makes me feel like such a big man when I can afford such luxuries.

I reckon they should play all matches in the last round simultaneously on Saturday afternoon at 2pm which would be a blast from the past with the 'around the grounds' scores from radio coverage, particularly if finals positions were riding on the results. Remember the excitement of R22 in 1987?

It's possible too, with matches at MCG, Docklands, Geelong, Subiaco, Adelaide Oval, Gabba, SCG, Tassie and Canberra.

Of course, the TV broadcasters wouldn't want that and the tail does wag the dog unfortunately.

The broadcasters can always agree to show 2 games live, & some after on replay over the course of the weekend.

Perhaps the games between any teams outside the finals Race, could all play 2.00pm Saturday afternoon in they're respective time Zones. This would allow 3 Hrs to prep' the ground again, for any Live games on that evening.

I hate Etihad.

Its my favourite ground.

Although young ones havent suckered me into buying food there as yet.{we go out pre or post for food}

best viewing.

best escape to west gate.

Next year we will be playing R23 there for a place in the finals,so get used to it.

Being close to home is the only thing I like.

I don't mind the view, but it's soulless.

Youve never played at Gellibrand then.

Close to my home and its about as entertaining as a witches hoven.

Why? I love paying $9237820983740732 for a small coke. Makes me feel like such a big man when I can afford such luxuries.

You might have been ripped off. Are you sure that wasn't the price for a large coke?

Dees win.

Hogan kicks 3.

Frawley's last game.

Go into season 2015 in good spirits and perhaps [censored] WIN OUR FIRST ROUND GAME FOR A [censored] CHANGE!

Just taking it one week at a time, I see.

Dees win.

Hogan kicks 3.

Frawley's last game.

Go into season 2015 in good spirits and perhaps [censored] WIN OUR FIRST ROUND GAME FOR A [censored] CHANGE!

The pessamist in me says

Dess get the usual North hiding

Hogan breaks down at Casey the week before

Frawley re signs and Does his knee in the first quarter

We all go home with our tail between our legs

Just a wee joke Song!

cant think of a better way than to end 2014 beating those overrated flogs at Etihad

cant believe we haven't beaten them for 8 years and they've never been any good in that time

cant think of a better way than to end 2014 beating those overrated flogs at Etihad

cant believe we haven't beaten them for 8 years and they've never been any good in that time

Just shows how bad we have been for eight years hh

Yep, was just thinking this today.

We're a 10 goal better side than last year but it's still not enough to get over the line.

Coming from a loooooong way back.

The round 23 timeslots don't get released until now, so this is news as we knew we would play North, but didn't know the time or day until now. Is that what you mean?

Yes thanks. Couldn't understand the fuss as I hadn't looked closely enough at the fixture to realise there was no timeslot. Thanks D3!

That'd be pretty grand, but won't ever happen.

At least they put Carlton v Essendon in the day time instead of the night. Gives the fans one more Saturday afternoon MCG game (hopefully next year the 2.10 game becomes Seven's and they begin to put more good games there).

Am I missing something here?

Can a duck swim? :blink::blink::blink::blink: (I should stop myself, I know ...)